SOLO: Topeka Solo Nationals Thursday summary

34 More Soloists Lead Into the Clubhouse With One More Day To Go In SCCA Solo Nationals TOPEKA, Kan. (Sept. 28, 2006) - With only one day remaining in The Tire Rack (r) SCCA Solo National Championships, 34 drivers can rest with...

34 More Soloists Lead Into the Clubhouse With One More Day To Go In SCCA Solo Nationals

TOPEKA, Kan. (Sept. 28, 2006) - With only one day remaining in The Tire Rack (r) SCCA Solo National Championships, 34 drivers can rest with some confidence, while the remaining 500+ competitors will scramble to find speed for Friday's final runs.

Many competitors arrived early to watch the Tuesday-Wednesday classes and learn from their fellow Soloists about the brand new asphalt surface at Heartland Park Topeka. Despite the new pavement, there were few surprises, as several multi-time Champions proved that no matter what the surface, the cream always rises to the top.

Kyung Wootton, of Austin, Texas, got off to a great start in search of her sixth-straight C Stock Ladies title, leading the field in her "Thanks Trent and Miles" Pontiac Solstice by 0.427-second. Shelbi Zigler, of Bothell, Wash., was second on the day.

The closest battle on Thursday was in E Prepared, where Matthew Pettus, of Anna, Ohio, was just 0.011-second faster than Tom Ellam, of Livermore, Calif. Pettus hopes to carry his Hart Racing Team Honda Civic Si to his first-ever Solo National Championship, while Ellam hopes his Mazda RX3 carries him to a fifth title.

In the largest class of the week, and running in the final heat all alone, is Super Stock, where Matthew Braun, of Northville, Mich., led the pack of 61 cars in his PowerPlug Lotus Elise. Alek Tziortzis, of Palataine, Ill., was second in a Corvette, 0.254-second behind.

Other drivers leading in an attempt to defend their respective 2005 titles included Karter Bollmann, of Houston, Texas, in H Stock; Katie Elder, of Folsom, Calif., (STSL); Jodi Fordahl, of Bremerton, Wash., (ESL); Danielle Engstrom, of Frankfort, Ill., (CSPL); Beverlee Larsson, of Anaheim, Calif., (DSPL); Kevin Wenzel, of Denver, Colo., (FSP); Angela Moffet, of Puyallup, Wash., (SM2L); Lisa Krueger, of Midland, Mich., (FSPL); and Kiersten Scharnberg-Koch, of Stilwell, Kan., (BML).

Friday's action gets underway at 8 a.m. (CDT) as the classes switch courses from West to East and East to West. Today's best times, along with Friday's, will be added together to determine the class Champion.

For complete results from the event, please visit

Top two runners in each of the 38 classes competing Tuesday and Wednesday in the 34th Tire Rack SCCA Solo National Championships at Heartland Park Topeka with class, leading driver, hometown and car; second place driver, hometown, car and gap behind first place.

Super Stock: Matthew Braun, Northville, Mich,, Lotus Elise; 2, Alek Tziortzis, Palatine, Ill., Corvette, -0.254 sec.

Super Stock L: Lori Robertson, Chino Hills, Calif., Corvette; 2, Carolyn Slocum, Austin, Texas, Corvette, -1.069 sec.

C Stock: Kevin Dietz, Seattle, Wash., Pontiac Solstice; 2, Darrin DiSimo, Coral Springs, Fla., Mazda Miata, -0.636 sec.

C Stock L: Kyung Wooton, Austin, Texas, Pontiac Solstice; 2, Shelbi Zigler, Bothell, Wash., Pontiac Solstice, -0.427 sec.

E Stock: Bryan Heitkotter, Fresno, Calif., Toyota MR2; 2, Robert Carpenter, Knoxville, Tenn., Toyota MR2, -0.259 sec.

E Stock L: Jodi Fordahl, Bremerton, Wash., Porsche 944; 2, Meredith Brown, Los Alamos, N.M., Toyota MR2, -0.583 sec.

H Stock: Karter Bollmann, Houston, Texas, Mini Cooper; 2, Mark McKnight, Waterton, Wis., Mazda 3, -0.166 sec.

H Stock L: Kristi Brown, Des Moines, Iowa, Mini Cooper; 2, Donna Frank, Durham, N.C., Mini Cooper, -0.268 sec

Street Touring S: Jason Frank, Racine, Wis.; 2, Jason Rhoades, San Diego, Calif., Nissan 240SX, -0.770 sec.

Street Touring S L: Katie Elder, Folsom, Calif., Honda Civic; 2, Julie Avard, Topeka, Kan., Honda Civic, -0.887 sec.

Street Touring S2: Andrew Canak, Waterford, Mich., Mazda Miata; 2, Andy Hollis, Austin, Texas, Mazda Miata, -0.552 sec.

Street Touring S2 L: Megan Young, Milwaukee, Wis., Mazda Miata; 2, Michelle Seelig, Edmond, Okla., Honda CRX, -0.077 sec.

C Street Prepared: Matt McCabe, Omaha, Neb., Mazda Miata; 2, Steven Mieritz, Fort Wayne, Ind., Honda CRX, -0.351 sec.

C Street Prepared L: Danielle Engstrom, Frankfort, Ill., Toyota MR2; 2, Kathy Wolfskill, Nederland, Colo., Mazda Miata, -0.760 sec.

D Street Prepared: Alex Schipkov, Albany, N.Y., BMW 325i; 2, Mike Shields, Temple, N.H., BMW 325is, -0.234 sec.

D Street Prepared L: Beverlee Larsson, Anaheim, Calif., BMW 325is; 2, Tina DePietro, N. Olmsted, Ohio, Subaru Impreza, -1.726 sec.

F Street Prepared: Kevin Wenzel, Denver, Colo., VW Scirocco; 2, Geoffrey Zimmer, Concord, N.C., VW Rabbit, -0.658 sec.

F Street Prepared L: Lisa Krueger, Midland, Mich., VW Rabbit; 2, Denise Kugler, Springtown, Pa., Honda, -1.088 sec.

Street Modified 2: Erik Strelnieks, Austin, Texas, Mazda RX7; Andrew McKee, San Jose, Calif., Mazda RX7, -0.343 sec.

Street Modified 2 L: Angela Moffett, Puyallup, Wash., Corvette; 2, Barbara Leroy-Boehme, San Diego, Toyota MR2; -0.661 sec.

C Prepared: Todd Farris, of College Station, Texas, Camaro; 2, Darrel Padberg, Muskego, Wis., Ford Mustang, -0.376 sec.

C Prepared L: Desiree Padberg, Muskego, Wis., Ford Mustang; 2, Elizabeth Berger, Kansas City, Kan., Ford Mustang, -0.043 sec.

E Prepared: Matthew Pettus, Anna, Ohio, Honda Civic Si; 2, Tom Ellam, Livermore, Calif., Mazda RX3, -0.011 sec.

E Prepared L: Kathy Barnes, Tolland, Conn., Honda Civic; 2, Jennifer Lee, Kailua, Hawaii, Mazda RX3, -0.381 sec.

F Prepared: John Thomas, Tampa, Fla., Datsun 240Z; 2, Radomin Delgado, Edison, N.J., Porsche 911 GT3, -0.370 sec.

F Prepared L: Stephanie Chang, Morris Plains, N.J., Porsche 911; 2, Paula Baker, Magna, Utah, Lotus Elise, -1.200 sec.

A Modified: Todd Bowland, Huntersville, N.C., BBR; 2, G.R. Bowland, Mill Spring, N.C., BBR, -0.111 sec.

A Modified L: Jenny Smith, Canal Winchester, Ohio, Prototype; No other competitors.

B Modified: Tommy Saunders, Southlake, Texas, Dragon; 2, Stuart Lumpkin, McKinney, Texas, Dragon, -0.106 sec.

B Modified L: Kiersten Scharnberg-Koch, Stilwell, Kan., Ralt; 2, Janis Hernandez, N. Richland Hills, Pocket Rocket, -3.763 sec.

C Modified: Gary Godula, Farmington Hills, Mich., Reynard; 2, John Engstrom, Frankfort, Ill., Swift, -0.808 sec.

C Modified L: Stacey Sawyer, Rindge, N.H., Reynard; 2, Linda Smiley, Dayton, Ohio, Tiga, -0.820 sec.

Formula SAE: Robert Woods, Arlington, Texas, FSAE; 2, Erick Kohler, Arlington, Texas, FSAE, -0.381 sec.

Formula SAE L: Gretchen Christenson, Lawrence, Kan., FSAE; No other competitors

-credit: scca

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series SCCA
Drivers Bryan Heitkotter