San Felipe: Round two draw notes

Sohren in SCORE Trophy-Truck, Bell in Motorcycles draw first starting slots for 22nd Tecate SCORE San Felipe 250 Billy Gasper receives first Class 1 start as over 250 entries expected in popular March 15 desert race in Mexico LOS ...

Sohren in SCORE Trophy-Truck, Bell in Motorcycles draw first starting slots for 22nd Tecate SCORE San Felipe 250

Billy Gasper receives first Class 1 start as over 250 entries expected in popular March 15 desert race in Mexico

LOS ANGELES--Arizona veteran desert racer Pete Sohren and Southern California's rising star Robby Bell received the pole positions for four-wheel and two-wheel vehicles in the computerized drawing for starting positions held Friday for the upcoming 22nd Annual Tecate SCORE San Felipe 250. Sohren races in the featured SCORE Trophy-Truck division while Bell competes in Class 22 for open motorcycles.

Round 2 of the 2008 SCORE Desert Series will be held March 15 in Mexico's quaint and picturesque fishing village of San Felipe, located on the East side of the Baja California peninsula along the azure waters of the tranquil Sea of Cortez. SCORE is returning to San Felipe for the first time since 2006 as last year's race was moved to Ensenada just 10 days before the start because of political issues in San Felipe out of SCORE's control.

With over 250 entries expected to compete in 28 Pro and 6 Sportsman classes in the 232 mile race, the green flag will drop at 6 a.m. on Saturday, March 15, for the motorcycle and ATV classes, followed by the car and truck classes at approximately 9:30 a.m. The start line for the race will once again be the landmark San Felipe Arches on Highway 5 on the outskirts of San Felipe. The race will finish just south of the Arches, directly behind the Tecate building.

The official course map is posted on

Following January's season-opening SCORE Laughlin Desert Challenge, America's Foremost Desert Racing Series will visit Mexico for the first of three races in 2008.

Drawing the first starting slot for the unlimited Class 1 open-wheel desert race cars was defending season point champion Billy Gasper, Chino Hills, Calif. Riding the first ATV off the line will be defending SCORE Overall ATV and Class 25 point Champion Danny Prather, Ramona, Calif.

Sohren, 43, of Glendale, Ariz., is a veteran SCORE desert racer who has won Class 5 (unlimited VW Baja Bugs) twice in this race (1997 and 2001). He now drives the No. 2 Ford F-150 SCORE Trophy-Truck, finishing eighth in season points last year after a solid fourth-place finish in the 40th Tecate SCORE Baja 1000.

With 18 entries so far in the class for 800 horsepower, unlimited production trucks, Sohren will lead a strong field in SCORE Trophy-Truck that features many of the world's top desert racers.

Bell, 22, of Sun City, Calif., who has won the overall and Class 22 title in this race the past two years will team with legendary SCORE Baja racer Johnny Campbell, 37, San Clemente, Calif., riding the No. 1x Johnny Campbell Racing Honda CRF450X.

In Friday's computerized drawing, SCORE Trophy-Truck and Class 1 had the most entries with 18 each, followed SCORE Lite with 15, Class 1-2/1600 with 14 and Class 5/1600 with 10. Late registration will be accepted up until race morning and as many as 60 additional entries are expected.

Among the Pro Motorcycle classes, Class 22 (open) had 11 entries and Class 30 (riders 30 years and over) had nine entries. Leading the Pro ATV entries in the drawing was Class 25 (open) with 11.

Gasper, 40, who won last season's SCORE Class 1 season point championship with his brother Dave, will drive the No. 100 Chevy-powered Porter open-wheel desert race car in Class 1.

Helping Prather, 27, lead the ATV entries off the line in a Honda TRX450R will be riding mates Mike Cafro, 37, Bonsall, Calif., Levi Marana, 22, Hemet, Calif., and Chad Prull, 32, Laveen, Ariz.

Besides Sohren, the SCORE Trophy-Truck field includes defending race and 2007 SCORE Overall and SCORE Trophy-Truck point champion Mark Post, Laguna Beach, Calif./Rob MacCachren, Las Vegas, in the No. 1 Rivera Racing Ford F-150 and 2006 overall and SCORE Trophy-Truck race winner Garron Cadiente, Mesa, Ariz., in the No. 38 G&R Racing Ford F-150.

Post also won the overall in this race two times with veteran Jerry Whelchel, Portola Hills, Calif. as his second driver (1998 in Class 1 and 2004 in SCORE Trophy-Truck) while MacCachren won the overall in this race in 2004 as the second driver from Gus Vildosola, Mexicali, Mexico.

"This is a really cool deal to be the first vehicle to start the race," said the affable Sohren, known for his long "mullet" hair and quick tongue as much as his driving skills. "I've been in the back of the pack so much, I'm not sure I will be able to handle all the clean air in front of me. I love racing in Mexico and the Tecate SCORE San Felipe 250 is an awesome race and I'm glad we're able to return there this year. I'm so pumped right now I hope I still have some adrenalin left on race day."

Among the other racers to draw first starting position in their respective classes were: Steve Mamer, Holtville, Calif. (SCORE Lite, Raceco-VW), Brent Parkhouse, Long Beach, Calif. (Class 1-2/1600, Mirage-VW), and Pedro Athie, Ensenada, Mexico (Class 5/1600, VW Baja Bug).

Pre-race festivities at the Tecate SCORE San Felipe 250 will include the colorful SCORE Midway and tech inspection on the Malecon beachfront in downtown alongside the azure waters of the Sea of Cortez from 10 a.m. until 6 p.m. on Friday (March 14).

At 10 a.m. on Sunday (March 16), the awards celebration will be held in front of The Beachcomber Night Club on the Malecon.

The 2008 SCORE Desert Series also includes the chase for the $20,000 Volkswagen Point Leader Bonus and the run for the Toyota Milestone Awards.

The race annually provides a greater economic impact to San Felipe than the entire month-long 'Spring Break'.


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Score
Drivers Rob MacCachren , Mark Post , Johnny Campbell