Baja 1000 final round of series

Ashley/Smith Duo Lead Trophy-Truck Las Vegas' MacCachren Maintains Class 1-2/1600 Overall Point Leads in 2001 Duralast SCORE Desert Series Final Round -- 34th Annual Tecate SCORE Baja 1000, Nov. 8-11 LOS ANGELES--Despite fierce competition...

Ashley/Smith Duo Lead Trophy-Truck
Las Vegas' MacCachren Maintains Class 1-2/1600
Overall Point Leads in 2001 Duralast SCORE Desert Series

Final Round -- 34th Annual Tecate SCORE Baja 1000, Nov. 8-11

LOS ANGELES--Despite fierce competition from the world's best desert racers, Las Vegas' Rob MacCachren continues to lead the overall point standings after the recent SCORE Las Vegas Primm 300, Round 4 of the five-race 2001 Duralast SCORE Desert Series. MacCachren, a second-generation Southern Nevada desert racer, has won Class 1-2/1600 in his VW-powered Fraley race car three times so far, marking his first SCORE races in the 1600cc class since his rookie season in 1983.

At the 6th SCORE Las Vegas Primm 300 on Sept. 15, MacCachren, 36, finished won the competitive class which featured 17 out of 139 total starters in the 17 classes for cars and trucks which competed in the fourth race of the season in America's Foremost Desert Racing Series.

SCORE points are determined both on final finishing position and number of vehicles which started the race within the individual class.

With two straight class wins, the team of David Ashley/Dan Smith are leading the points in the featured SCORE Trophy-Truck division in their Duralast Ford F-150. The Ashley/Smith duo, both of Riverside, Calif., came from behind for the second straight race to defeat the Ford F-150 of Las Vegas brothers Tim and Ed Herbst. Ashley, 44, and Smith, 37, have been consistent this year, finishing second in Laughlin, third in San Felipe before winning the Tecate SCORE Baja 500 in June prior to the SCORE Las Vegas Primm 300. The Herbst brothers, who endured transmission problems in the Ford F-150 for the second straight race, are second in SCORE Trophy-Truck points.

MacCachren, the 1994 SCORE Trophy-Truck season champion who has driven in four different SCORE truck classes as well as two open-wheel car classes, has raced primarily in a Midwestern short-course series since 1997 with limited appearances on the SCORE circuit. At the SCORE Las Vegas Primm 300, run over the same Southern Nevada desert he began his career 20 years ago, he dominated the race, winning by nearly 22 minutes.

Las Vegas area racers currently hold the top three spots in the SCORE overall point standings. While MacCachren sits on top of the overall and Class 1-2/1600 SCORE standings with 238 points, second overall and first in the unlimited Class 1 with 227 points is Troy Herbst while third overall and first in Class 10 is Danny Anderson with 207 points.

The four-time defending class champion, Herbst, 35, the youngest of the three racing Herbst brothers, won his first race of the year in Primm, driving the Terrible Herbst Motorsports' Ford-powered Smithbuilt open-wheel desert race car to the overall victory as well. Anderson, also picking up his first class win of the year in Primm, moved to the top of the Class 10 point standings in his Toyota-powered Jimco. He won SCORE Class 10 in 1999.

Fourth overall and second in Class 1, with 203 points, is Steve Sourapas, Rancho Santa Fe, Calif., who has one win, a fourth, a fifth, and a 17th in his Chevy-powered Jimco open-wheel desert race car.

Fifth overall, second in Class 1-2/1600 with 199 points is Kash Vessels, 21, Oceanside, Calif., the second-generation desert racer who captured his first class win at the Tecate SCORE Baja 500 in a VW-powered Chenowth.

A total of just 18 points separate fifth through 10th place in the Duralast SCORE Desert Series overall point standings. Sixth overall is Jeff Quinn, Irvine, Calif. (Second in Class 1) with 194 points in a Porsche-powered Jimco.

Class 10 racers Chris Harrold, Steve Myers and Mark Hutchins hold the next three spots. Seventh overall with 186 points is Harrold, Chula Vista, Calif. (Second in Class 10, Honda-powered Jimco), while eighth is Myers, Newport Beach, Calif. (Third in Class 10, Toyota-powered Jimco) with 181 points and ninth is Hutchins, Henderson, Nev. (Fourth in Class 10, Toyota-Jimco) with 177 points. Tied for 10th overall and tied for the SCORE Lite class point lead with 176 points each are Dennis Boyle, Ridgecrest, Calif. (VW-powered Mirage), and Kory Halopoff, Orange, Calif. (VW-powered Comfort Chassis).

Among the other class point leaders after the SCORE Las Vegas Primm 300 are: Cory Susag, Dana Point, Calif. (Class 7S, Chevy S-10); George Seeley Jr., Glendale, Calif. (Class 5, VW Baja Bug); Allan Gregory, Alpine, Calif. (Class 5/1600, VW Baja Bug); Richard Hoffman, Lake Forest, Ill. (Chevy C1500), and Scott Steinberger, Cypress, Calif. (Ford F-150), (Tied in Protruck/SS/Truck); Cisco Bio, Spring Valley, Calif. (Class 9, VW-powered Tubular Design); John Griffin, Mission Viejo, Calif. (Stock Full, AM General Hummer); Dr. Macrae Glass, Kingman, Ariz. (Stock Mini, Ford Ranger); Clive Skilton, Orange, Calif., (Class 3I, Jeep Grand Cherokee); Steve Hengeveld, Oak Hills, Calif. (Class 22, Honda XR650 motorcycle) and John Gregory, Chula Vista, Calif. (Class 25, Honda ATV).

Bio, another second-generation desert racer, is the only undefeated SCORE car of racer this season, having won all four races in Class 9. Hengeveld has won both SCORE motorcycle races this year.

The SCORE Las Vegas Primm 300 was taped for airing as a one-hour special on the Speedvision Network by Shoemaker Productions. The first airings are set for Saturday, Oct. 27 at 7 p.m. and 11 p.m. (PDT).

The 2001 Duralast SCORE Desert Series concludes with the 34th Annual Tecate SCORE Baja 1000 desert race, Nov. 8-11. Run in Baja California, the granddaddy of all desert races will start and finish in Ensenada, Mexico.

For more information, contact SCORE at its Los Angeles headquarters (818) 225-8402 or visit the official website of the Duralast SCORE Desert Series at


Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Score
Drivers Rob MacCachren , Steve Hengeveld , Steve Myers , Troy Herbst