ALLSTAR: Attica Results 98-09-07

All Star Sprint Race Results Attica Raceway Park (OH) Mon. 9/07/98 by Scott Hall ATTICA, OH - Jeff Shepard made it eight All Star wins on the season and three at Attica Raceway Park in the All Star sprint 30-lap Attica Ambush feature Monday...

All Star Sprint Race Results Attica Raceway Park (OH) Mon. 9/07/98

by Scott Hall

ATTICA, OH - Jeff Shepard made it eight All Star wins on the season and three at Attica Raceway Park in the All Star sprint 30-lap Attica Ambush feature Monday night. A 4:00 p.m. rain shower made for a lightning fast surface all night and Shepard passed race-long leader Frankie Kerr in lapped traffic on lap 26 and rode on to a two car length victory.

In the Ohio Scramble for all Ohio feature winners, All Star points leader Kenny Jacobs won the 20 lap main, worth $2,000. It was his first Attica win of the season in the Hughes No. 94.

"For some reason '98's been our year at Attica," Shepard said. "Everything went good. Frankie wasn't as good as I was in lapped traffic. I needed lapped cars to get by him." Shepard drove the Les and Lynda Stewart, Kriner-Chevrolet Maxim into victory lane on Goodyear tires.

An inversion of eight for the start of the main put Kelly Kinser on the ButlerBuilt Hot Seat pole position alongside Kerr. Kinser led the first two circuits until Kerr put on a high move around him exiting turn two to lead lap three. By lap four, Kerr was lapping the end of the pack, allowing Kinser, Kevin Huntley and sixth starter Shepard to close. Shepard, with a bold move, passed both Huntley and Kinser in one fell swoop in turns one and two to snare second. Shepard ducked under Kerr to take the lead on lap seven, but the move was nullified by a Byron Reed stall in turn one for a caution, with the lead back to Kerr for the restart. Following the restart, the red flew for a nasty Butch Schroeder end-over-end flip out over turn one. Schroeder was not injured.

Kerr led for the restart, leading the next five laps until Shepard moved back into contention. With traffic looming on lap 14, Shepard got under Kerr and they ran side-by-side at the flagstand, touching wheels, but both recovered with Kerr still on top. Shepard was still on his bumper and Kerr led by a bumper when another caution appeared for a Bobby Teeple spin on lap 16.

The restart order was Kerr, Shepard, Huntley, Kinser and Greg Hodnett. Kerr pulled away a bit following the restart, but traffic came into play on lap 24, allowing Shepard to close. Lap 25 saw Shepard try an unsuccessful low move in turns one and two. But on lap 26, an low move under Kerr in heavy traffic allowed Shepard to gain the top spot at the flagstand to lead the rest of the way to the $4,000 paycheck.

"We were getting loose on the long runs," Kerr explained, standing beside Stan Shoff's Maxim. "He was just a little better, but I'll take a second after the last time we were here. I was just trying all lanes to get a bite again."

"I'm just jinxed here," Huntley said with a smile. "I just can't win any races here," he said of his third place run in the Rick Daugherty Doemelt.

Fourth was the Apple Chevy Maxim of Hodnett, with Kemenah fifth, followed by Keith Kauffman, Dean Jacobs, Kenny Jacobs and Joey Saldana.

Bobby Allen drew the pole for the 20-lap Ohio scramble, but his front row mate Kenny Jacobs took command at the start and ran mostly the high groove to lead over his brother Dean, who started third. Dean was right on his brother's bumper on lap six, and the brothers ran nose-to-tail and side-by-side through traffic for the next ten laps with Dean able to pull even but never get by. A Jim Nier meeting with the wall on lap 17 slowed the action, setting up a three lap dash to the end. Kenny was able to pull away easily to win, finishing 3.5 seconds ahead of Dean. Greg Hodnett took third from Todd Kane after the restart, with tenth starting Kelly Kinser fifth.

The United Expressline heat fell to Todd Kane, the Southwest Expressline heat to Rodney Duncan, the Southwest Glass heat was won by Shepard and the United Specialties heat went to Mark Keegan, who dropped out of the main early with engine problems. Kerr won the Commercial Truck & Trailer Dash with John Ivy the United Expressline B Main winner. Schroeder's time of 11.306 set a new track record, snapping Shepard's 11.466 mark set one year ago. It was worth $300 from Ramey Trucking and a new Weld Racing Wheel.

The makeup limited late model main went to Dennis Filliater over John Mayes and Art Ball. The regular limited main went to Mayes over Ball and Chris Smith. A total of $940 was collected for the Muscular Dystrophy Ass'n by the drivers passing through the stands.

Time Trials: 1. Butch Schroeder, Gottschalk 17, 11.306; 2. Kenny Jacobs, Hughes 94, 11.355; 3. Jeff Shepard, Double L 4J, 11.417; 4. Greg Hodnett, Stewart 12, 11.512; 5. Kevin Huntley, Daugherty 7, 11.583; 6. Chad Kemenah, Harble 15, 11.590; 7. Frankie Kerr, Shoff 23s, 11.620; 8. Kelly Kinser, Kinser 4K, 11.633; 9. Keith Kauffman, Johnson U2, 11.660; 10. Sarah Fisher, Johnson U22, 11.704; 11. Alvin Roepke, R&F 99, 11.715; 12. Joey Saldana, Mox 17, 11.719; 13. Dean Jacobs, Holbrook 8, 11.824; 14. Jim Nier, Nier 00, 11.896; 15. Danny Smith, Vielhauer 12x, 11.904; 16. Mark Keegan, Keegan X, 11.930; 17. Johnathan Stevens, Stevens 4j, 11.933; 18. Rodney Duncan, Harrison 22, 12.018; 19. John Ivy, Bogner 5I, 12.019; 20. Greg Wilson, Hampshire 63, 12.041; 21. Todd Kane, Sabo 8s, 12.066; 22. Dave Freed, Freed 8F, 12.071; 23. Van Gurley, Jr., Bible 22, 12.078; 24. Scott Jones, Jones 8J, 12.104; 25. Tim Kern, Hay 28, 12.111; 26. Rob Chaney, TBI 57, 12.132; 27. Bob Teeple, Teeple 8T, 12.149; 28. Byron Reed, B&S 5, 12.165; 29. Brian Smith, Smith 2+, 12.322; 30. Bobby Allen, Pell 1a, 12.391; 31. Ed Neumeister, Neumeister 11n, 12.454; 32. Mike Daggett, Daggett 88, 12.723; 33. Fred Boso, Javelina 7, 12.979; 34. Rodney Morgan, Morgan 21, 13.047.

United Expressline Heat (10 laps): 1. Kane 2. D. Jacobs 3. Kauffman 4. Huntley 5. Schroeder 6. Kane 7. Stevens 8. Boso 9. B. Smith.

Southwest Expressline Heat (10 laps): 1. Duncan 2. K. Jacobs 3. Fisher 4. Nier 5. Kemenah 6. Morgan 7. Allen 8. Freed 9. Chaney.

Southwest Glass Heat (10 laps): 1. Shepard 2. Gurley 3. D. Smith 4. Kerr 5. Roepke 6. Ivy 7. Neumeister 8. Teeple.

United Specialties Heat (10 laps): 1. Keegan 2. Hodnett 3. Saldana 4. Kinser 5. Reed 6. Wilson 7. Jones 8. Daggett.

Commercial Truck & Trailer Dash: (4 laps): 1. Kerr 2. Hodnett 3. Kemenah 4. K. Jacobs 5. Shepard 6. Huntley (DNF).

United Expressline B Main (12 laps): 1. Ivy 2. Wilson 3. Jones 4. Teeple 5. Chaney 6. Allen 7. Daggett 8. Neumeister 9. Boso 10. Stevens 11. B. Smith 12. Morgan 13. Kern 14. Freed (DNS).

A Main (30 laps): 1. Shepard 2. Kerr 3. Huntley 4. Kinser 5. Hodnett 6. Kemenah 7. Kauffman 8. D. Jacobs 9. K. Jacobs 10. Saldana 11. Duncan 12. D. Smith 13. Nier 14. Fisher 15. Wilson 16. Roepke 17. Teeple 18. Kane 19. Reed 20. Ivy 21. Schroeder 22. Gurley 23. Jones 24. Keegan.

Burns Electric/Frigidaire Ohio Scramble (20 laps): 1. K. Jacobs 2. D. Jacobs 3. Hodnett 4. Kane 5. Kinser 6. Kauffman 7. Saldana 8. Allen 9. Huntley 10. Kerr 11. Shepard 12. D. Smith 13. Nier 14. Ivy 15. Roepke 16. Duncan 17. Chaney 18. Kemenah 19. Keegan 20. Schroeder.

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint
Drivers Sarah Fisher , Kenny Jacobs , Chris Smith , Dean Jacobs , Joey Saldana , Greg Wil , Chad Kemenah