ALLSTAR: El Paso results 2004-10-15

EL PASO, TX -- Chad Kemenah put an exclamation point on his championship season Friday night at El Paso Speedway Park. His sixth Haulmark All Star sprint car X-1R 30 lap A main feature win of the year locked up his third straight All Star sprint...

EL PASO, TX -- Chad Kemenah put an exclamation point on his championship season Friday night at El Paso Speedway Park. His sixth Haulmark All Star sprint car X-1R 30 lap A main feature win of the year locked up his third straight All Star sprint championship. Danny Smith, runnerup in the point standings, finished second in the event, which was co-sanctioned by the SCOA sprints.

Rich Bubak was on the pole for the start of the A main alongside Smith, with Phil Gressman and Bill Rose in row two. Mike Wells flipped on the backstretch after contact with Rickey Hood on the initial start, bringing out a red flag. Following a complete restart Bubak jumped out into the lead for the first four laps until another yellow came out for a Robert Gomez spin. Bubak, third in SCOA points, still lead over Smith, fifth starter Kemenah, Rose, Paul May, Dean Jacobs, Gressman and Brock Mayes. Smith powered around the outside of Bubak to snare the lead on lap five, but all eyes were on the sixth starting Jacobs. As Smith took the lead, Jacobs went around both Kemenah and a fading Bubak for second, and the chase of Smith was on.

Jacobs kept reeling in the leader and took over the top spot on lap eight. Kemenah then moved into second, and a side by side battle with the leader ensued. Kemenah finally came out on top after two laps of non-stop action. May, who started eighth, was on the move also, up to fourth by lap 10.

Smith regained his rhythm and re-passed Jacobs for second with a low move on lap 13. May was all over Jacobs for third and the Terre Haute, Indiana driver executed a wheel banging pass of Jacobs on lap 15 for the show position, with Jacobs losing several spots.

Ninth starting Greg Wilson moved to fourth on lap 17, and got May for third on the outside groove a lap later. Meanwhile, Kemenah had amassed a huge lead and could not be touched.

With five laps remaining, following another caution, the running order was Kemenah, Smith, Wilson, Johnny Herrera, up from 12th starting spot, May, Bubak, Gressman and seventh starter Brock Mayes. After the restart Herrera moved to third past Wilson on the bottom groove of the 3/8 mile oval. With the white flag unfurled, sixth place Bubak spun to avoid another car and brought out the final yellow of the event. This set up a green, white, checkered finish to the race. Kemenah had a two lapped car cushion over Smith and won going away by a straightaway in the Harble Motorsports, Kistler-powered Eagle. Herrera was the best finishing local driver in third over Wilson and Mayes. Jeremy Campbell was the Fisher Performance Hard Charger of the night, coming from 22nd to finish sixth at the finish.

The Crown Battery heat fell to Wilson, the B&B Products heat went to Campbell, the Engler Machine and Tool heat was won by Jon Agan and the TP Wings heat fell to Rickey Hood. The University of Northwestern Ohio B Main fell to Brock Mayes. Smith captured the Haulmark Dash and Dean Jacobs was the Huggins Cams Fast Time qualifier with a new track record of 12.630 seconds

Huggins Cams Time Trials: 1. Dean Jacobs, 12.630 (NTR); 2. Chad Kemenah, 12.768; 3. Bill Rose, 12.823; 4. Phil Gressman, 12.920; 5. Brock Mayes, 12.956; 6. Danny Smith, 13.009; 7. Rich Bubak, 13.016; 8. Paul May, 13.114; 9. Greg Wilson, 13.141; 10. Barry Ruble, 13.163; 11. Jon Agan, 13.178; 12. Johnny Herrera, 13.217; 13. Tim Hunter, 13.335; 14. Jason Martin, 13.494; 15. Jeff Slinkard, 13.514; 16. Brian O'Donnell, 13.525; 17. Josh Grady, 13.527; 18. Justin Fisher, 13.535; 19. Scott Box, 13.536; 20. John Carney, Jr., 13.551; 21. Eddie Lynch, 13.565; 22. Jeremy Campbell, 13.576; 23. Kaylene Verville, 13.584; 24. Rickey Hood, 13.704; 25. Zeke Ziska, 13.732; 26. Dion Hindi, 13.742; 27. Mike Wells. 13.847; 28. James High, 14.020; 29. Jesse Baker, 14.024; 30. Robert Gomez, 14.107; 31. Steve Martin, 14.151; 32. Mike Grady, 14.323; 33. Bud Goodwin, 14.373; 34. Richard Wilibee, 14.552.

Crown Battery Heat (8 laps): Wilson, Jacobs, Josh Grady, Lynch, Hunter, Mayes, Baker, Goodwin, Ziska.

B&B Products Heat (8 laps): Campbell, Fisher, Kemenah, Smith, Jason Martin, Hindi, Ruble, Gomez, Wilibee.

Engler Machine & Tool Heat (8 laps): Agan, Box, Bubak, Slinkard, Rose, Steve Martin, Wells, Verville.

TP Wings Heat (8 laps): Hood, Herrera, Carney Jr., May, Gressman, High, O'Donnell, Mike Grady.

Haulmark Dash (4 laps): Smith, Kemenah, Rose, Gressman.

University of Northwestern Ohio B Main (10 laps): Mayes, Hindi, Ruble, Wells, Verville, High, Gomez, Baker, Goodwin, Ziska, Steve Martin, Mike Grady, O'Donnell, Wilibee.

X-1R A Main (30 laps): Kemenah, Smith, Herrera, Wilson, Mayes, Campbell, Slinkard, May, Gressman, Agan, Rose, Bubak, Hunter, Josh Grady, Ruble, High, Carney Jr., Fisher, Lynch, Box, Hindi, Gomez, Jason Martin, Jacobs, Wells, Hood.

Lap Leaders: Rich Bubak 1-4, Danny Smith 5-7, Dean Jacobs 8-9, Chad Kemenah 10-30.

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint
Drivers Steve Martin , Dean Jacobs , Greg Wil , Bill Rose , Mike Wells , Johnny Herrera , Chad Kemenah , Paul May