SOLO: National Tour Toledo summary

Garfield Gets First Win at the Tire Rack SCCA ProSolo in Toledo TOPEKA, Kan. (June 15, 2004) -- Brian Garfield had waited all year to get a crack at winning the Hawk Performance Super Challenge. So the hour delay, caused by timing issues, ...

Garfield Gets First Win at the Tire Rack SCCA ProSolo in Toledo

TOPEKA, Kan. (June 15, 2004) -- Brian Garfield had waited all year to get a crack at winning the Hawk Performance Super Challenge. So the hour delay, caused by timing issues, midway through the Challenge Sunday afternoon at Toledo's Express Airport should have seemed like no time at all.

Indeed, it didn't seem to affect Garfield, of Mount Airy, Md., as much as G.H. Sharp, of Kernersville, N.C., who coned on the last half of the left-hand course in his SF Motorsports 2002 BMW 330Ci, enabling Garfield to take The Tire Rack® SCCA ProSolo National Series win in his Mini Mania/CG Lock 2002 Mini Cooper S.

Bob Tunnell, of Superior, Colo., in a D Street Prepared BimmerHaus/Hoosier/H&R Springs 1995 BMW M3, knocked off the BimmerHaus Performance-sponsored 1995 M3 driven by Lee Piccione, of Severn, Md., to earn third place after Piccione smacked a pylon during his run.

Jennifer Merideth, of Westland, Mich., was nearly flawless throughout the weekend as she grabbed the Ladies Challenge victory in her Margrave Motorsports 1996 Ford Mustang. Merideth, nursing a slow-to-heal broken ankle from five weeks ago, beat out Michelle Wyant-Seelig, of Edmond, Okla., who was looking for back-to-back Ladies Challenge wins in her Kumho Red Line 1990 Honda Civic. Denise Cashmore, of New Berlin, Wis., finished third in her Inacom Info System 1993 Toyota MR2.

Class competitions were extremely tight as three classes, D Stock, H Stock and Street Touring S, sent four drivers apiece to the Super Challenge competition.

In D Stock, Challenge runner-up Sharp escaped with the class win by 0.040-second over Matthew Grainger, of Florissant, Mo. Grainger, in his Acura/Auto Tire 1997 Acura Integra, and Sharp both sped up significantly Sunday, jumping over first-day leader Brian Fitzpatrick, who finished third in his 2001 Integra, just 0.067-sec. behind Grainger.

Jeff Jacobs, of Philadelphia, Pa., in his 2003 Mini Cooper, topped Michael Potocki, of Kenmore, N.Y., for the H Stock crown this weekend. Jacobs finished 0.209-sec. better than Potocki, who was in the Towne Mini/ 2004 Mini Cooper. Chang Ho Kim, of Maynard, Mass., wedged his FunHondas Racing 1991 Honda Civic SI into third place (only 0.006-sec. behind Potocki) between the top Minis and two more behind him.

Corey Ridgick, of Allentown, Pa., got his first class win of 2004 as his RedShift Motorsports 2000 Subaru Impreza RS bolted to the front early and never looked back. Colin Fiedler, of New Berlin, Wis., finished second in his 1989 Honda Civic, 0.261-sec. behind Ridgick. Jason Frank, of Racine, Wis., co-drove with Fiedler in the Honda and received third. Ridgick's win was the third in four eastern U.S. ProSolo events for a Subaru entry this year.

In other classes, Lynne Rothney-Kozlak, of Harleysville, Pa., turned the tables on husband Paul in A Stock, beating him by 0.072-sec. in the couple's Red Haus Racing 1997 Porsche 993. Paul finished ahead of Lynne last event.

2003 B Stock National Champion Jason Saini, of Lake Forest, Ill., had a successful return to ProSolo competition, finishing first in his 2001 Honda S2000 in his first event since the first round in Atlanta, Ga.

Tracy Ramsey, of Hinckley, Ill., was the benefactor of warm tires after co-driver Lloyd Wilson, of Aurora, Ill., took the duo's Team Blender Blaster 2001 Toyota MR2 Spyder out first. Ramsey used the advantage fully, squeaking out the C Stock win over Darrin DiSimo, of Coral Springs, Fla., by just 0.020-sec. Steve Telehowski, of Novi, Mich., finished third in his 1999 Mazda Miata, 0.818-sec. behind DiSimo's Evolution Driving School 1999 Miata.

Tom Hoppe, of Raleigh, N.C., overcame a first day DNF and a Sunday red-light to claim the Street Touring X victory by 0.169-sec. Hoppe, in his 2002 Subaru Impreza WRX, defeated Mike King, of Jacksonville, Fla., who drove his Subaru/SE Region/ 2004 WRX. Courtney Cormier, of Richmond, Va., in his Mini Motorsport/KW/Helix 2003 Mini Cooper S, wound up third.

While it was Seelig and Cashmore making noise in the Ladies Challenge, the two only finished fourth and fifth, respectively, in the highly-competitive Ladies 1 class. Diane Lapusnak, of Rutherford, N.J., in her Evolution 1995 Chevrolet Camaro Z-28, beat out Kathy Fitzpatrick, of Omaha, Neb., who drove her 2001 Acura Integra. Heather Everett, of Orchard Park, N.Y., finished third.

Kim Fine, of Addison, Pa., earned the Ladies 2 crown in her Kumho/Strano/Langston 2004 Subaru Impreza WRX STi, knocking off Patty Tunnell, of Superior, Colo., by 0.201-sec. Tunnell finished ahead of Ladies Challenge winner Merideth in her BimmerHaus/Hoosier/H&R Springs 1995 BMW M3.

After back-to-back weekends, The Tire Rack® SCCA ProSolo National Series takes a three week break. Round Eight of the National Series is set for Oscoda, Mich., at the Oscoda-Wurtsmith Airport, July 10-11.

For more information about The Tire Rack® SCCA ProSolo National Series, visit


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series SCCA
Drivers Jason Saini