ALLSTAR: Eldora race report 2001-09-29

ROSSBURG, OH - For Greg Wilson, it was deja vu all over again Saturday night at Eldora Speedway in the All Star sprint 30-lap feature. Wilson repeated his Eldora win of June 30 here in Bob Hampshire's Maxim aboard American Racing Tires. He motored...

ROSSBURG, OH - For Greg Wilson, it was deja vu all over again Saturday night at Eldora Speedway in the All Star sprint 30-lap feature. Wilson repeated his Eldora win of June 30 here in Bob Hampshire's Maxim aboard American Racing Tires. He motored away from Kenny Jacobs and Rodney Duncan to earn $5,000 for his fifth series win of the year. In the companion Haulmark Shootout, Kenny Jacobs led all 10 laps to earn $3,000. "That was a heck of a run," Wilson exclaimed from victory lane. "Our American Race Tires were awesome. Hampshire had this thing perfect. We got to traffic and we could go where they wouldn't and ^Åat Eldora, this is unbelievable. Victory lane at Eldora Speedway is the best place in the whole world for me!"

Kevin Huntley started on the ButlerBuilt Hot Seat pole with Rob Chaney alongside and Rodney Duncan and Chad Kemenah in row two. Chaney had to pit before the race was started, and thus started the main from the tail. Huntley grabbed the lead in Stan Courtad's No. 9H, with sixth starting Kenny Jacobs grabbing second and Kemenah third. Jacobs kept challenging Huntley, with Huntley running up top along Eldora's wall with Jacobs running alongside the leader each lap in the middle groove. A Jimmy Hawley blown tire on lap five slowed action momentarily, with Huntley maintaining command when the green reappeared. Duncan took third from Kemenah following the restart and eight starter Wilson was now on the move. On lap seven Wilson took over third behind Huntley and Jacobs with a high groove move going down the backstretch. Jacobs, meanwhile, was still applying pressure to Huntley's mount, and finally grabbed the lead with a turn three slide job, diving low under Huntley and sliding up in front of him coming off turn four to lead lap 11. Wilson followed Jacobs by Huntley to secure second moments later.

As Jacobs worked heavy lapped traffic, Wilson reeled in the leader. On lap 16 Wilson made his move, darting high up against the wall going down the backstretch to move high around Jacobs and into the lead on lap 17. As the lead duo worked lapped traffic, Kemenah collided with the lapped machine of Brandon Ferguson on lap 19, causing him to spin and collect Blake Feese and Dean Jacobs. This brought out a red to clean up the mess, with only Feese able to restart.

Wilson motored away from the pack when the green flew once again, and finished a half a lap ahead of Jacobs. Duncan rode home third over Jac Haudenschild, who started 14th in the Denny Ashworth No. 92. Jim Nier held on for fifth with Huntley fading to sixth.

Danny Smith finished seventh, winning the Team Simpson Racing Lucky Seven award and the $100 TW Metals nightly cash bonus, ahead of Ed Lynch, Jr., Butch Schroeder and Jimmy Stinson.

Duncan was elated with his third place finish, his first podium finish in quite a while. "Better late than never," Duncan said with a smile. "Greg just smoked us, he was locked down. We were okay, we just started struggling at the end. I'm happy, believe me."

With his runner-up finish and Kemenah's crash, Jacobs takes over the All Star points lead going into November's East Bay final three races, by 16 points.

Nick Naber flipped during warm-ups while lining up for the A Main. He was not injured, but could not start the main, allowing Barry Ruble, the alternate, to start the main.

Members of the Bill Knisley family were on hand and presented the winner's trophy to Wilson, in memory of Bill Knisley, who passed away in the All Star season final at Eldora two years ago.

The K-T Equipment heat went to Nick Naber, the JB Enterprise Racing Products heat to Blake Feese, the Crown Battery heat to Jim Nier and the Engler Machine & Tool heat fell to Phil Gressman while Ed Lynch, Jr. won the B Main.

The Haulmark Shootout was a special 10-lap race paying a $10,000 purse and is lined up according to points earned by competing in the Haulmark Dash each night throughout the season. All Star points leader Chad Kemenah in the Harble Motorsports Eagle No. 15k was on the pole with Kenny Jacobs alongside in the Jacobs/Honecker Maxim No. 6. Dean Jacobs in the Rick Daugherty Eagle No. 7 and Rob Chaney in Jack Elden's No. 22e comprised row two. Row three was made up of Greg Wilson in Bob Hampshire's Maxim No. 63 and Travis Rilat in the Archer Motorsports No. U2. Danny Smith in John Baker's Maxim No. 4 and Ed Lynch Jr. in the Lynch Racing J&J No. 2L made up row four and the Denny Ashworth No. 92 of Jac Haudenschild and Rodney Duncan in the Harrison Trucking No. 22 were in the final row for the five mile high speed contest.

Jacobs took the lead at the drop of the green, with Wilson snaring second and D. Jacobs third. Chaney took over third on lap two as the leaders pulled away from him. It quickly became a two car race, with D. Jacobs challenging Chaney for third behind the top two. As the laps would down, Wilson inched ever closer to Jacobs, and on the final go round, he dove low in turn three for a final try for the lead, but Jacobs motored away to a four car length win, worth$3,000. After the top two it was Chaney, D. Jacobs, Smith, Kemenah, Haudenschild, Rilat, Duncan and Lynch.

-all star-

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint
Drivers Blake Feese , Kenny Jacobs , Dean Jacobs , Travis Rilat , Greg Wil , John Baker , Jac Haudenschild , Chad Kemenah