ALLSTAR: East Bay Race Results 2000-02-16

All Star Sprint Race Results - East Bay Raceway - Wed. 2/16/00 By Scott Hall GIBSONTON, FL - Despite having his radical side panels trimmed according to the new All Star body template, Danny Lasoski made it five wins in a row in the opener...

All Star Sprint Race Results - East Bay Raceway - Wed. 2/16/00 By Scott Hall GIBSONTON, FL - Despite having his radical side panels trimmed according to the new All Star body template, Danny Lasoski made it five wins in a row in the opener of the All Star Sprint 24th annual East Bay Nationals Wednesday night. Lasoski started sixth in the Eagle of Vern Massey and Tony Stewart and passed early leader Rodney Duncan on lap 10 to hold command the rest of the 25 lap contest on Stan Kolan’s expertly prepared 1/3 mile, earning $4,000. "I’m proud of our team," Lasoski stated from victory lane. "Including Jerry Russell from Eagle Chassis, my owners Vern and Connie Massey, Tony Stewart and Jimmy Carr. There was lots of side-by-side-racing tonight." Lasoski’s machine utilized Wesmar-Chevy power and is sponsored by Matco Tools, American Compressed Steel and Penske Shocks. With Minnesota’s Travis Whitney on the ButlerBuilt Hot Seat pole position, outside front row mate Rodney Duncan took the lead at the drop of the green flag in the Harrison Trucking Schnee over Lasoski and a bobbling Whitney. Lapped traffic came into play by lap four and the leaders began to pick their way through the tail end of the pack, with Lasoski trying the high groove to find a way around Duncan. After passing the flagstand on lap nine, Lasoski followed Duncan through turns one and two, then dove low going down the backstretch to get under the leader and emerge with the lead on lap ten. When Tim Crawley lost power on lap 15, the first caution appeared, with the order Lasoski, Duncan, Whitney and fifth starter Gary Wright. Another caution appeared a lap later when defending All Star champ Kenny Jacobs got his machine high and sideways in turn one, and was tagged by his brother Dean, resulting in a spin by Kenny for the yellow. Action heated up again with Lasoski still in the lead through a lap 21 caution for Raymond Hensley. Lasoski still held sway over Duncan and Wright, who got around Whitney a lap before the caution appeared. Lasoski built a four second lead by lap 23 and Wright ducked high and around Duncan on the front chute for second on lap 24, but then Brian Ellenberger jumped the cushion and spun, setting up a two lap dash to the finish. Lasoski held command at the checkered over Wright, Whitney in the Allegro Motor Homes machine and Duncan with 16th starter D. Jacobs coming from 16th starting spot to fifth in the Holbrook No. 18. Kelly Kinser came from eighth to sixth, with Terry McCarl earning the Team Simpson Racing Lucky Award for seventh ahead of Byron Reed, Greg Hodnett and Frankie Kerr. Runner-up Wright related afterward that he had a rock wedged under his gas petal early in the race, which worked its way out with around seven laps to go. Whitney, with a nice third place run, blamed his car being "too tight" on the first lap, explaining his Eagle Chassis going sideways in turn two and almost losing the handle, but he was able to recover. The United Expressline heat fell to Brian Ellenberger, the Southwest Expressline heat to Billy Pauch, the United Specialties heat to Jim Moughan and the Southwest Glass heat went to Greg Hodnett with heat five to Pennsylvania driver Craig Rankin. Travis Whitney won the United Expressline B Main and Kevin Briscoe copped the Georgia Marketing and Promotions C Main as Lasoski set fast time over the 48 car field. Time Trials: 1. Danny Lasoski, Massey 20, 12.567; 2. Gary Wright, Wright 9, 12.686; 3. Kenny Jacobs, Jacobs/Honaker 6, 12.741; 4. Terry McCarl, McCarl 24, 12.769; 5. Rodney Duncan, Harrison 22, 12.791; 6. Travis Whitney, Frost 88, 12.796; 7. Paul McMahan, Johnson U2, 12.821; 8. Kelly Kinser, Kinser 4k, 12.838; 9. Byron Reed, B&S 5, 12.871; 10. Scott Bonnell, Bonnell 3, 12.901; 11. Joey Saldana, Ashworth 92, 12.929; 12. Frankie Kerr, Shoff 23s, 12.979; 13. Keith Kauffman, Middleswarth 7, 12.983; 14. Raymond Hensley, Miller 1r, 12.989; 15. Lance Dewease, Harz 88, 13.030; 16. Dean Jacobs, Holbrook 18, 13.050; 17. Billy Pauch, J&M 55, 13.052; 18. Kasey Kahne, Kahne 23k, 13.073; 19. Greg Hodnett, Zemaitis 1z, 13.073; 20. Tim Crawley, American 91, 13.108; 21. Brian Ellenberger, Ellenberger 20, 13.123; 22. Ricky Logan, Fastrax 4, 13.124; 23. Curt Trainer, Trainer 29, 13.169; 24. Mark Keegan, Steinbrick 92, 13.180; 25. Craig Dollansky, Karavan 7, 13.188; 26. Raymond Shank, Shank 7x, 13.225; 27. Ryan Flynn, Flynn F1, 13.240; 28. Jim Moughan, M&L 1m, 13.251; 29. John Bankston, Bankston 8, 13.288; 30. Craig Rankin, Guzzo 77, 13.310; 31. Jerrod Hull, Webb 51, 13.318; 32. Mike Wagner, Wagner 55w, 13.328; 33. Todd Gracey, Cooper 25, 13.356; 34. Ronald Laney, Laney 52; 13.385; 35. Terry Pletch, Pletch 29p, 13.386; 36. Todd Shaffer, Beam 88, 13.388; 37. Greg Wilson, Hampshire 63, 13.393; 38. Kevin Briscoe, Briscoe 5, 13.444; 39. Johnny Gilbertson, Matz 8m, 13.450; 40. Paul Weaver, Nickles 31, 13.477; 41. Terry Babb, Smith 2s, 13.501; 42. Eric Hysong, Andrews 72, 13.528; 43. Kurt Winker, Winker 10w, 13.531; 44. Jim Nier, Nier 00, 14.146; 45. Ed Neumeister, Neumeister 11n, 14.310; 46. Doug Day, Day 2d, 14.592; 47. Johnny Johnson, Johnson 72j, 15.083; 48. Earnest Jennings, Jennings 61, NT. United Expressline Heat: 1)20E Brian Ellenberger 2)20L Danny Lasoski 3)92S Joey Saldana 4)18 Dean Jacobs 5)88W Travis Whitney 6)88S Todd Shaffer 7)7X Raymond Shank 8)51 Jerrod Hull 9)2S Terry Babb 10)2D Doug Day SOUTHWEST EXPRESSLINE HEAT: 1)55P Billy Pauch 2)23S Frankie Kerr 3)9W Gary Wright 4)U2 Paul McMahan 5)55W Mike Wagner 6)63 Greg Wilson 7)F1 Ryan Flynn 8)72J John Johnson 9)4L Ricky Logan 10)72H Eric Hysong SOUTHWEST GLASS HEAT: 1)1M Jim Moughan 2)7M Keith Kauffman 3)6 Kenny Jacobs 4)4K Kelly Kinser 5)29T Curt Trainer 6)25 Todd Gracey 7)5B Kevin Briscoe 8)10W Kurt Winker 9)23K Kasey Kahne DNS Earnest Jennings UNITED SPECIALTIES HEAT: 1)1Z Greg Hodnett 2)8B John Bankston 3)5R Byron Reed 4)24 Terry McCarl 5)1R Raymond Hensley 6)8M Johnny Gilbertson 7)00 Jim Nier 8)52 Ronald Laney 9)92K Mark Keegan UNITED EXPRESSLINE HEAT: 1)77 Craig Rankin 2)7D Craig Dollansky 3)91 Tim Crawley 4)22D Rodney Duncan 5)3 Scott Bonnell 6)88H Lance Dewease 7)29P Terry Pletch 8)11N Ed Neumeister 9)31W Paul Weaver GEORGIA MARKETING & PROMOTIONS C-MAIN: 1)5B Kevin Briscoe 2)8M Johnny Gilbertson 3) 63 Greg Wilson 4) 72H Eric Hysong 5)2S Terry Babb 6)10W Curt Winker 7)00 Jim Nier 8)11N Ed Neumeister 9)2D Doug Day 10)72J Johnny Johnson 11)31W Paul Weaver. DNS Earnest Jennings. UNITED EXPRESSLINE B-MAIN: 1)88W Travis Whitney 2)88H Lance Dewease 3)3 Scott Bonnell 4)1R Raymond Hensley 5)92K Mark Keegan 6)4L Ricky Logan 7)23K Kasey Kahne 8)55W Mike Wagner 9)52 Ronald Laney 10)88S Todd Shaffer 11) 51 Jerrod Hull 12)F1 Ryan Flynn 13)8M Johnny Gilbertson 14)29T Curt Trainer 15)72H Eric Hysong 16)63 Greg Wilson 17)25 Todd Gracey 18)5B Kevin Briscoe 19)29P Terry Pletch 20) 7X Raymond Shank A-MAIN: 1)20L Danny Lasoski 2)92 Gary Wright 3)88W Travis Whitney 4)22D Rodney Duncan 5)18 Dean Jacobs 6)4K Kelly Kinser 7)24 Terry McCarl 8)5R Byron Reed 9)1Z Greg Hodnett 10)23S Frankie Kerr 11)U2 Paul McMahan 12)92K Mark Keegan 13)92S Joey Saldana 14)7M Keith Kauffman 15)55P Billy Pauch 16)7D Craig Dollansky 17)88H Lance Dewease 18)3 Scott Bonnell 19)20E Brian Ellenberger 20)4L Ricky Logan 21)1R Raymond Hensley 22)6 Kenny Jacobs 23)91 Tim Crawley 24)77 Craig Rankin 25)1M Jim Moughan 26)8B John Bankston.

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint
Drivers Tony Stewart , Danny Lasoski , Kasey Kahne , Craig Dollansky , Kenny Jacobs , Dean Jacobs , Joey Saldana , Paul McMahan , Billy Pauch , John Johnson , Greg Wil , Doug Day , Tim Crawley