San Felipe: Round two fact sheet

2002 Tecate SCORE San Felipe 250 Fact Sheet WHAT: 16th Annual Tecate SCORE San Felipe 250 Desert Race Round 2 of the six-race 2002 Duralast SCORE Desert Series WHEN: Saturday, March 2, 2002 WHERE: San Felipe-Baja California, Mexico (120...

2002 Tecate SCORE San Felipe 250 Fact Sheet

WHAT: 16th Annual Tecate SCORE San Felipe 250 Desert Race
Round 2 of the six-race 2002 Duralast SCORE Desert Series

WHEN: Saturday, March 2, 2002

WHERE: San Felipe-Baja California, Mexico (120 miles south of U.S./Mexico Border)

WHO: Over 220 entries from 11 U.S. States, Japan and Mexico

COURSE: TOTAL MILEAGE: 227.79 miles (5 checkpoints). Appearing roughly like a flopped 'B', the course has two large separate loops joined by a high-speed graded road with a twisty, rugged long stretch on the east side adjacent to the Sea of Cortez. Course will start and finish in the shadow of the famed San Felipe Arches northwest of town, running in a counterclockwise direction. Course runs both north and south of town. The challenging course runs on the edge of the Diablo Dry Lake, at the base of the rugged San Pedro Martir Mountains and through three major washes in the area: Huatomote, Chanate,and the legendary Matomi wash. Matomi with its jagged rocks, and narrow passes between walls of rock, is considered to be 28 miles of 'Baja at its best.'


FRIDAY, March 1--(All times PST)
Racer Registration, Las Misiones Hotel, 8:30a.m.-4:30p.m.
RACE Media Registration, Las Misiones Hotel, 9a.m.-5p.m.
SCHEDULE Contingency Row/Safety Inspection, Downtown on the Malecon, 10a.m.-6p.m. Mandatory Driver/Rider Meeting, Poolside, Las Misiones Hotel, 7p.m.

SATURDAY, March 2--(all times PST)

Posting of Unofficial Results-S/F Line:
M/C & ATV 1 p.m., Cars/Trucks 4 p.m.
Competition Review Board-Las Misiones Hotel Lobby, 7p.m.
Awards Celebration, Downtown on the Malecon, 9 p.m.

START/FINISH: San Felipe Arches


SATURDAY, March 2--(all times PST)
Late Registration & Tech, start line, 5:30a.m.-8a.m.
Media Center Open, start line, 5:30 a.m.-7 p.m.
RACE STARTS: Motorcycles, ATVs-6a.m.; Cars, Trucks-7:30 a.m.
One Vehicle starts every 30 seconds.

Motorcycles/ATVs--22, 40, 30, 21, 50, 24, 25.
Cars/Trucks: TT, 1, 10, SL, PT, 8, 5, 7, 1-2/1600, 7S, 5/1600, SF, SM, 9, 3, 11.

TIME LIMIT: All vehicles will have a 10 hour time limit, from the time each vehicle starts, to cover the course. The final nine miles is a contradiction of beauty with the azure Sea of Cortez on the right with the reality of racing over narly, twisting, rock-strewn trails filled with turns.

SANCTION: Sanctioned and produced by SCORE International-Los Angeles

SPONSORS: DURALAST-title sponsor of series; BFGoodrich Tires-official tire of SCORE; Duralast Batteries-official Battery of Duralast SCORE Desert Series; Tecate Beer; Unocal 76 Racing Fuel; Bilstein; Instant Mexico Auto Insurance; Cotuco; Downey Off-Road; Signpros; Rancho, McKenzies, DirtBagz, Precision Differential & Chassis; El Dorado Ranch; P.C.I. Race Radios; Hotel Las Misiones.

Trophy-Truck: Ed & Tim Herbst, Dan Smith/Dave Ashley, Mark Post/Jerry Whelchel, Brian Collins, Damen Jefferies, Darrin Skilton, Scott Steinberger
Class 1: Dale & Mike Dondel, Troy Herbst, Corky McMillin, Mark McMillin, Steve Sourapas, Scott McMillin
Protruck: Steve Barlow, Rick Johnson, Steve Olliges
Class 1-2/1600: Mitch Griffin, Kash Vessels
Class 5: George Seeley Jr.
Class 7: Craig Turner
Class 7S: Doug Siewert/Cory Susag, Dan Fresh
Class 8: NickVanderwey, Clive Skilton/Curt LeDuc, Thomas Greer
Class 10: Mark Hutchins, Martin Christensen, Chris Harrold, Ron Dalke, Eli Yee
SCORE Lites: Jerry Penhall, Vic Bruckmann, David DeAtley, Jeff Kawell
Class 22: Steve Hengeveld/Johnny Campbell.

CLASSES: The Tecate SCORE San Felipe 250 Desert Race features 24 Pro & 5 Sportsman classes for cars, trucks, motorcycles and ATVs. Class winners will be decided along with the overall race winner in Pro 4-Wheel and Pro Motorcycle.

Pro Class Descriptions:

Cars & Trucks
TROPHY-TRUCK (Unlimited Production Trucks)
CLASS 1 (Unlimited single or two-seaters)
PROTRUCK (Limited Production Trucks)
CLASS 1-2/1600 (single or two-seaters to 1600cc)
CLASS 3 (Short wheelbase 4X4)
CLASS 3I (International, Short wheelbase 4X4)
CLASS 5 (Unlimited Baja Bugs)
CLASS 5/1600 (1600cc Baja Bugs)
CLASS 7 (Open mini trucks)
CLASS 7S (Stock mini trucks)
CLASS 8 (Full-sized two-wheel drive trucks)
CLASS 9 (Short wheelbase, single or two-seaters)
CLASS 10 (Single or two-seaters to 1650cc)
SCORE LITE (Limited single-1776cc-or two-seaters-1835cc)
CLASS 11 (Stock VW Sedans)
STOCK MINI (Stock mini trucks)
STOCK FULL (Stock full-sized trucks)

CLASS 21 (126cc to 250cc)
CLASS 22 (250cc or more)
CLASS 30 (Riders over 30 years old)
CLASS 40 (Riders over 40 years old)
CLASS 50 (Riders over 50 years old)

CLASS 24 (250cc or less)
CLASS 25 (251cc or more)


Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Score
Drivers Curt LeDuc , Damen Jefferies , Mark Post , Tim Herbst , Mark McMillin , Scott McMillin , Troy Herbst , Johnny Campbell