ALLSTAR: Chillicothe Results 99-05-01

All Star Sprint Race Results - K-C Raceway, Chillicothe, OH - Sat 5/1/99 ALMA, OH - It was a brother act in the All Star sprint 30-lap feature Saturday night at K-C Raceway. Kenny Jacobs defeated his brother Dean, recording his first win as a...

All Star Sprint Race Results - K-C Raceway, Chillicothe, OH - Sat 5/1/99

ALMA, OH - It was a brother act in the All Star sprint 30-lap feature Saturday night at K-C Raceway. Kenny Jacobs defeated his brother Dean, recording his first win as a car owner for Kenny Jacobs Motorsports. With the win he became the eighth different All Star winner this season in 11 events.

"I can't tell you how good this feels," the winner exclaimed. "We worked our tails off to get this thing together and it just feels great to win in my own race car. Barry Jackson told me right before we pushed off lets go win one for Kenny Jacobs Motorsports, and I said, "were gonna, were gonna." Jacobs team uses Eagle Chassis, Kriner Chevrolet engines, Goodyear tires, Pro-shocks, Pennzoil and his crew consisted of Lee Jacobs, Jackson and Aaron Hammer.

Dean ran behind his brother the whole race. "That danged yellow flag. Every time we got to race in traffic that yellow came out. Traffic was my only hope," the driver of the Jr. Holbrook machine recalled when asked if he had a chance to catch his brother. "I guess if Im going to run second all year, Id just as soon Kenny win the race every time."

Defending K-C track champion Rodney Duncan started on the ButlerBuilt Motorsports Equipment Hot Seat pole position in the Harrison Trucking Schnee with 19-year-old Kasey Kahne alongside. Kahne tried the high groove, leading the first three circuits until Duncan moved alongside on lap four, and used a low slide job to take the lead exiting turn two to lead lap five. Kahne held second now with sixth starting K. Jacobs third and D. Jacobs fourth. Lapped traffic slowed the leaders on lap seven, with K. Jacobs slipping past Kahne for the runner-up spot on lap nine in traffic. D. Jacobs followed his elder brother past Kahne the next lap, and they both moved in on Duncan., who was having his problems weaving through the backmarkers.

On lap 11, disaster almost struck Duncan as Brian Ellenberger rolled to a stop on the backstretch, and Duncan rear-ended him, damaging his front wing, but he kept moving and retained the lead as the yellow flew. K. Jacobs passed Duncan immediately after the green reappeared, as Duncans front wing affected his cars handling. D. Jacobs took over second a lap later, and it was now a two-car Jacobs race as the lead duo pulled away from the rest of the pack with Duncan third and ninth starter Kelly Kinser moving into fourth.

Two more cautions slowed action, but K. Jacobs pulled away on an open track, his car handling excellently anywhere on K-Cs surface, to win by two car lengths. Kinser was a half lap in arrears in third, with Duncan holding onto fourth and Paul McMahan making a late charge for fifth. McMahan earned the KSE Racing Products Rookie of the race award. Chad Kemenah moved from eighth starting spot to sixth.

Byron Reed finished seventh, earning the "Team Simpson Racing Lucky Seven" award. Jim Nier was eighth, Kahne faded to ninth and Danny Smith was tenth. Todd Kane started last and moved through the pack to 11th. Jacobs earned $5,000 for his win, plus a $75 bonus from TW Metals.

The United Expressline heat fell to Randy Kinser, the Southwest Expressline heat to D. Jacobs, the Southwest Glass heat was won by Craig McGuire and the United Specialties heat went to Greg Wilson. Butch Schroeder won the Commercial Truck & Trailer Dash with Chad Kemenah the United Expressline B Main winner. K. Jacobs was the Red Devil Brakes fast qualifier. The sprint car drivers went through the stands and took up a collection for injured driver Kevin Huntley.

Delmas Conley won the 25-lap late model main over Adam Stevens, Mike Wilson, Skip Watterman and Weasel Rhoades.

Time Trials: 1. Kenny Jacobs, Jacobs 6, 11.478; 2. Dean Jacobs, Holbrook 8, 11.612; 3. Butch Schroeder, Schroeder 17, 11.980; 4. Greg Wilson, Hampshire 63, 12.082; 5. Kasey Kahne, Kahne 23K, 12.102; 6. Rodney Duncan, Harrison 22, 12.127; 7. Mark Keegan, Steinbrick 92, 12.170; 8. Paul McMahan, W&J U2, 12.172; 9. Chad Kemenah, Harble 15, 12.226; 10. Kelly Kinser, Kinser 4K, 12.250; 11. Jim Nier, Nier 00, 12.430; 12. Byron Reed, B&S 5, 12.491; 13. Danny Smith, Ashworth 92, 12.511; 14. Jason Dukes, Dukes 3, 12.513; 15. Brian Ellenberger, Ellenberger 20, 12.570; 16. Chris Fraley, Fraley 3F, 12.575; 17. Scott Miller, Melick 2m, 12.650; 18. Boston Reid, Keppel 9, 12.652; 19. Craig McGuire, McGuire 4, 12.691; 20. Brian Carlson, SC Motorsports 18, 12.696; 21. Randy Kinser, Kinser 14, 12.707; 22. Hud Horton, Horton 80, 12.761; 23. John Wisbon, Burmeister 16, 12.846; 24. Alvin Roepke, R&F 99, 12.869; 25. Tim Allison, Lotz 11x, 12.893; 26. Jonathan Stevens, Davis 99, 12.907; 27. Ed Neumeister, Neumeister 11n, 12.972; 28. Jerrod Hull, Webb 51, 12.983; 29. Keith Crabtree, Baker 51, 13.059; 30. Roger Mossbarger, Mossbarger 95, 13.188; 31. Jeff Barnhart, Barnhart 2B, 13.295; 32. Mike Bowling, Jarrell 22, 13.302; 33. Todd Kane, Brown 99, 13.361; 34. Tony Broughton, Pullins 22, 13.398; 35. Dave Dickson, Abbott 7a, 13.447; 36. Steve Jenkins, Jenkins 21J, 13.533; 37. Ron Marks, Marks 4m, 13.568; 38. Dewey Cassel, Cassel 5, 13.774; 39. Wes Harbour, Harbour 19w, 14.070; 40. Eddie Slone, Slone 4x, 14.144; 41. Jim Damon, Damon 50x, 14.719.

United Expressline Heat (10 laps): 1. R. Kinser 2. Smith 3. K. Jacobs 4. Kahne 5. Miller 6. Kane 7. Allison 8. Crabtree 9. Marks 10. Damon 11. Kemenah.

Southwest Expressline Heat (10 laps): 1. D. Jacobs 2. Horton 3. K. Kinser 4. Duncan 5. Hull 6. Reid 7. Dukes 8. Broughton 9. Mossbarger 10. Cassel.

Southwest Glass Heat (10 laps): 1. McGuire 2. Ellenberger 3. Nier 4. Wisbon 5. Schroeder 6. Stevens 7. Harbour 8. Dickson 9. Keegan 10. Broughton.

United Specialties Heat (10 laps): 1. Wilson 2. Roepke 3. McMahan 4. Reed 5. Carlson 6. Fraley 7. Slone 8. Neumeister 9. Bowling 10. Jenkins.

Commercial Truck & Trailer Dash: (4 laps): 1. Schroeder 2. K. Jacobs 3. D. Jacobs 4. Wilson 5. Kahne 6. Duncan.

United Expressline B Main (12 laps): 1. Kemenah 2. Kane 3. Allison 4. Reid 5. Stevens 6. Broughton 7. Neumeister 8. Crabtree 9. Mossbarger 10. Dickson 11. Marks 12. Bowling 13. Dukes 14. Slone 15. Cassel 16. Damon 17. Jenkins 18. Barnhart 19. Fraley 20. Harbour 21. Keegan (DNS).

A Main (30 laps): 1. K. Jacobs 2. D. Jacobs 3. K. Kinser 4. Duncan 5. McMahan 6. Kemenah 7. Reed 8. Nier 9. Kahne 10. Smith 11. Kane 12. Roepke 13. Miller 14. Schroeder 15. R. Kinser 16. Reid 17. Horton 18. Wisbon 19. McGuire 20. Hull 21. Allison 22. Carlson 23. Wilson 24. Ellenberger.

All Star Points: 1. Kenny Jacobs 423, 2. Dean Jacobs 414; 3. Danny Smith 382; 4. Rodney Duncan 369; 5. Jerrod Hull 327; 6. Greg Wilson 298; 7. Brian Ellenberger 296; 8. Jac Haudenschild 258; 9. Butch Schroeder 258; 10. Byron Reed 248.

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint
Drivers Kasey Kahne , Kenny Jacobs , Brian Carlson , Dean Jacobs , Paul McMahan , Boston Reid , Steve Jenkins , Greg Wil , Jac Haudenschild , Chad Kemenah