ALLSTAR: 2001 Awards banquet report

All Stars Honor Kenny Jacobs at Awards Banquet INDIANAPOLIS -- Kenny Jacobs was honored as a four-time All Star champion Friday night at the All Star sprint awards banquet at the Crowne Plaza Hotel. Jacobs narrowly edged points runner-up Chad...

All Stars Honor Kenny Jacobs at Awards Banquet

INDIANAPOLIS -- Kenny Jacobs was honored as a four-time All Star champion Friday night at the All Star sprint awards banquet at the Crowne Plaza Hotel. Jacobs narrowly edged points runner-up Chad Kemenah for the title by 16 points. Jacobs drove the Jacobs/Honecker No. 6 while Kemenah campaigned for Jim Harble. In addition to his points fund check, Jacobs received a Maxim kit car and beautiful leather jacket from Chuck Merrill of Maxim Chassis. Kemenah recorded the most ButlerBuilt pole positions during the season and was also awarded a new ButlerBuilt seat. The top ten car owners and drivers received point fund checks and product awards from the All Stars and 37 series sponsors. The Jacobs team pocketed $20,000. Veteran Danny Smith ended up third in the standings in the John Baker Excavating Maxim with Ohio Speedweek champion Dean Jacobs fourth in the points. Greg Wilson ended up fifth in the final points with Travis Rilat sixth. Rilat captured the KSE Racing Products Rookie-of-the-Year title, edging Mike Wagner and Jason Johnson for the honor. Rilat received a KSE steering gear and cash for the honor from Dave Moyes of KSE. An elated Rilat gave the longest acceptance speech of the evening. Rodney Duncan was seventh while eighth in the standings was Wagner, who drove his own No. 55, ahead of Johnson. Rob Chaney and Barry Ruble, in his second full All Star season in his own No. 63r, finished in a tie for the tenth spot. In owner points, the Jacobs-Honecker team was first, with Jim Harble next followed by John Baker, Rick Daugherty, Bob Hampshire and Chris Archer. Jack Elden's No. 22 was seventh in owner points with Dean Jacobs, Jason Johnson and Rob Chaney splitting duties, with the Harrison Trucking team in eighth followed by Mike Wagner and Ruble. Guy Webb, owner of the No. 51 sprint car campaigned by Jerrod Hull in 2001, announced Smith would take over the driving duties for the 2002 campaign with his beautiful No. 51 displayed alongside Jacobs' new 2002 Maxim in the All Star booth at the PRI Trade Show. Guest speakers were Doug Auld of the new "Sprint Car and Midget Magazine," and Dave Argabright. Emcee Dave "Bash" Campbell reviewed the 2001 season, highlighting great car counts all year long, 24 different feature winners and the TV coverage through Dirt Zone. He recognized the young lions who came on strong during the year, but at the end it was the seasoned veteran Jacobs walking away with top honors. Jacobs thanked all his sponsors, especially owner/partner Tom Honecker, who could not attend. He joked about having to wear glasses to read his acceptance speech for the first time in four years, but promised to give the young lions a run for their money again next year. In other awards handed out during the evening by All Star president Bert Emick and Campbell, Gaerte Engines and Brodix were honored as sponsoring the All Stars since the series began in 1980. All Pro Cylinder Heads awarded a set of heads to Harble, and Brodix presented a set of heads to Smith's car owner John Baker. Rick Susong of Fisher Performance gave a front axle to Bob Hampshire and GM Performance Parts awarded an engine block to champion Jacobs. Aaron Hammer of the championship Jacobs/Honecker team was named Outerwears Pre-filters Crew Chief of the year and president Steve Schussman presented the award. Jacobs felt that he also owes much of his years' success to his crew chief, Hammer. "This kid is just amazing. He is so dedicated not only to the team, but the entire sport. I've seen people harass him over his age, but he's the hardest working 20-year-old I've ever met. He is absolutely invaluable to this team." QA1 Motorsports presented sets of shocks to K. Jacobs and Ruble, plus rod ends to Harble and Wagner. Saldana Tanks awarded an oil tank and fuel tank to Greg Wilson and radiator to Danny Smith. Corporate Sponsors TW Metals and Haulmark received plaques from the All Stars for their series involvement. Emick also introduced special guests, including three staff members of the NCRA, saying "We're finally able to return their hospitality after C. Ray Hall and his group put on a great steak feed for everyone during the Thunder Through the Plains tour." Bailey Racing Products and Crown Battery were the trophy sponsors for the event. All Star Video, the All Star Souvenir Trailer, Fremont Speedway, Hoosier Tire, Maxim and TW Metals provided door prizes throughout the evening. The All Stars announced their first nine Florida races for the 2002 season, Feb. 6, 2002 at Putnam Co. Speedway, Feb 7-10 at Volusia Speedway Park and Feb. 13-16 at East Bay Raceway. Emick and Jean Lynch are working on the rest of the 2002 schedule, which is similar to the 2001 schedule, with some new tracks to be added. It will be released in late January.

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Sprint
Drivers Kenny Jacobs , Dean Jacobs , Travis Rilat , Greg Wil , John Baker , Chad Kemenah , Jason Johnson