ALLSTAR: All Star Banquet Honors Kenny Jacobs

INDIANAPOLIS, IN - The All Star Circuit of Champions sprints completed their 20th season of competition in 1999, and emerging with top honors for the second consecutive year was the championship team of driver Kenny Jacobs and owner Kenny...

INDIANAPOLIS, IN - The All Star Circuit of Champions sprints completed their 20th season of competition in 1999, and emerging with top honors for the second consecutive year was the championship team of driver Kenny Jacobs and owner Kenny Jacobs Motorsports. Jacobs, in his first season as a car owner, recorded seven feature wins in the 54 race All Star season. The Banquet was held Friday evening at the Crown Plaza Hotel at Union Station in downtown Indianapolis in conjunction with the Performance Racing Industry Trade Show. The banquet opened with a season summary by emcee Mike Strevel, followed by All Star president Bert Emick, who thanked associate sponsors Warren and Butch Johnson of United Expressline and their other three businesses for their support over the years. Emick thanked everyone for a successful and exciting 1999 season and stated he was looking forward to the challenge of the year 2000 with the new weight rule, and he invited everyone to stop by the All Star booth at the PRI Show. Topping the list of awards was the presentation of the General Motors All Star Pace Truck, a 1999 Silverado extended cab 4x4 pickup truck with Vortec V-8 power, valued at over $30,000, to owner Jacobs, by Al Rasegan of the GM Powertrain Group. Jacobs also received $12,500 in cash from the All Star point fund, a new Eagle Chassis, plus he also received most of the parts from various sponsors needed to complete a show car he put together for the PRI show. Jacobs gave a nice acceptance speech, thanking all his sponsors for their support in his new endeavor. Jacobs' wife Kim was also introduced as the car owner, and thanked everyone for a great '99 season. She mentioned how far Jacobs had come since the season started without a ride, "from the lowest lows to the highest highs." Jim Spaulding of General Motors Performance Parts awarded an aluminum Chevrolet engine block to Kenny Jacobs, Junior Holbrook and hard-luck award winner Bob Hampshire. Also presented was the KSE Racing Products Rookie-of-the-Year award to Paul McMahan by Dave Moyes from KSE. McMahan received cash and a complete steering assembly. Runner-up Butch Schroeder and the other rookie candidates, Kasey Kahne, James Chesson, Brad Furr, Jonathan Stevens, Brian Ellenberger and Greg Wilson also received cash awards. Commercial Truck and Trailer congratulated Joey Saldana, winner of the Commercial Truck and Trailer Shoot-out and high points man in the Commercial Truck & Trailer Dash series. Saldana was unable to attend and was represented by his wife, Shannon. The Outerwears Company Crew Chief of the year award was presented by Steve Schussman to young Aaron Hammer of Kenny Jacobs Motorsports, who came highly recommended by Jacobs himself. Jacobs spoke on behalf of Hammer and praised him highly as an integral part of his team. Jacobs also received a new seat as the ButlerBuilt Hot Seat pole position champion with the most pole starts throughout the season. Other drivers receiving cash and contingency awards were the rest of the top ten in points, runner-up Dean Jacobs, followed by Rodney Duncan, Jerrod Hull, Saldana, Greg Wilson, McMahan, Danny Smith, Brian Carlson and Ellenberger. Owner points second through tenth were Jr. Holbrook, Harrison Trucking, Warren Johnson, Guy Webb, Steve Mox, Bob Hampshire, Denny Ashworth, Sarah Carlson Motorsports and Ellenberger. TW Metals and Joe Darmofal was also recognized as the All Stars newest points fund sponsor. Darmofal announced a significant increase in the All Star point fund for 2000. (Separate release will follow). Point fund monies in the amount of $70,000 in cash plus many contingency prizes and product certificates were presented to the top point owners and drivers. The point fund comes from Associate Sponsor United Expressline, TW Metals plus 40 other sponsors who supported the All Stars in 1999. Tire company support came from Competition Tire West, Goodyear Tire and Rubber Co., Dayton Enterprises/McCreary, Race Tires America and Hoosier Racing Tires. The contingency award sponsors were All Pro Heads, Bailey Racing Products, Brodix Cylinder Heads (with a set of heads given away in a special drawing to Jerrod Hull's owner Guy Webb), C&R Racing, Chazang Precision Racing Tools, Donovan Engineering, Eagle Chassis, Fisher Performance (with a magneto to Webb), Frankland Racing Products, Fuel Safe, Gaerte Engines, Hank's Performance Products, J&J Auto Racing (who presented a chassis to Brian Ellenberger), Kear's Speed Shop, Lunati Cams, MPD Racing, NBC Steering (who awarded a steering unit to Bob Hampshire), Outerwears Company, PRO-shocks, Red Devil Brakes, Rodeck Aluminum Blocks, Royal Publishing, Rydin Decal, Sander Engineering, Schoenfeld Headers, Simpson, Torco Racing Fuels, TW Metals and Weld Racing. Georgia Marketing and Promotions was the series C Main Sponsor with United Expressline the B Main sponsor. The banquet was attended by All Star drivers, owners, crew members and their families along with several track promoters including board member Earl Baltes, reps from the National Sprint Car Hall of Fame, Open Wheel Magazine and many All Star sponsor representatives. The emcee for the evening was Michigan racing announcer Mike Strevel. Emick concluded the evening by saying the All Star schedule for 2000 is in the works and will be released in the near future.

Final 1999 All Star Sprint Driver Points: 1. Kenny Jacobs 4219, 2. Dean Jacobs 3911, 3. Rodney Duncan 3565, 4. Jerrod Hull 3417; 5. Joey Saldana 3196; 6. Greg Wilson 3098, 7. Paul McMahan 2993; 8. Danny Smith 2948; 9. Brian Carlson 2733; 10. Brian Ellenberger 2576.

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint
Drivers Warren Johnson , Brad Furr , Kasey Kahne , James Chesson , Kenny Jacobs , Brian Carlson , Dean Jacobs , Joey Saldana , Paul McMahan , Greg Wil