ALLSTAR: Butler results

QUINCY, MI -- Jac Haudenschild passed Randy Hannagan on lap 11 and led the rest of the way Saturday night at Butler Motor Speedway in the Haulmark All Star sprint car 30 lap feature. It was Haudenschild's 16th career All Star win, with his last ...

QUINCY, MI -- Jac Haudenschild passed Randy Hannagan on lap 11 and led the rest of the way Saturday night at Butler Motor Speedway in the Haulmark All Star sprint car 30 lap feature. It was Haudenschild's 16th career All Star win, with his last victory coming at Eldora Speedway in 1999.

"The track was really good tonight. We ran the bottom the first half of the race, then the top came in. It got really racy," the driver of Jamie Miller's Ham Signs, Double J Construction, Sunset Meats Maxim said after earning $5,000.

Jeremy Campbell led the field to the green alongside Hannagan, followed by Danny Smith and Haudenschild. Hannagan jumped around Campbell into the initial lead with Haudenschild tucking into third. On lap five Haudenschild took second from Campbell with a low pass off turn four, and he ducked under Hannagan in turn one to take the lead on lap 11.

Smith and Greg Wilson, who started fifth, also got past Campbell by the halfway point of the race. The event ran non stop until lap 25 when Chad Kemenah and Tim Hunter collided in turn three, with Hunter exiting with a flat. Kemenah was able to tag the tail of the field for the restart, but he eventually finished 12th, losing the series points lead to Danny Smith by one point.

It was a five lap dash to the finish, with Haudenschild pulling away from Hannagan when the green reappeared. Smith was now third ahead of Wilson, Campbell, Brock Mayes, Chad Blonde and Ryan Coniam in the VSM Abrasives Premiere Pallet No. 70. Haudenschild motored away in the high groove to win easily over Hannagan. Smith rode home third in the Pence GMC Maxim, followed by Campbell's Gaerte powered Maxim. Mayes ran a strong sixth, the best finish of his rookie season in his own Eagle-Kistler. 11th starter Blonde finished seventh, ahead of Coniam, Phil Gressman in the Robenalt Racing No. 98Eagle (up from 15th) and Toledo's Ronnie Beale.

The Crown Battery heat fell to Tim Hunter, the B&B Products heat went to Eddie Lynch, the Engler Machine and Tool heat was won by Jeff Rankin and the TP Wings heat fell to Ryan Coniam. Jon Agan won the University of Northwestern Ohio B Main, Jeremy Campbell captured the Haulmark Dash and Ken Mackey was the Huggins Cams Fast Time qualifier. Fifth place driver in All Star points Bill Rose missed the evening's action when his brand new trailer malfunctioned before he left for the speedway.

Huggins Cams Time Trials: 1. Ken Mackey, Mackey 25m, 14.410; 2. Greg Wilson, Hampshire 63, 14.491; 3. Jac Haudenschild, Miller 6m, 14.522; 4. Danny Smith, Smith 4, 14.533; 5. Randy Hannagan, THR 1x, 14.637; 6. Jeremy Campbell, Campbell 10c, 14.725; 7. Brock Mayes, Mayes 11B, 14.788; 8. Chad Kemenah, Harble 15k, 14.833; 9. Paul May, May 71m, 14.841; 10. Ronnie Beale, Beale 3B, 14.872; 11. Chad Blonde, Blonde 5, 14.950; 12. Ryan Coniam, Grove 70, 14.960; 13. Tim Evelsizer, Evelsizer 9e, 14.992; 14. Barry Ruble, Ruble 63r, 14.995; 15. Chuck Wilson, Wilson 31, 15.005; 16. Phil Gressman, Robenalt 98, 15.040; 17. Tim Hunter, Hunter 2H, 15.062; 18. Eddie Smith, S&R 3, 15.136; 19. Bob Dooley, Dooley 8x, 15.198; 20. Mark Aldrich. Aldrich 1a, 15.203; 21. Sean Robinson, Robinson 1, 15.204; 22. Eddie Lynch, Lynch 29, 15.248; 23. Jeff Rankin, Zabonic 40, 15.280; 24. Norman Carpenter, Carpenter 49, 15.307; 25. Jon Agan, Agan 4J, 15.325; 26. Cory Bevard, Bevard 8, 15.334; 27. Doug Zimmerman, Zimmerman 19, 15.340; 28. Cody Geldart, Geldart 6g, 15.407; 29. Roger Spieth, Spieth 2z, 15.768; 30. Marvin Pifer, Pifer 32, 16.125; 31. Robert Payseno, Payseno 38, 17.506.

Crown Battery Heat (8 laps): 1. Hunter 2. Mackey 3. Hannagan 4. May 5. Evelsizer 6. Spieth 7. Robinson 8. Agan.

B&B Products Heat (8 laps): 1. Lynch 2. G. Wilson 3. Campbell 4. Ruble 5. Beale 6. Bevard 7. Pifer 8. E. Smith.

Engler Machine & Tool Heat (8 laps): 1. Rankin 2. Blonde 3. Mayes 4. Haudenschild 5. Zimmerman 6. Dooley 7. Payseno 8. C. Wilson.

TP Wings Heat (8 laps): 1. Coniam 2. Kemenah 3. Gressman 4. D. Smith 5. Aldrich 6. Carpenter 7. Geldart.

Haulmark Dash (4 laps): 1. Campbell 2. Haudenschild 3. G. Wilson 4. D. Smith.

University of Northwestern Ohio B Main (10 laps): 1. Agan 2. Bevard 3. E. Smith 4. Pifer 5. Geldart 6. Carpenter 7. C. Wilson 8. Spieth 9. Payseno 10. Dooley 11. Robinson (DNS).

Haulmark A Main (30 laps): 1. Jac Haudenschild 2. Randy Hannagan 3. Danny Smith 4. Greg Wilson 5. Jeremy Campbell 6. Brock Mayes 7. Chad Blonde 8. Ryan Coniam 9. Phil Gressman 10. Ronnie Beale 11. Ken Mackey 12. Chad Kemenah 13. Doug Zimmerman 14. Tim Evelsizer 15. Cory Bevard 16. Mark Aldrich 17. Eddie Lynch 18. Barry Ruble 19. Jon Agan 20. Marvin Pifer 21. Tim Hunter 22. Jeff Rankin 23. Paul May 24. Eddie Smith.

Lap Leaders: Randy Hannagan 1-10, Jac Haudenschild 11-30.

<pre> All Star Sprint Points: 1 Danny Smith 552 2 Chad Kemenah 551 3 Greg Wilson 513 4 Jeremy Campbell 476 5 Phil Gressman 439 6 Ryan Coniam 436 7 Dale Blaney 434 8 Brock Mayes 420 9 Bill Rose 416 10 Tim Hunter 395

</pre> NOTE: South Buxton, ON - Sunday's All Star event scheduled for South Buxton Raceway was cancelled due to wet track conditions. The event has been rescheduled for Sunday night Aug. 1.

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint
Drivers Randy Hannagan , Greg Wil , Bill Rose , Jac Haudenschild , Chad Kemenah , Paul May