SOLO: Tire Rack ProSolo - Peru report

PERU, InSteve Mieritz took his C-Street Prepared Honda CRX all the way to the Peavey Super Challenge win in the final regular season Tire Rack SCCA ProSolo event. Mieritz defeated Corvette guru Roger Johnson in the final to take his first win of...

PERU, InSteve Mieritz took his C-Street Prepared Honda CRX all the way to the Peavey Super Challenge win in the final regular season Tire Rack SCCA ProSolo event. Mieritz defeated Corvette guru Roger Johnson in the final to take his first win of the season. The win moved Mieritz to within six points of Peavey Super Challenge points leaders John Ames and Erik Strelnieks. Both Bob Tunnell and Brian Garfield had an opportunity to draw even with the points leaders however Garfield exited the challenge after a red-light start against Lee Piccione while Tunnell was defeated on time by eventual winner Mieritz.

The runoff round featured an E-Stock rematch between winner Piccione and third place finisher Jeff Cashmore. Cashmore survived one of the most bizarre challenge rounds of the season while facing off against Brad Lamont. The two ran a dead heat on the first side and then Cashmore casually approached the staging lights, finally breaking the pre-stage light with only a few seconds to spare. Cashmore then ripped a .504 reaction time to the .509 of Lamont and advanced to the next round. Piccione ended up in the runoff round after loosing to Johnson in the semifinal. Piccione went on to take the third spot running quicker times on both sides than Cashmore.

Jason Tipple claims $250 in the Honda Street Shoot-Out
In his first Honda Street Shoot-Out Jason Tipple drove his Street Touring S Civic Si to a win. Tipple, the defending Street Touring S Solo2 National Champion faced the Street Modified Eagle Talon of Fedja Jeleskovic. As the top qualifier for the Shoot-Out, Tipple collected 20 Honda Shoot-Out points blocking Jeleskovic from taking the points lead. The Shoot-Out Challenge will now go to the ProSolo Finale in Topeka with a five-way tie between Street Modified drivers Jeleskovic, Corey Smith, Dennis Grant, and the Street Touring S Subaru drivers Richard West and Hiroo Sumida.

Kim Bullis wins her first Ladies Challenge
While everyone watched year end points contenders Yvonne Short and Juliann Pokorny exit the ladies challenge, Kim Bullis quietly relied on consistent, smooth runs to advance to the finals. Bullis then faced the Bullitt Mustang of Heather Shehan in the top eliminator. Bullis went on to take the round winning on each side. Beth McClure-Strelnieks completed the American V-8 sweep with a third place finish in a Z06 Corvette. The points race for the year end ladies challenge championship has now been solidified with Patty Tunnell and McClure-Strelnieks tied for the lead, ten clear of Katie Elder's 49 point total.

Bouchard, Riley and Stone take honors in Peru
Isaac Bouchard took the Bonus challenge win in his H-Stock Mini Cooper. Bouchard capitalized on the drivable Cooper chassis to make his way to the top eliminator and ultimately the win. Chad Riley also earned a free ProSolo entry as the rookie of the event. Riley took the award with a second place finish in E-Street Prepared. E-Stock driver Daniel Stone was the first driver to cut a perfect .500 reaction time in his Mazda Miata claiming a $100 check from Race America in the process. Stone's Perfect reaction was later matched by F-Stock driver Christopher Hammond.

Lamont and Piccione claim wins in class competition
Bradley Lamont and Lee Piccione emerged from the ranks of tire warmer to take wins in Peru. Lamont, co-driving with Jason Saini, managed to post quicker times than Saini and multi-time ProSolo champion Carter Thompson on his way to his first National Series win. For Piccione, Peru marked a rare departure from sharing an E-Stock MR2 with Doug Newhard. Newhard missed the event to attend his sister's wedding. Even without Newhard, Piccione had his hands full with defending Solo2 Champ Jonathon Roberts and perennial front-runners Clemons Burger and Jeff Cashmore.

After quietly collecting a second place finish in Petersburg, Brian Priebe's 1.1 second win in G-Stock seems to have all the National's predictors scratching their heads. Priebe, now with 36 G-Stock points, credit's the custom valved Koni shocks and Kumho tires for the weekends success. The closest battle of the weekend was between Steve Telehowski and Matthew Braun. The co-drivers had a mere six thousandths between them while putting an uncharacteristic eight tenths on C-Stock points leader Tim Aro.

H-Stock saw the toughest field of the event with nine drivers posting times within 1.2 seconds of each other. Brian Garfield backed up his win in Petersburg with a win in a Mini Cooper shared with Marshall Cone. Defending Solo2 Champ Gerry Terranova took the second spot keeping he and Garfield in contention for the year-end championship. Keith Robertson's fourth place finish in a BMW 318, 14 thousandths behind the Mini of Mark Chiles assisted Terranova in dispelling at least some of the "Must-have-Mini" mentality in H-Stock.

ProSolo combines a drag racing start with traditional curvy Solo 2 maneuvers on side-by-side, mirror-image autocross courses. Lining up at the familiar "Christmas tree" start, drivers compete heads-up in various classes by combining their fastest times from each course. After class competition is completed, all ProSolo events feature the top drivers from each class competing head-to-head in a variety of single-elimination handicapped Challenges culminating with the Peavey Super Challenge. The ProSolo National Series provides national-level competition in a series structure using all regular National Solo 2 classes.

The Sports Car Club of America Inc. is a 67,000-member motorsports organization, which incorporates all facets of autocross, rally, and both club and professional motorsports events. It annually sanctions nearly 2,000 events through its 109 regions and professional subsidiary.

Landmark events for the Club include the Club Racing Valvoline Runoffs National Championship races at the Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course, the Tire Rack Solo 2 Nationals and Tire Rack ProSolo National Series at Topeka, the ProRally Championship and the United States Road Rally Championship, in St Louis, Mo.

For additional information about SCCA Solo competition:
SCCA Solo 2:
SCCA ProSolo: Tire Rack SCCA
National Solo Program:

-scca pro racing-

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series SCCA
Drivers Jason Saini