ALLSTAR: Allentown Results 1999-05-29

All Star Sprint Race Results - Limaland Motorsports Park, Lima, OH - Sat. 5/29/99 ALLENTOWN, OH - Put Kelly Kinser on a dry and slick racetrack and let him run the inside groove and watch what happens. Kinser started 13th in the All Star ...

All Star Sprint Race Results - Limaland Motorsports Park, Lima, OH - Sat. 5/29/99

ALLENTOWN, OH - Put Kelly Kinser on a dry and slick racetrack and let him run the inside groove and watch what happens. Kinser started 13th in the All Star sprint 40-lap feature Saturday night at Limaland Motorsports Park, and utilized his patented inside groove to win his first All Star feature of the season over Butch Schroeder and Jerrod Hull. "It kind of fell my way tonight," Kinser related, now feeling fine after a recent bout with kidney stones. "This is the first race I’ve won all year and I’m tickled to death about it." Kinser’s Stealth utilized Gaerte-Chevrolet power and rode on McCreary tires. Danny Smith started on the ButlerBuilt Motorsports Equipment Hot Seat pole position in Denny Ashworth’s No. 92 with Brad Furr outside the front row. Smith took the early lead over third starter Byron Reed with Smith using the outside groove and Reed the inside. Frankie Kerr, who started sixth, moved up on Reed by lap four and took over second in the high groove on lap five as Smith still held a commanding lead. Reed was third and Joey Saldana fourth, with Saldana moving in on Reed. Saldana and Reed ran side by side for a pair of laps before Saldana took over the third spot. Now it was lap ten, and the leader Smith headed into lapped traffic. Kerr began closing on Smith, with Saldana and Reed still battling it out for third. Saldana finally moved ahead of Reed and moved in on Kerr, slapping the outside concrete wall several times in the process. Still in heavy lapped traffic on the quarter mile, Reed moved back into contention and ducked under Kerr on lap 13 for second, but a lap later it was Saldana, Reed and Kerr battling again for the runner up spot behind Smith. All of a sudden Reed found some traction on the inside and took the lead at the halfway point, moving under Smith with Kerr third and Saldana fourth. Lap 17 saw the first caution as Saldana tried to thread the needle between Smith and the outside wall and got pinched, spinning out exiting turn four. His machine was damaged, ending his fine run. The restart order was Reed, Kerr, Smith and Dean Jacobs. Reed led in the low groove, but a lap later Kerr motored by on the outside groove to lead. Smith and Reed began battling for second, as Kerr pulled away in the high groove. Meanwhile, Kinser was now up to fourth with 18th starting Schroeder fifth. Reed lost third on lap 26 when the lapped car of Kent Wolters did a 360 degree spin in front of him, allowing Kinser to grab second and Smith third. Then Kinser ducked low under Kerr to snare the lead on lap 30. Disaster struck the second place car of Kerr and the third running Smith on lap 35 as Jason Dukes spun in turn two and was sitting sideways against the wall, with Kerr running into Dukes and Smith spinning to avoid the mess. This put the order behind Kinser as Schroeder, Jerrod Hull, who battled back after starting seventh in the Guy Webb machine, and Reed. Kerr tried to restart, but had to exit with an engine fire. Kinser ran the low groove the rest of the way with Schroeder trying the high groove to catch the leader, but he could not get close enough to make a pass for the lead and ended up second by five car lengths. Schroeder was thrilled by second, "I usually hate dry-slick tracks," he recalled. "I never floored it all night long, I just used throttle control. The track really slowed down. I just kept the car straight and it kept going forward." Hull was third for his best All Star finish of the year with Kasey Kahne fourth after starting 21st. Reed held on for fifth with Rodney Duncan sixth. Mark Keegan was seventh, with Kenny Jacobs, who got into the field as the first alternate and started last, finishing eighth. The United Expressline heat fell to Butch Schroeder, the Southwest Expressline heat to D. Jacobs, the Southwest Glass heat was won by Saldana and the United Specialties heat went to Kelly Kinser for the 44 car field. Jerrod Hull won the Commercial Truck & Trailer Dash with Greg Wilson the United Expressline B Main winner while Kerr was the Red Devil Brakes fast qualifier. Time Trials: 1. Frankie Kerr, Shoff 23s, 11.645; 2. Dean Jacobs, Holbrook 8, 11.701; 3. Joey Saldana, Mox 17, 11.920; 4. Byron Reed, B&S 5, 11.987; 5. Brad Furr, Furr 2F, 12.013; 6. Kenny Jacobs, Jacobs 6, 12.080; 7. Danny Smith, Ashworth 92, 12.081; 8. Jerrod Hull, Webb 51, 12.121; 9. Paul McMahan, W&J U2, 12.333; 10. Greg Wilson, Hampshire 63, 12.436; 11. Rodney Duncan, Harrison 22, 12.610; 12. Phil Gressman, Holbrook 8H, 12.614; 13. Brian Ellenberger, Ellenberger 20, 12.675; 14. Boston Reid, Keppel 9, 12.680; 15. Jonathan Stevens, Stevens 4J, 12.710; 16. Hud Horton, Horton 80, 12.732; 17. Kelly Kinser, Kinser 4K, 12.781; 18. Charlie Fisher, Brown 99, 12.787; 19. Kent Wolters, Wolters 12, 12.807; 20. Jason Dukes, Dukes 3, 12.868; 21. Alvin Roepke, R&F 99, 12.874; 22. Butch Schroeder, Schroeder 17, 13.007; 23. Tony Broughton, Pullins 22, 13.017; 24. Mark Keegan, Steinbrick 92, 13.049; 25. Chad Kemenah, Harble 15, 13.127; 26. Tim Kern, Hay 28, 13.132; 27. Jeff Williams, McCullough 10, 13.179; 28. Dave Freed, Freed 8F, 13.240; 29. Brian Carlson, SC Motorsports 18, 13.266; 30. Mark Imler, Imler 40, 13.277; 31. Kasey Kahne, Kahne 23K, 13.307; 32. Jimmy Stinson, Stinson 84, 13.360; 33. Grayling Call, Bump 2B, 13.376; 34. Steve Suever, Suever 36s, 13.459; 35. Mark Long, McClain 1, 13.475; 36. Fred Boso, Javelina 7, 13.560; 37. Ed Neumeister, Neumeister 11n, 13.780; 38. Tim Allison, Lotz 11x, 13.796; 39. Dennis Yoakam, Yoakam 22, 13.865; 40. James Fisher, Fisher 48, 13.975; 41. Jack Hewitt, Nickles 31, 15.822; 42. Jim Nier, Nier 00, 16.064; 43. Norton Southard, Southard 00, NT; 44. Jim Damon, Damon 50x, NT. United Expressline Heat (10 laps): 1. Schroeder 2. C. Fisher 3. McMahan 4. Kerr 5. Furr 6. Reid 7. Imler 8. Suever 9. Kern 10. Allison. DNS - Gressman. Southwest Expressline Heat (10 laps): 1. D. Jacobs 2. Wolters 3. Yoakam 4. Kahne 5. Long 6. Wilson 7. K. Jacobs 8. Stevens 9. Broughton 10. Williams 11. Southard. Southwest Glass Heat (10 laps): 1. Saldana 2. Keegan 3. Smith 4. Duncan 5. Stinson 6. Freed 7. Horton 8. J. Fisher 9. Damon 10. Dukes 11. Boso. United Specialties Heat (10 laps): 1. Kinser 2. Kemenah 3. Roepke 4. Hull 5. Ellenberger 6. Carlson 7. Hewitt 8. Neumeister 9. Call 10. Reed. Commercial Truck & Trailer Dash: (4 laps): 1. Hull 2. Furr 3. D. Jacobs 4. Saldana 5. Kerr 6. Smith. United Expressline B Main (12 laps): 1. Wilson 2. Horton 3. Reed 4. Dukes 5. K. Jacobs 6. Reid 7. Freed 8. Suever 9. Neumeister 10. Carlson 11. Stevens 12. Call 13. Williams 14. J. Fisher 15. Imler 16. Kern 17.Southard 18. Damon 19. Broughton 20. Hewitt. A Main (40 laps): 1. Kelly Kinser 2. Butch Schroeder 3. Jerrod Hull 4. Kasey Kahne 5. Byron Reed 6. Rodney Duncan 7. Mark Keegan 8. Kenny Jacobs 9. Dean Jacobs 10. Brad Furr 11. Chad Kemenah 12. Mark Long 13. Hud Horton 14. Jimmy Stinson 15. Charlie Fisher 16. Greg Wilson 17. Danny Smith 18. Alvin Roepke 19. Paul McMahan 20. Brian Ellenberger 21. Kent Wolters 22. Frankie Kerr 23. Jason Dukes 24. Joey Saldana.

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint
Drivers Brad Furr , Kasey Kahne , Jack Hewitt , Kenny Jacobs , Brian Carlson , Dean Jacobs , Joey Saldana , Paul McMahan , Jeff Williams , Boston Reid , Greg Wil , Chad Kemenah
Teams Williams