ALLSTAR: Eldora Ohio Speedweek Eldora results

All Star Sprint Ohio Speedweek Results - Eldora Speedway By Scott Hall ROSSBURG, OH - July 1, 2000 - Kenny Jacobs passed race-long leader Ed Lynch Jr. with two laps remaining Saturday night at Eldora Speedway in the All Star sprint Ohio ...

All Star Sprint Ohio Speedweek Results - Eldora Speedway
By Scott Hall

ROSSBURG, OH - July 1, 2000 - Kenny Jacobs passed race-long leader Ed Lynch Jr. with two laps remaining Saturday night at Eldora Speedway in the All Star sprint Ohio Speedweek 30-lap finale. For his 20th career Eldora All Star win, Jacobs earned $10,000 and was also crowned the Ohio Speedweek champion and became the seventh different winner in seven Speedweek races. "The competition was unbelievable all week, the crowds were excellent and the racing was great," was how Jacobs summed up the 2000 edition of Speedweek. "I'd like to thank TW Metals for helping the All Stars this year and Bert Emick runs a good show and Earl Baltes gives us a heck of a track to race on. The Hoosier's were faster on the restarts, but these Goodyear Tires locked down to the track in a couple of laps and they were really fast. I just thought the checker was going to come before I could get to Ed there." Jacobs wheeled the familiar No. 6 Jacobs/Honecker Motorsports Kriner-Chevrolet powered Eagle chassis wrenched by Barry Jackson and Aaron Hammer. Lynch, Jr. started on the ButlerBuilt Hot Seat pole with Rob Chaney next and Todd Gracey and Chad Kemenah comprised row two. Jacobs and Greg Wilson made up the third row. Lynch grabbed the lead at the drop of the green over Gracey, Chaney and Wilson. By lap eight, Jacobs had passed Chad Kemenah for fifth and passed Wilson for the fourth spot when a lap 10 yellow appeared for a Kerry Jones spin. Lynch, in his family's Kistler-powered J&J, got a big lead over Chaney on the restart, while Jacobs disposed of Gracey for third. Lap 13 saw Jacobs and runner-up Chaney side-by-side, with Jacobs taking second on lap 14 when another caution appeared for a Keith Crabtree spin. Lynch got another good restart and pulled away from Jacobs as Jim Nier moved up to fourth behind Chaney. Jacobs began to reel in Lynch. Jacobs would use the middle groove each lap through turns three and four to pull alongside Lynch, who was running the high groove. But each time Lynch had the momentum to maintain the lead. Jacobs' moves were also thwarted by lapped traffic, which allowed Lynch to remain on top. Lap 25 saw the final caution of the night, when third place Chaney tagged the backstretch concrete, ending his race. Now it was a five lap dash to the end. A game of cat and mouse, with Lynch the cat and Jacobs the mouse. Lynch got a good restart when the green reappeared, but Jacobs went high to regain his momentum and reel in the leader. Lap 28 saw Jacobs try a turn three slide job to pull to within a car length of Lynch. He repeated the same move to take the lead on the white flag lap exiting turn four and won over Lynch by two car lengths. "The car was real nice," Lynch recalled. "Kenny just knows the track better and he knew where to pass me. He could see me coming back to him." "The water on the track tightened up too much early on," Huntley said of this third place run in Denny Ashworth's Kriner powered machine as he came from eighth starting spot. "It took me too long to get going. We're happy. We turned this week around, it started real bad and ended up pretty good." Kasey Kahne started 10th and ended up fourth with Jim Nier fifth and Phil Gressman sixth. Greg Wilson finished seventh, winning the Team Simpson Racing Lucky Seven award, ahead of Danny Smith. Todd Gracey in ninth captured the $100 TW Metals nightly cash bonus, ahead of Chad Kemenah. The heats went to Kasey Kahne, Jacobs and Phil Gressman. Kevin Huntley captured the Commercial Truck & Trailer Dash. In a special appreciation dash for drivers who supported every show this week, the $300 top share of the $1,000 purse went to Jason Statler. In the NRA 360 feature, Greg Wilson won the 20 lap main over Kevin Huntley and Kyle Sauder.

<pre> Time Trials: 1. Greg Wilson, Hampshire 63, 13.444; 2. Kenny Jacobs, Jacobs/Honecker 6, 13.506; 3. Chad Kemenah, Harble 15k, 13.587; 4. Todd Gracey, Cooper 25, 13.617; 5. Rob Chaney, Courtad 9x, 13.697; 6. Ed Lynch, Jr., Lynch 2L, 13.701; 7. Jim Nier, Nier 00, 13.724; 8. Kevin Huntley, Ashworth 92, 13.785; 9. Kent Wolters, Wolters 12, 13.885; 10. Kasey Kahne, Kahne 23k, 13.894; 11. Steve Suever, Suever 36s, 13.943; 12. Phil Gressman, Reidling 9, 14.043; 13. Rodney Duncan, Harrison 22, 14.070; 14. Mark Keegan, Steinbrick 92, 14.072; 15. Jason Dukes, DHP 3, 14.097; 16. Danny Smith, Baker 4, 14.188; 17. Craig McGuire, Pullins 29, 14.211; 18. Keith Crabtree, Crabtree 6c, 14.277; 19. Jason Statler, Statler 00, 14.436; 20. Jimmy Stinson, Stinson 84, 14.473; 21. Jerrod Hull, Webb 51, 14.549; 22. Chad Hill, Hill 44, 14.550; 23. Calvin Landis, Landis 70, 14.593; 24. Daryl Stimeling, Stimeling 30, 14.713; 25. Kerry Jones, Petersen 1nz, 14.868; 26. Keith Baxter, Baxter 1B, 15.775;

Heat (8 laps): 1. Kahne 2. Smith 3. Nier 4. Duncan 5. Wilson 6. Gracey 7. Statler 8. Hill 9. Jones.

Heat (8 laps): 1. Jacobs 2. Huntley 3. Chaney 4. Suever 5. Landis 6. Stinson 7. McGuire 8. Baxter 9. Keegan.

Heat (8 laps): 1. Gressman 2. Lynch 3. Kemenah 4. Dukes 5. Hull 6. Wolters 7. Stimeling 8. Crabtree.

Commercial Truck & Trailer Dash (4 laps): 1. Huntley 2. Wilson 3. Jacobs 4. Kemenah 5. Nier 6. Lynch.

All Star Dash (6 laps): 1. Statler 2. Suever 3. Wolters 4. Stimeling 5. Landis 6. Jones.

A Main (30 laps): 1. Kenny Jacobs 2. Ed Lynch Jr. 3. Kevin Huntley 4. Kasey Kahne 5. Jim Nier 6. Phil Gressman 7. Greg Wilson 8. Danny Smith 9. Todd Gracey 10. Chad Kemenah 11. Rodney Duncan 12. Jason Dukes 13. Jerrod Hull 14. Calvin Landis 15. Daryl Stimeling 16. Keith Crabtree 17. Craig McGuire 18. Kerry Jones 19. Keith Baxter 20. Chad Hill 21. Steve Suever 22. Rob Chaney 23. Jason Statler 24. Jimmy Stinson 25. Kent Wolters. All Star Sprint Points: 1. Rodney Duncan 1869; 2. Kenny Jacobs 1867; 3. Todd Gracey 1620; 4. Jerrod Hull 1616; 5. Frankie Kerr 1507; 6. Chad Kemenah 1444; 7. Kelly Kinser 1356; 8. Daryl Stimeling 1244; 9. Greg Wilson 1101; 10. Byron Reed 1071.

Final Ohio Speedweek Points: 1. Kenny Jacobs 673; 2. Chad Kemenah 651; 3. Greg Wilson 645; 4. Rodney Duncan 638; 5. Phil Gressman 632; 6. Todd Gracey 631; 7. Danny Smith 624; 8. Kevin Huntley 623; 9. Jerrod Hull 614; 10. Jason Dukes & Mark Keegan 562 (tie).

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint
Drivers Kasey Kahne , Kenny Jacobs , Greg Wil , Chad Kemenah , Jason Statler