SOLO: National Championships, day one report

First Champions Crowned at 2007 Tire Rack SCCA Solo National Championships TOPEKA, Kan. (Sept. 26, 2007) -- The first Champions of 2007 have now been crowned at the 35th Tire Rack ® SCCA Solo National Championships. For many...

First Champions Crowned at 2007 Tire Rack SCCA Solo National Championships

TOPEKA, Kan. (Sept. 26, 2007) -- The first Champions of 2007 have now been crowned at the 35th Tire Rack ® SCCA Solo National Championships.

For many competitors, 2007 was finally their year, as 16 Soloists earned their first National Championship at Heartland Park Topeka.

Perhaps the sweetest victory, was Ian Stewart's Super Stock Championship. After finishing runner-up for the past two years, Stewart out-drove 68 other competitors, in the largest class of the event, to a 0.784-second victory in his Porsche 911 GT3. The SS Title is the first for Stewart in seven Solo National starts.

Evan Brauch also brought home his first ever National Championship. Campaigning an Omni-Fab SR-1 in the B Modified Class, Brauch leaped from fourth in yesterday's heats to a 0.141-second win on day two.

Although it was technically his second National Championship, it might have felt like the first for Jim Garry in C Modified, who grabbed his first Title since 1984, which is one year before the car he drove was even built, a 1985 Citation FF1600.

No surprises in Street Modified, where Mark Daddio took his ninth National Championship in a Mitsubishi Evo 8 RS. It was a similar story in Street Modified 2, where Erik Strelnieks captured his fifth National Championship in a Mazda 3-Rotor RX7 Turbo, trouncing the competition by 2.635 seconds. Wife Beth McLure-Strelnieks took the Street Modified 2 Ladies trophy in the same car, earning her second National Championship.

Beverlee Larson was successful in capturing her third-straight D Street Prepared Ladies Title in her BMW 325is, overcoming a 0.309-second deficit from day one.

No strangers to Championships, Kiersten S Schamberg-Koch and John Timothy Thomas earned their thirteenth and fourteenth National Championships, respectively.

The Thursday/Friday groups will get the second round of the 35th Tire Rack Solo National Championships underway at 8:00 a.m. (CDT) Thursday morning. For full results visit


National Champions from the final 34 classes competing Thursday and Friday in the 34th Tire Rack SCCA Solo National Championships at Heartland Park Topeka with class, driver, hometown, car and notes. Drivers in bold with asterisk after class were not the day one leader. Results are provisional.

A Modified: G R Bowland, Mill Spring, N.C., Bowland Boys Shark, Seventh National Championship

A Modified L: Jenny Leigh Williams, Canal Winchester, Ohio, Prototype s/s, First National Championship

B Modified: Evan Brauch, Littleton, Colo., Omni-Fab SR-1, First National Championship

B Modified L: Kiersten S Scharnberg-Koch, Stilwell, Kan., Ralt RT5, Thirteenth National Championship, Second-Straight

C Modified*: Jim Garry, Delmar, N.Y., Citation FF1600, Second National Championship

C Modified L: Linda H Smiley, Dayton, Ohio, Tiga Formula Ford, Ninth National Championship

C Prepared*: Darrel A Padberg, Muskego, Wis., Ford Mustang, Third National Championship, Second-Straight

C Prepared L: Donna Bartling, Katy, Texas, Ford Mustang, First National Championship

C Street Prepared*: Reijo Silvennoinen, Seal Beach, Calif., Mazda Miata, First National Championship

C Street Prepared L: Tami Daniels, Gladstone, Ore., Mazda MX-5, First National Championship

C Stock*: Ryan Buetzer, Long Beach, Calif., Mazda Miata, Third National Championship

C Stock L: Annie Bauer, Kent, Wash., Pontiac Solstice, Third National Championship

D Modified: Mark Huffman, Litchfield Park , Ariz., Lotus Elan, Third National Championship

D Modified L: Daisy Huffman, Litchfield Park, Ariz., Lotus Elan, First National Championship

D Street Prepared: Mike Shields, Temple, N.H., BMW 325is, Second-Straight National Championship

D Street Prepared L*: Beverlee Larsson, Anaheim Hills, Calif., BMW 325is, Third-Straight National Championship

E Stock: Brian Johns, Murfreesboro, Tenn., First National Championship

E Stock L: Tara Johns, Murfreesboro, Tenn., Mazda Miata, First National Championship

F Prepared: John Timothy Thomas, Tampa, Fla., Datsun 240Z, Fourteenth National Championship

F Street Prepared: Jason J Tipple, Galloway, Ohio, Honda Civic SI, Second National Championship

F Street Prepared L: Lisa Krueger, Midland, Mich., VW Rabbit, Seventh National Championship, Fourth-Straight

Formula SAE: Eric J Leichtle, Coppell, Texas, UTA, First National Championship

G Prepared: Bo Rader, Wichita, Kan., Austin Healy Sprite, First National Championship

G Prepared L: Christine E Cutrer, Topeka, Kan., Fiat X1/9, First National Championship

H Stock*: Jack Burns, Hamilton, Ohio, Mazda 3, Second National Championship

H Stock L: Cara Ness, Medfield, Mass., Honda Civic Si, First National Championship

Street Modified: Mark Daddio, Beacon Falls, Conn., Mitsubishi Evo 8 RS, Ninth National Championship

Street Modified L*: Denise Kugler, Springtown, Pa., Honda Herman, Second National Championship

Street Modified 2: Erik Strelnieks, Cedar Park, Texas, Mazda 3-Rotor RX7 Turbo, Fifth National Championship

Streeet Modified 2 L: Beth A McLure-Strelnieks, Cedar Park, Texas, Mazda 3-Rotor RX-7 Turbo, First National Championship

Street Touring S2*: Mike King, Jacksonville, Fla., Honda CRX Si, First National Championship

Street Touring S2L: Dr. Michelle Diane Seelig, Edmond, Okla., Honda CRS Si, Third National Championship

Super Stock*: Ian Stewart, Orlando, Fla., Porsche 911 GT3, First National Championship after finishing runner-up past two years.

Super Stock L*: Tristan Kotzian-Coulter, Hillsboro, Ore., Porsche GT3, First National Championship

-credit: scca

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series SCCA
Drivers Ryan Buetzer
Teams Williams