ALLSTAR: East Bay All Star Saturday Results 99-02-13

All Star Sprint Race Results - East Bay Raceway, Tampa, FL - Sat. 2/13/99 - By Scott Hall GIBSONTON, FL - In a carbon copy of last year's event, Jeff Shepard whipped the field in the All Star sprint 50-lap feature Saturday night at East Bay ...

All Star Sprint Race Results - East Bay Raceway, Tampa, FL - Sat. 2/13/99 - By Scott Hall

GIBSONTON, FL - In a carbon copy of last year's event, Jeff Shepard whipped the field in the All Star sprint 50-lap feature Saturday night at East Bay Raceway in the $126,000 23rd annual East Bay Nationals finale, worth a $10,000 payday. Shepard finished a half-lap ahead of runner-up Joey Saldana, with Gary Wright riding home third. Danny Lasoski was the Brigitte Emick High Point winner for the East Bay series, garnering $1,000.

"Hoosier Daddy!" Shepard exclaimed in victory lane, crediting the Hoosier Tires on Les and Lynda Stewart's Kriner-Chevrolet powered Maxim for the victory. "Everything we did was perfectly right. The same way this car sits right here is the same way this car sat right here a year ago today. I did the same exact thing all the way down to the tires, stagger, wheel spacers and it worked out two for two. The Penske shocks, they have to be the deal, because without them we wouldn't have been so consistent all week long," Shepard added. His crew consisted of Daniel, Heath and Mike.

"We've been struggling, we put Goodyears back on tonight, we go a lot better on Goodyears," runner-up Saldana revealed. "We just started too far back. Lapped traffic was real bad. Everyone didn't know what tire to put on. Some people put on tires that were too hard and they never came in." Saldana's mount was the Steve Mox Stealth, with Fisher-Chevrolet power.

"Jeff went different on tires than most everyone else," Wright said of third. "He outsmarted us all." He then added, "At the start a piece of metal came up through the floorboard and I couldn't give it full throttle but it didn't matter we were spinning tires anyway. We just kind of struggled along."

With the top six in week long points inverted for the start, Wright started on the ButlerBuilt Motorsports Equipment Hot Seat pole position in his own Maxim, with Kevin Gobrecht's Zemco Maxim alongside. Row two was made up of Frankie Kerr's Stan Shoff J&J, with Greg Hodnett's Apple Motorsports Maxim outside and Shepard's Double L Racing Maxim and Danny Lasoski's CJB Motorsports Eagle comprised row three. Gobrecht took the initial lead, powering high around Wright. Shepard was side-by-side with Gobrecht on lap two, Shepard low and Gobrecht high, and going into turns one and two Shepard dove low and into the lead on lap three, ahead of Gobrecht and Wright. Saldana and Kerr battled for fourth, and by lap 11 Terry McCarl joined the fray for that position. Shepard had amassed a half a lap lead on lap sixteen when the event's first caution flew for a three car mix-up in turn one, involving Kenny Adams, Billy Pauch and Dean Jacobs. Adams and Pauch got together and Jacobs ran into the mess. So the restart order was Shepard, followed by five lapped cars, Gobrecht in second, Wright, Saldana. McCarl, Joe Gaerte and Kerr.

Shepard motored away on the restart, and Saldana disposed of Gobrecht with a low move into second.. Shepard stretched out his lead to a half lap again at the halfway mark, with Saldana second, Gobrecht third, followed by Wright, McCarl, Kerr and Lasoski. Tim Shaffer stopped on the track on lap 28, but Shepard held another five lapped car cushion for the restart.

As Shepard remained on top, the battle was once again on for fourth among McCarl and Kerr, and Wright was pressuring Gobrecht for third. Kerr faded a bit, dropping to eighth by lap 34, and the final stoppage occurred on lap 40 for a Danny Smith flat left rear tire.

With only the top five on the lead lap, Shepard motored away to the win as Wright struggled to get past Gobrecht for third, finally securing the spot on lap 41 with a high move exiting turn two. With heavy lapped traffic all around the 1/3 mile, Shepard rode the high groove he utilized all evening to victory lane by a half lap over Saldana, Wright and Gobrecht. McCarl ended fourth, with 13th starter Jac Haudenschild moving to sixth at the finish on Goodyear tires.

Kerr finished seventh, earning the "Team Simpson Racing Lucky Seven" award, ahead of Lasoski, who went very wide on the start and lost several positions, and never really got going after that. Kevin Huntley started 11th and finished ninth, with 18th starter Paul McMahan tenth in the United Expressline Stealth wrenched by Mike Cool.

The United Expressline heat fell to Billy Pauch, the Southwest Expressline heat to Saldana, the Southwest Glass heat was won by McCarl and the United Specialties heat went to Joe Gaerte. Gobrecht won the Commercial Truck & Trailer Dash and Eric Hysong won the Glenn Donnelley Dash worth $1,000 from East Bay and an added $100 from Louis Long with Dean Jacobs the United Expressline B Main winner. Ed Lynch, Jr. won the Georgia Marketing & Promotions C Main. Raymond Shank executed a hard flip after colliding with Leonard Lee in the B Main. Shank emerged from his badly bent car uninjured.

United Expressline Heat (10 laps): 1. Billy Pauch 2. Kevin Huntley 3. Rodney Duncan 4.Dean Jacobs 5. Kenny Jacobs 6. Mike Wagner 7. Greg Wilson 8. Alan Winker 9. Dave Moulis 10. Joe Hauck 11. Mike Frost-DNS.

Southwest Expressline Heat (10 laps): 1. Joey Saldana 2. Bob Felmlee 3. Kelly Kinser 4. Todd Shaffer 5. Johnny Gilbertson 6. Leonard Lee 7. Ronald Laney 8. Ed Lynch, Jr. 9. Scott Bonnell 10. Robbie Standridge 11. Brian Ellenberger-DNS.

Southwest Glass Heat (10 laps): 1. Terry McCarl 2. Jac Haudenschild 3. Freddie Rahmer 4. Scott Whitworth 5. Kenny Adams 6. Johnny Mackison, Jr. 7. Brian Schnee 8. Boston Reid 9. Johnny Johnson 10 Raymond Hensley-DNS.

United Specialties Heat (10 laps): 1. Joe Gaerte 2. Danny Smith 3. Paul McMahan 4. Tim Shaffer 5. Jerrod Hull 6. Jim Moughan 7. Raymond Shank 8. Terry Pletch 9. Eric Hysong 10. Brian Carlson.

Commercial Truck & Trailer Dash: (5 laps): 1. Gobrecht 2. Wright 3. Hodnett 4. Kerr 5. Lasoski 6. Shepard.

Glenn Donnelley Dash (5 laps): 1. Hysong 2. Lee 3. Gilbertson 4. Schnee 5. Hull 6. Bonnell.

Georgia Marketing & Promotions C Main (12 laps): 1. Lynch 2 Winker 3. Moulis 4. Reid 5. Pletch 6. Hauck 7. Standridge 8. Bonnell 9. Hysong 10. Johnson 11. Carlson.

United Expressline B Main (15 laps): 1. D. Jacobs 2. Todd Shaffer 3. Tim Shaffer 4. K. Jacobs 5. Adams 6. Wagner 7. Lynch 8. Gilbertson 9. Hull 10. Moughan 11. Schnee 12. Winker 13. Wilson 14. Reid 15. Pletch 16. Whitworth 17.Lee 18. Shank 19. Mackison 20. Moulis.

A Main (50 laps): 1. Shepard 2. Saldana 3. Wright 4. Gobrecht 5. McCarl 6. Haudenschild 7. Kerr 8. Lasoski 9. Huntley 10. McMahan 11. Hodnett 12. Smith 13. Todd Shaffer 14. Adams 15. Kinser 16. Duncan 17. Felmlee 18. D. Jacobs 19. Tim Shaffer 20. K. Jacobs 21. Pauch 22. Gaerte 23. Rahmer 24. Wagner.

All Star Points: 1. Joey Saldana 183; 2. Frankie Kerr 182; 3. Jeff Shepard 174; 4. Danny Lasoski 162; 5. Greg Hodnett 158; 6. Billy Pauch 157; 7. Jac Haudenschild 153; 8. Kevin Huntley 142; 8. Todd Shaffer 142; 10. Kenny Jacobs 139; 10. Paul McMahan 139.

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint
Drivers Tim Shaffer , Danny Lasoski , Kenny Jacobs , Brian Carlson , Dean Jacobs , Joey Saldana , Paul McMahan , Boston Reid , Billy Pauch , Kenny Adams , Greg Wil , Jac Haudenschild