Laughlin: Draw day report

SCORE Trophy-Truck to qualify for start slots; Ra. Wilson draws First Class 1 Start for 16th SCORE Laughlin Desert Challenge Field Includes Rob MacCachren in two classes, defending season SCORE, Class champions Ra. Wilson, Duran Bros, H....

SCORE Trophy-Truck to qualify for start slots; Ra. Wilson draws First Class 1 Start for 16th SCORE Laughlin Desert Challenge

Field Includes Rob MacCachren in two classes, defending season SCORE, Class champions Ra. Wilson, Duran Bros, H. Steele, Chamlee, Stacy, Lawrence, Matney and Lang;Pre-race festivities include $16,000 SCORE Laughlin Leap & SCORE Trophy-Truck Qualifying on Jan. 15

LOS ANGELES--While Arizona's Nick Vanderwey received the first qualifying spot for the featured SCORE Trophy-Truck division, Southern California desert racer Randy Wilson got his New Year's wish as he receive the first starting spot in the unlimited Class 1 in this week's computerized drawing for starting positions for this month's 16th Annual SCORE Laughlin Desert Challenge. The drawing was held Wednesday at SCORE's Los Angeles headquarters.

For the 16th straight year, motorsports fans and racers from across the United States, Mexico, Austria, Denmark and Germany will gather in Laughlin, Nev., the desert resort town near the shores of the Colorado River, for the popular SCORE Laughlin Desert Challenge. The first major motorsports event of the year will be held Jan. 15017, launching the five-race 2010 SCORE Desert Series, the World's Foremost Desert Racing Series.

With late entries accepted until race morning, among the other desert racing stars entered in the drawing was six-time Laughlin class winner Rob MacCachren, Las Vegas (SCORE Trophy-Truck and Class 1-2/1600) as well as 2009 SCORE class champions Randy Wilson, Long Beach, Calif. (Class 1), Duran brothers Hiram and Eric, Tecate, Calif. (Class 1-2/1600), Heidi Steele, San Clemente, Calif. (Class 6), Dan Chamlee, Carpenteria, Calif. (Class 7), Clyde Stacy, Bristol, Va. (Class 8), Mike Lawrence, Banning, Calif. (Class 10), Brent Parkhouse, Long Beach, Calif. (SCORE Lite), Justin Matney, Bristol, Tenn. (Stock Full), Peter Lang, Santa Rosa, Calif. (Sportsman Car) and Joe Aguayo, San Jacinto, Calif. (Sportsman Truck).

Besides Vanderwey and MacCachren, among the other regulars who were also officially entered in time for the drawing in SCORE Trophy-Truck (24 entries to date) were Andy McMilllin, Mark McMillin, Roger Norman, Cameron Steele, Gus Vildosola, Damen Jefferies, Bobby Baldwin, Robbie Pierce, Pete Sohren, Bill McBeath, Ed Stout, Adam Householder and Gary Weyhrich.

Defending SCORE Trophy-Truck season champion Robby Gordon has entered his father Bob Gordon in the No. 1 Team Gordon Chevy CK1500 as Robby is racing in the Dakar Rally which ends on the final day of the SCORE Laughlin Desert Challenge. Robby Gordon has announced plans to run the balance of the season as the second driver with his veteran desert-racing father.

Nearly 125 expected entries will compete in 19 classes for cars and trucks for nearly $300,000 in prize money and contingency postings during the four-day SCORE Laughlin Desert Challenge.

Besides Randy Wilson among the other SCORE regulars who have officially entered in Class 1 (20 entries to date)are: Ronny Wilson, Armin Schwarz, Brian Parkhouse, Pat Dean and Harley Letner.

MacCachren, whose Laughlin wins include SCORE Trophy-Truck in 1996 and both Class 1-2/1600 and SCORE Lite in 2004, will start eighth in Class 1-2/1600 (17 entries to date).

With 19 classes divided into five groups, the single race is divided into multi-lap segments split over two days. Starting at 7 a.m. on both Saturday and Sunday (Jan. 16-17), the featured SCORE Trophy-Truck division will run 8 laps over the 6.25-mile course at 1 p.m. each day followed by the unlimited Class 1 open-wheel desert race cars that will run their 8 laps at 3 p.m. each day. The combined elapsed time and number of laps completed from both days will determine the final finishing position for each vehicle. Two vehicles will leave the start line every 15 seconds.

Daily general admission tickets, good for grandstand seating, are $20 each per day for Friday, Saturday and Sunday, children 10 and under are free. Daily VIP tickets are $40 each per day for the each day, good for admission to the Laughlin Hospitality Chalet, including food, beverage and special seating.

Returning to the stadium seating area once again will be the immensely popular SCOREvision Large-screen LCD display, showing live footage from virtually the entire race course.

Tickets, priced at $5 each per person, will also be available each race day (Jan. 16-17) for 'SCORE Hill', which overlooks the infield, start/finish area and the main pits. The SCORE Hill will have grandstands and standing room areas along with vendors, concessions and the other public safety services available. Grandstand GA tickets also have access to SCORE Hill during the two race days.

The Laughlin Tourism Commission is also selling three-day general admission passes for $50 and three-day VIP passes for $100. With the purchase of a general admission or VIP ticket, spectators can also buy pit passes for an additional $10 per day.

The newest spectator area, opened in 2008 adjacent to Laughlin High School off of Cougar Drive, allows entry at $10 per vehicle, as space allows, to the backside of the course with a view of much of the 6.25-mile loop. Tickets for the Laughlin High spectator area will be available only on each day of racing (Jan. 16-17) at the entrance off of Cougar Drive.

One of the event's most popular features, the SCORE Laughlin Leap, revs up the fun and helps get the weekend off. Moved to a new day, the SCORE Laughlin Leap will be held at 7 p.m. on Friday (Jan. 15). The SCORE Laughlin Leap will start with a fireworks display.

Drivers will enjoy the spotlight at the Laughlin Events Park, competing for a $16,000 purse and the honor of beating the 2009 champions. The SCORE Laughlin Leap, a dirt ramp built into the middle of the stadium portion of the race course, challenges the most daring of drivers. This year's competitors will be attempting to break the event record in the SCORE Laughlin Leap of 161' 6" set this past January by Larry Roeseler in the Norman Motorsports Ford F-150.

For the second straight year, qualifying for starting positions for the marquee SCORE Trophy-Truck division will be held the Friday (Jan. 15) before the race. With free admission to the grandstand seating area, SCORE Trophy-Truck qualifying will be held from 1:30 p.m. to 3:30 p.m. and each truck will be timed over one solo lap of the 6.25-mile course to determine the start order in that class for Saturday's first half of the race.

-source: score

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Score
Drivers Robby Gordon , Rob MacCachren , Damen Jefferies , Armin Schwarz , Larry Roeseler , Mark McMillin , Heidi Steele