ALLSTAR: East Bay Race Results - Thursday 2/17

All Star Sprint Race Results - East Bay Raceway - Thu. 2/17/00 By Scott Hall GIBSONTON, FL - Danny Lasoski had to run the B Main in round two of the Al l Star Sprint 24th annual East Bay Nationals Thursday night at Stanley Kolan’s East...

All Star Sprint Race Results - East Bay Raceway - Thu. 2/17/00 By Scott Hall GIBSONTON, FL - Danny Lasoski had to run the B Main in round two of the Al l Star Sprint 24th annual East Bay Nationals Thursday night at Stanley Kolan’s East Bay Raceway. But he won the B and came back to win his sixth straight All Star Florida Winternationals feature for 2000 in Vernon Massey’s Wesmar Chevrolet powered Eagle Chassis, pocketing another $4,000. "My guys thought I needed the practice," Lasoski quipped when asked about finishing fifth in his heat and having to transfer through the B Main. "I thought he had a mirror, everywhere I went he went," Lasoski added about being stalked by runner-up Rodney Duncan the entire 25 lap distance. Duncan started his Myles powered Harrison Trucking Schnee on the ButlerBuilt Hot Seat pole, with Kasey Kahne alongside, then Terry McCarl and Craig Dollansky in row two and Gary Wright and Lasoski in row three. Duncan led the first two rounds before a red flew for a six car pile-up involving Scott Bonnell, Brian Ellenberger, Kurt Winker, Ronald Laney, Ricky Logan and Craig Rankin, who flipped. Everyone was okay but Bonnell, Ellenberger and Rankin were through for the night. By lap four, Lasoski was in second and chasing the leader, Duncan. By lap nine, the top pair began to pull away from the field, amassing a five car length lead over third place Kahne and fourth place Wright. Duncan still held the top slot as the leaders ran through heavy lapped traffic with ten laps to go. Lasoski kept the leader in his sights, waiting for his chance to make a move for the top spot. That chance came on lap 20 when Lasoski moved high on the backstretch around Duncan and into the lead, holding command for the final five circuits. Dollansky came on strong at the end for third, with Wright fourth and seventh starting Paul McMahan fifth in the United Expressline No. U2. Kahne held on for sixth, and McCarl earned the Team Simpson Racing Lucky Seven award for seventh, over Joey Saldana in the Denny Ashworth machine, Billy Pauch in the J&M Motorsports No. 55 and Frankie Kerr’s Stan Shoff J&J. "We got beat by the best tonight," said Ohio driver Duncan of second. "It’s the most fun I’ve ever had racing." Then he thanked crew chief Andy Potter, owner Al Harrison and crew members Elaine and Bobby Clark. Dollansky’s fine run came with a Charlie Fisher engine under the hood for the first time and he, like Lasoski, utilized Hoosier Tires. The United Expressline heats went to Greg Hodnett and Todd Gracey, the Southwest Expressline heat to Kerr, the United Specialties heat to Logan and the Southwest Glass heat was taken by Byron Reed. Lasoski won the United Expressline B Main and set a new track record in time trials of 12.405 seconds, breaking his year-old 12.444 mark. Mike Wagner was the Georgia Marketing & Promotions C Main winner. In the fifth heat, a push truck ran over the wheel of local driver Johnny Gilbertson when his car did not fire. He got the machine repaired in time for the A Main and he was added to the field as a provisional, but his machine still would not start. Each night track owner Kolan added two provisionals to the A Main. In the B, Keith Kauffman was tapped out of a transfer spot by Scott Bonnell. He was able to restart, but missed the A Main. Time Trials: 1. Danny Lasoski, Massey 20, 12.405 (NTR); 2. Gary Wright, Wright 9, 12.476; 3. Craig Dollansky, Karavan 7, 12.484; 4. Terry McCarl, McCarl 24, 12.652; 5. Kasey Kahne, Kahne 23k, 12.677; 6. Rodney Duncan, Harrison 22, 12.695; 7. Paul McMahan, Johnson U2, 12.749; 8. Scott Bonnell, Bonnell 3, 12.766; 9. Keith Kauffman, Middleswarth 7, 12.779; 10. Travis Whitney, Frost 88, 12.786; 11. Jerrod Hull, Webb 51, 12.816; 12. Frankie Kerr, Shoff 23s, 12.820; 13. Joey Saldana, Ashworth 92, 12.837; 14. Dean Jacobs, Holbrook 18, 12.853; 15. Kenny Jacobs, Jacobs/Honaker 6, 12.865; 16. Ronald Laney, Laney 52, 12.920; 17. Brian Ellenberger, Ellenberger 20, 12.928; 18. Kurt Winker, Winker 10, 12.969; 19. Jim Moughan, M&L 1m, 13.005; 20. Kelly Kinser, Kinser 4k, 13.007; 21. Greg Hodnett, Zemaitis 1z, 13.035; 22. Ryan Flynn, Flynn F1, 13.054; 23. Craig Rankin, Guzzo 77, 13.066; 24. Byron Reed, B&S 5, 13.070; 25. Terry Pletch, Pletch 29p, 13.080; 26. Billy Pauch, J&M 55, 13.085; 27. Raymond Hensley, Miller 1r, 13.102; 28. Ricky Logan, Fastrax 4, 13.135; 29. Todd Shaffer, Beam 88, 13.150; 30. Todd Gracey, Cooper 25, 13.153; 31. John Bankston, Bankston 8, 13.164; 32. Mark Keegan, Steinbrick 92, 13.285; 33. Kevin Briscoe, Briscoe 5, 13.298; 34. Lance Dewease, Harz 88, 13.314; 35. Terry Babb, Smith 2s, 13.351; 36. Robbie Smith, Smith 1a, 13.379; 37. Curt Trainer, Trainer 29, 13.394; 38. Greg Wilson, Hampshire 63, 13.416; 39. Paul Weaver, Nickles 31, 13.416; 40. Mike Wagner, Wagner 55, 13.425; 41. Eric Hysong, Andrews 72, 13.448; 42. Jim Nier, Nier 00, 13.467; 43. Raymond Shank, Shank 7x, 13.506; 44. Ed Neumeister, Neumeister 11n, 13.976; 45. Johnny Gilbertson, Matz 8m, 14.104; 46. Johnny Johnson, Johnson 72j, 15.040; 47. Tim Crawley, American 91, NT. UNITED EXPRESSLINE HEAT: 1)1z Greg Hodnett 2)55P Billy Pauch 3)52 Ronald Laney 4)22D Rodney Duncan 5)20L Danny Lasoski 6)51 Jerrod Hull 7)72H Eric Hysong 8)8B John Bankston 9)72J John Johnson 10)1A Robbie Smith SOUTHWEST EXPRESSLINE HEAT: 1)23S Frankie Kerr 2)9W Gary Wright 3)20E Brian Ellenberger 4)92K Mark Keegan 5)F1 Ryan Flynn 6)00 Jim Nier 7)29T Curt Trainer 8)U2 Paul McMahan 9)1R Raymond Hensley SOUTHWEST GLASS HEAT: 1)4L Ricky Logan 2)7D Craig Dollansky 3)77 Craig Rankin 4)92S Joey Saldana 5)10W Kurt Winker 6)3 Scott Bonnell 7)5B Kevin Briscoe 8)63 Greg Wilson 9)7X Raymond Shank UNITED SPECIALTIES HEAT: 1)5R Byron Reed 2)18 Dean Jacobs 3)88S Todd Shaffer 4)24 Terry McCarl 5)7M Keith Kauffman 6)1M Jim Moughan 7)88H Lance Dewease 8)31W Paul Weaver 9)11N Ed Neumeister UNITED EXPRESSLINE HEAT: 1)25 Todd Gracey 2)4K Kelly Kinser 3)6 Kenny Jacobs 4)88W Travis Whitney 5)23K Kasey Kahne 6)29P Terry Pletch 7)55W Mike Wagner 8)2S Terry Babb 9)8M Johnny Gilbertson GEORGIA MARKETING & PROMOTIONS C-MAIN: 1)55W Mike Wagner 2)63 Greg Wilson 3)00 Jim Nier 4)29T Curt Trainer 5)31W Paul Weaver 6)72H Eric Hysong 7)11N Ed Neumeister 8)7X Raymond Shank 9)72J John Johnson 10)8M Johnny Gilbertson UNITED EXPRESSLINE B-MAIN: 1)20L Danny Lasoski 2)U2 Paul McMahan 3)23K Kasey Kahne 4)3 Scott Bonnell 5)10W Curt Winker 6)51 Jerrod Hull 7)7M Keith Kauffman 8)88H Lance Dewease 9)63 Greg Wilson 10)8B John Bankston 11)29T Curt Trainer 12)00 Jim Nier 13)55W Mike Wagner 14)1A Robbie Smith 15)5B Kevin Briscoe 16)2S Terry Babb 17)1M Jim Moughan 18)F1 Ryan Flynn 19)29P Terry Pletch DNS 1R Raymond Hensley A-MAIN: 1)20L Danny Lasoski 2)22D Rodney Duncan 3)7D Craig Dollansky 4)9W Gary Wright 5)U2 Paul McMahan 6)23K Kasey Kahne 7)24 Terry McCarl 8)92S Joey Saldana 9)55P Billy Pauch 10)23S Frankie Kerr 11)1Z Greg Hodnett 12)88S Todd Shaffer 13)18 Dean Jacobs 14)4K Kelly Kinser 15)6 Kenny Jacobs 16)51 Jerrod Hull 17)92K Mark Keegan 18)25 Todd Gracey 19)10W Curt Winker 20)52 Ron Laney 21)4L Ricky Logan 22)88W Travis Whitney 23)5R Byron Reed 24)3 Scott Bonnell 25)20E Brian Ellenberger 26)77 Craig Rankin

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint
Drivers Danny Lasoski , Kasey Kahne , Craig Dollansky , Kenny Jacobs , Dean Jacobs , Joey Saldana , Paul McMahan , Billy Pauch , John Johnson , Greg Wil , Tim Crawley