ALLSTAR: Eagle Results 98-05-29

All Star Sprint Race Results - Eagle Raceway, Eagle, NE - Fri. 5/29/98 Dean Jacobs Shines in All Star Sprint Show at Eagle Eagle, NE (MAY 29) The Dean Jacobs' ...

All Star Sprint Race Results - Eagle Raceway, Eagle, NE - Fri. 5/29/98 Dean Jacobs Shines in All Star Sprint Show at Eagle

Eagle, NE (MAY 29) The Dean Jacobs' #92 Denny Ashworth Chevrolet-powered Schnee sprinter was as hot as the weather Friday night as he dominated the field and took home the checkered flag in the All Star Circuit of Champions 40 lap feature at the Park Place Eagle Raceway. It was the third $4,000 win of the season for Jacobs in the machine prepared by Denny Ashworth and the father-son duo of Randy and Aaron Hammer.

Starting from the BulterBuilt Hot Seat pole position, the Wooster, Ohio driver took command of the 24-car field early. Jacobs was followed by Commercial Truck & Trailer dash winner Joey Saldana and Skip Jackson of Sydney, Australia for the first seven laps. On lap 8, fast-time qualifier Don Droud, Jr. nabbed third place from Jackson.

The next lap saw the first yellow flag of the feature come out for Worthington, Missouri's Breezy Whitworth, who started second, as he slowed in the infield.

The green returned for three more laps until Scott Jones of Irvona, PA barrel-rolled hard on the front stretch. The ensuing red flag also saw the loss of fellow GMP Rookie-of-the-year contender Judi Bates.

The red flag gave several drivers a chance to make setup adjustments, including Jacobs, who took full advantage of the opportunity to tighten his stranglehold on the field when the green returned, Jacobs used the new setup and clear track in front of him to distance himself from Saldana and the rest of the pack. Gary Wright of Hooks, TX recovered from a mechanical difficulty in the heat race to pass Droud, Jr. for third two laps later, on lap 20.

When the checkered flag flew, Jacobs crossed the line a straightaway ahead of Saldana. Wright followed for third, followed by Droud, Jr. and Pleasant Hill, IA pilot Terry McCarl in fifth. Kenny Jacobs, Frankie Kerr, Skip Jackson, Leonard Lee and Keith Kauffman rounded out the top 10.

The United Expressline heat fell to Kauffman, the Southwest Expressline heat to D. Jacobs and the Southwest Glass heat was won by Jamie Moyle. Saldana won the Commercial Truck & Trailer Dash. Time Trials: 1. Don Droud, Jr., 12.015; 2. Gary Wright 12.122; 3. Kenny Jacobs 12.287; 4. Frankie Kerr 12.290; 5. Joey Saldana 12.310; 6. Skip Jackson 12.425; 7. Scott Whitworth 12.429; 8. Dean Jacobs 12.455; 9. Scott Jones 12.458; 10. Judi Bates 12.511; 11. Leonard Lee 12.523; 12. Scott Robertson 12.535; 13. Keith Kauffman 12.554; 14. Terry McCarl 12.571;15. Travis Cram 12.591;16. Marlon Jones 12.615; 17. Jeff Mitrisin 12.662; 18. Jaymie Moyle 12.766; 19. Brian Smith 12.805; 20. Bob Weuve 12.825; 21. Bruce Divis 13.074; 22. John Lambertz 13.117; 23. Jason Wendt 13.154; 24. Justin Henderson 13.341.

United Expressline Heat (8 laps): 1. Kauffman 2. Bates 3. Droud 4. Whitworth 5. Cram 6. Kerr 7. Lambertz 8. Smith.

Southwest Expressline Heat (8 laps): 1. D. Jacobs 2. McCarl 3. S. Jones 4. Lee 5. Saldana 6. Wendt 7. Weuve 8. Wright.

Southwest Glass Heat (8 laps): 1. Moyle 2. Robertson 3. Mitrisin 4. Jackson 5. M. Jones 6. Divis 7. Henderson 8. K. Jacobs.

Commercial Truck & Trailer Dash: (4 laps): 1. Saldana 2. Kerr 3. D. Jacobs 4. Kauffman 5. S. Jones 6. Bates.

A Main (40 laps): 1. D. Jacobs 2. Saldana 3. Wright 4. Droud 5. McCarl 6. K. Jacobs 7. Kerr 8. Jackson 9. Lee 10. Kauffman 11. Moyle 12. Divis 13. Wendt 14. Henderson 15. Whitworth 16. Lambertz 17. Weuve 18. Cram 19. Smith 20. S. Jones 21. Bates 22. Mitrisin 23. M. Jones 24. Robertson.

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint
Drivers Kenny Jacobs , Brian Smith , Jeff Mitrisin , Dean Jacobs , Joey Saldana