Primm 300 draw summary

Round 4 of 2008 SCORE Desert Series Bill Varnes draws first start in SCORE Trophy-Truck For next month's 13th SCORE Terrible's Primm 300 SCORE's 35th season continues Sept. 5-7 with nearly 150 entries expected in 18 Pro & 2 Sportsman classes for...

Round 4 of 2008 SCORE Desert Series
Bill Varnes draws first start in SCORE Trophy-Truck For next month's 13th SCORE Terrible's Primm 300

SCORE's 35th season continues Sept. 5-7 with nearly 150 entries expected in 18 Pro & 2 Sportsman classes for cars and trucks

LOS ANGELES--Noted chassis builder Bill Varnes of Santee, Calif., has drawn the first starting position in the featured SCORE Trophy-Truck division in the computerized drawing for start positions for next month's 13th Annual SCORE Terrible's Primm 300 desert race. Round 4 of the five-race 2008 SCORE Desert Series will be held Sept. 5-7 in Primm, Nev.

In a sport where there is no qualifying or open pre-running (in the U.S.), the drawing for start positions has added significance and Varnes' No. 74 MasterCraft Racing Ford F-150 SCORE Trophy-Truck was selected randomly in Friday's computerized drawing at the SCORE Int'l headquarters in Los Angeles.

The 13th Annual SCORE Terrible's Primm 300 will feature 18 Pro and 2 Sportsman classes for cars and trucks in Primm, located 45 miles south of Las Vegas at the California border. This year's starting grid is expected to reach nearly vehicles. Late entries will be accepted up until race morning.

For the seventh consecutive year, the race will be split into two groups with the open wheel, slower truck and VW baja bug classes starting at 6 a.m. The faster truck classes, including the featured SCORE Trophy-Truck division along with the unlimited Class 1 open-wheel desert race cars, will start at 1 p.m. One vehicle will start every 30 seconds in the elapsed-time race.

The main pits and start/finish area for the 72.0-mile loop course will be located behind Buffalo Bills Resort on the North side of the property. The faster classes will run four laps around the course while the slower ones will be required to run either three or two laps within the seven-hour time limit to become official finishers.

A total of 19 SCORE Trophy-Trucks, were entered in time for the start draw, and the high-tech, 800-horsepower unlimited production trucks will lead the afternoon group into the Southern Nevada desert.

The first vehicle to leave the start line in the morning portion of the event will be Class 10 vehicle driven by the Las Vegas team of Michael Wichmann/Rick Lance, in a Volkswagen-powered Chenowth open-wheel desert race car.

Seven of last year's 16 class winners have entered so far, including four of last year's top five overall finishers.

"This should be fun, but I'm glad I know how to move over in the desert," said Varnes, 61, who owns the Mirage chassis manufacturing company. "These SCORE Trophy-Trucks are incredible racing machines and I am looking forward to being behind the wheel of one in a SCORE race. There are some really fast trucks and Class 1 cars behind me and I will have no problem pulling over for them. But they have to catch me first."

Varnes' co-driver for the race will be Dan Fogle, 50, of Palmdale, Calif.

Starting behind the 19 SCORE Trophy-Trucks will be the unlimited Class 1 for open-wheel desert race cars, which also had 19 entries in the start draw. In the first 12 years of the SCORE Las Vegas Primm 300, SCORE Trophy-Trucks have eight Overall race wins while Class 1 has four. SCORE Trophy-Trucks have won five straight overall titles.

Drawing the first starting spot in Class 1 was the All-German Auto team of World Rally Championship veteran Armin Schwarz of Germany and Martin Christensen of Escondido, Calif. in the No. 101 BMW-powered Jimco open-wheel desert race car. Class 1 winners in this year's Tecate SCORE San Felipe 250 in March, the Schwarz/Christensen team is currently fifth in Class 1 season points.

Eric Solorzano, Tijuana, Mexico, has the most class wins in the SCORE Terrible's Primm 300. Solorzano has won Class 11 in eight of the first 12 years of this race in a VW Sedan. Donald Moss, Sacramento, Calif., is third on the all-time list with five Class 3 wins in a Ford Bronco, including the last four straight years.

Garron Cadiente, Mesa, Ariz., returns as the defending overall and SCORE Trophy-Truck winner in the No. 38 G&R Racing Ford F-150 and he drew the 17th starting position in the class.

Behind SCORE Trophy-Truck and Class 1 (19 entries each), the classes with the most entries in time for the drawing were: SCORE Lite (13) and Class 1-2/1600 (12).

The highly-competitive 2008 SCORE Desert Series has 20 racers separated by just 48 points in the Overall standings after the 14th SCORE Laughlin Desert Challenge, 22nd Tecate SCORE San Felipe 250 and 40th Tecate SCORE Baja 500 desert races.

Among the other racers drawing first starting positions for this race is Adam Pfankuch, Carlsbad, Calif, who will lead Class 1-2/1600 in the No. 1601 1600cc Mirage-VW. Pfankuch, who has won his class twice this season, leads not only his class, but is the 2008 SCORE Overall point leader after the first three races of the season.

Pre-race festivities on Friday, Sept. 5, for the SCORE Terrible's Primm 300, including tech and contingency and the SCORE Manufacturer's Midway, will be held from 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. behind Buffalo Bill's Resort. The post-race awards celebration will be held at 10 a.m. on Sunday (Sept. 7) in the conference center at Terrible's Primm Valley Resort.

The 2008 SCORE Desert Series also includes the chase for the $20,000 Volkswagen Point Leader Bonus and the run for the Toyota Milestone Awards for car and truck racers who complete every required mile of the season.

-credit: score international

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Score
Drivers Armin Schwarz