SOLO: ProSolo Oscoda summary

Twice Is Nice Hoppe Wins Oscoda ProSolo for Second Year in a Row TOPEKA, Kan. (July 13, 2004) -- Even though Tom Hoppe is from Raleigh, N.C., his nickname very well could be "Mr. Oscoda." Everything went right for Hoppe and his ...

Twice Is Nice
Hoppe Wins Oscoda ProSolo for Second Year in a Row

TOPEKA, Kan. (July 13, 2004) -- Even though Tom Hoppe is from Raleigh, N.C., his nickname very well could be "Mr. Oscoda."

Everything went right for Hoppe and his 2002 Subaru Impreza WRX this past weekend at the Oscoda-Wurtsmith Airport in Oscoda, Mich., the eighth round of The Tire Rack® SCCA ProSolo National Series, enabling the 24-year-old to win the Oscoda edition of the Hawk Performance Super Challenge for the second year in-a-row.

The Super Challenge win completed a weekend sweep for Hoppe, who also took home the Honda Street Challenge (as the top finishing street class entry) and Street Touring X class titles.

In the Super Challenge, top-qualifier Hoppe beat out E Stock driver Jesse Naughton, of Gainesville, Fla., in the final round after Naughton advanced by defeating Jeff Cashmore, of New Berlin, Wis., who had picked up Naughton as a co-driver for his Inacom Info System 1993 Toyota MR2. The silver finish for Naughton was his second this season, matching his Washington, D.C., finish two events prior.

Cashmore rebounded after losing out to Naughton and finished third.

Beth McClure-Strelnieks, of Austin, Texas, nabbed her first Ladies Challenge win of 2004, knocking off Michelle Wyant-Seelig, of Edmond, Okla., who earned a second-straight silver trophy and third consecutive podium finish overall.

McClure-Strelnieks fell behind at the start of each run of the final thanks to near-perfect reaction times from Wyant-Seelig, but showed the power of her Jungle Cat Racing/Soul Speed 2004 Chevrolet Corvette as she caught up to and passed the runner-up Kumho/Red Line 1990 Honda Civic Si both times.

Kathy Fitzpatrick, of Omaha, Neb., finished third in a 2001 Acura Integra and was the turnaround story of the weekend on the Ladies' side. After a rough Saturday that saw Fitzpatrick either redlight or hit a cone on every run, she refocused Sunday morning and improved enough to take the Ladies 1 class win and qualify first for the Ladies Challenge where she was eventually taken out by Wyant-Seelig in the semifinal round.

Jason Saini, of Lake Forest, Ill., has officially begun his 2003 title defense after focusing on the Mazdaspeed Miata Cup earlier this year. The 2003 B Stock National Champion blew away the field in his 2001 Honda S2000, taking the class win by 1.203 seconds over Steve Wynveen, of Germantown, Wis. Bradley Lamont, of Chicago, Ill., Wynveen's co-driver, finished third in Wynveen's Mercury Marine 2001 S2000, just 0.036-sec. behind the car's owner.

The three drivers finished in precisely the same order at the prior round in Toledo, and it was the second win in-a-row for Saini.

Mark Chiles has terrorized G Stock all year, and this past weekend was no different. The Rocky Mount, N.C.-driver even switched up cars this time around, driving friend Jeff Jacobs' ride. The change to the Mini of Charleston/ blue 2003 Mini Cooper S didn't hurt Chiles one bit as he earned his sixth overall class win of the season by 0.777-sec. over Michael Potocki, of Kenmore, N.Y. Potocki's Towne Mini/ 2004 Mini Cooper settled into second, 0.432-sec. ahead of the FunHondas Racing 1991 Honda Civic Si driven by Chang Ho Kim, of Maynard, Mass.

Competitors in Super Stock waged another classic battle, only this time it came under the A Street Prepared flag as the class was bumped into ASP. Erik Strelnieks, of Austin, Texas, picked up his second win of the year, this one over Kevin Dietz, of Federal Way, Wash. Strelnieks' Jungle Cat Racing/Soul Speed 2004 Chevrolet Corvette Z06 knocked out a time of 61.918 seconds, placing him 0.149-sec. ahead of Dietz's Jim's Detail/Evolution Schools 2004 Z06. Also in the class from SS, Richard Beecher, of Davie, Fla., finished third in his Bill Kelley Chevrolet Z06.

Street class competition was fierce as Robert Seelig, of Edmond, Okla., and Dennis Grant, of Windsor, Ont. (Can.), had to hang on to get their first ProSolo class wins of the season. Seelig, in his Kumho/Red Line 1990 Honda Civic SI, escaped with a 0.113-sec. margin of victory over Andy Hollis, of Austin, Texas. Hollis, driving a Mazda South 1989 Civic Si, barely finished in the silver as Billy Brooks, of park City, Utah, finished just 0.119-sec. behind him in a Crazy Monkey Racing/Team ARG! 2000 Subaru Impreza 2.5.

Grant narrowly escaped the Street Modified ranks with the win, posting a time of 62.074 seconds, 0.116-sec. ahead of 2003 A Stock National Champion Matthew Braun, of Farmington Hills, Mich. Along with Grant, Braun's PowerPlug 1995 BMW M3 was the cream of the SM crop as bronze-finisher Phil Bedard, of Union Grove, Wis., was a distant 0.755-sec. behind Braun in his 2002 Subaru Impreza WRX.

From Oscoda, it's on to Wendover Airport in Wendover, Utah, for round nine of The Tire Rack® SCCA ProSolo National Series, July 31-Aug. 1. For more information about The Tire Rack® SCCA ProSolo National Series, visit


Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series SCCA
Drivers Jason Saini , Billy Brooks