SOLO: National Championship, day three

Second Crop of Classes Halfway to a Solo National Championship TOPEKA, Kan. (Sept. 27, 2007) -- The remaining 34 Solo National classes have kicked off the second half of competition at the 35th Tire Rack ® Solo National Championships at ...

Second Crop of Classes Halfway to a Solo National Championship

TOPEKA, Kan. (Sept. 27, 2007) -- The remaining 34 Solo National classes have kicked off the second half of competition at the 35th Tire Rack ® Solo National Championships at Heartland Park Topeka.

After finishing runner-up in B Stock Ladies last year, Jennifer Isley could be en route to her third National Championship. Running a Mazda RX-8, Isley currently sits a comfortable 1.245 seconds ahead of Debbie Kerswill in another Mazda RX-8.

Husband and defending B Stock Champion Jason Isely is the day one leader in his Mazda RX-8, but is under extreme pressure from rookie Doug Rowse. Also driving an RX-8, Rowse is more than impressive in his Solo National debut, ending day one just 0.032-second behind two-time Champion Isley.

It's a team Tunnell and Team Beecher face-off in the X Prepared classes. Bob and Patty Tunnell lead Richard and Barbara Beecher in X Prepared and X Prepared Ladies. Appropriately the couples are facing off in rival German machinery; the Tunnells are at the wheel of a BMW M3, while the Beechers pilot a Porsche RSR.

D Stock is shaping up to be a rematch from 2006. Defending champion Bartek Borowski in an Acura ITR, trails last year's runner-up Kinch Reindl in a Acura Integra by 0.249-second. If he can maintain the gap on Friday, it will be Reindl's first National Championship.

Things keep getting better for Mike "Junior" Johnson. After winning this year's Tire Rack® ProSolo National Championship less than a week ago, he finds himself leading A Street Prepared by 0.683-second in his Chevrolet Corvette Z06. Johnson is the defending ASP Champion.

With the exception of the tie in E Prepared between Tom Ellam and Christopher Dorsey, G Stock Ladies is the closest battle going into day two and it's between two ladies looking for their first National Championships. Both in Mini Coopers, Brianne Corn currently leads Mindi Cross by slim 0.006-second.

The final day of competition for the 2007 Tire Rack SCCA Solo National Championships begins Friday at 8:00 a.m. (CDT). The classes will switch courses from West to East and East to West. Today's best times, along with Friday's, will be added together to determine the class Champion.

For complete results from the event, please visit

Top two runners in each of the 34 classes competing Thursday and Friday in the 35th Tire Rack® SCCA Solo National Championships at Heartland Park Topeka with class, leading driver, hometown and car; second place driver, hometown, car and gap behind first place. Results are provisional.

A Stock: Jason Collett, Knoxville, Tenn., Honda S2000; 2, Eric Stemler, Peoria, Ill., Pontiac Solstice GXP, -0.207-second.

A Stock L: Diana Carris, Hopewell Junction, N.Y., Subaru STi; 2, Denise Cashmore, New Berlin, Wis., Chevrolet Corvette, -0.265 second

A Street Prepared: Michael Johnson, Glen Allen, Va., Chevrolet Corvette Z06; 2, Rod McGeorge, Tappahannock, Va., Chevrolet Corvette Z06, -0.683-second

A Street Prepared L: Diane Johnson, Glen Allen, Va., Chevrolet Corvette Z06; 2, Natha A Waldbaum, Omaha, Neb., -3.679 seconds

B Stock: Jason Isley, Ladera Ranch, Calif., Mazda RX-8; 2, Doug Rowse, Phoeniz, Ariz., Mazda RX-8, -0.032 second

B Stock L: Jennifer Isley, Ladera Ranch, Calif., Mazda RX-8; 2, Debbie Kerswill, Reno, Nev., Mazda RX-8, -1.245 seconds

B Street Prepared: Tom Berry, Alta Loma, Calif., Mitsubishi Evo IV; 2, Marshall Grice, Mitsubishi Evo IV, -0.702-second

B Street Prepared L: Christine Berry, Alta Loma, Calif., Mitsubishi Evo I; 2, Lisa Savage, Fort Worth, Texas, Chevrolet Corvette, -5.136 seconds

D Prepared: Steve Hoelscher, St. Augustine, Fla., Toyota MR2; Keith Brown, Des Moines, Wash., Mazda Miata, -0.261-second

D Prepared L: Kim M Wilson, Bowling Green, Ky., Toyota MR2 Spyder; 2, Anne Robinson, Highland, Ind., Toyota MR2 Spyder, -1.893 seconds

D Stock: Kinch Reindl, Denver, Colo., Acura ITR; 2, Bartek Borowski, Elmwood, Ill., Acura Integra, 0.249-second

D Stock L: Pamela J Earnes, Meridian, Idaho, Volkswagen R32; 2, Karen Kraus, Frederick, Md., Subaru Impreza WRX, -0.061

E Modified: Dan Wasdahl, Massillon, Ohio, Lotus Europa; 2, Jeff Kiesel, Poway, Calif., -0.329-second

E Modified L: Ann S Vogel, Tulsa, Okla., Mazda Miata; 2, Debra Pruett, Kansas City, Mo., Lotus 7, -0.320-second

E Prepared: Tom Ellam, Livermore, Calif., Mazda RX3; 2, Christopher Dorsey, Littleton, Colo., Honda CRX, tie

E Prepared L: Jennifer Lee, Honolulu, Hawaii, Mazda RX3; no other competitors

E Street Prepared: Mark Madarash, Red Oak, Texas, Pontiac Trans-Am; 2, Mark Jorgensen, Omaha, Neb., Ford Mustang Cobra, -0.144-second

E Street Prepared L: Lorien Feighner, Howell, Mich., Ford Mustang; 2, Lorae Myers, Howell, Mich., Ford Mustang, 0.444-second

F Modified: Gary E Kramar, Arlington, Texas, Red Devil F500; 2, Jeff Blumenthal, Independence, Ohio, KBS Mk7, -0.615-second

F Modified L: Christina Libecco, Warren, Ohio, KBS MKVII; 2, Robin Lumb, Plymouth Meeting, Pa., Raptor F500, -3.030 seconds

F Stock: Sam Strano, Knoxdale, Pa., Ford Shelby Mustang; 2, Van A Michael, Turbotville, Pa., Ford Mustang, -1.064 seconds

F Stock L: Jennifer Merideth, Westland, Mich., Ford Mustang Shelby Cobra; 2, Crissy Weaver, Beavercreek, Ore., Ford Mach 1, -1.268 seconds

Formula 125: Jeremiah McClinktock, Commerce Township, Mich., Renspeed Fast; 2, Mitch Fagundes, Clovis, Calif., CRG Road Rebel, -0.496-second

Formula 125L: Suzanne Valerie Segal, Las Vegas, Nev., Birel CR32; 2, Karen J Craner, Idaho Falls, Idaho, GPracing CR125, -1.255 seconds

G Stock: Ron Williams, Topeka, Kan., Mini Cooper S; 2, Eric Kriemelmeyer, Pomfret, Md., Nissan Spec-V, -0.036-second

G Stock L: Brianne Corn, San Marcos, Texas, Mini Cooper S; 2, Mindi Cross, Phoenix, Ariz., Mini Cooper S, -0.006-second

Street Touring S: Jason Frank, Racine, Wis., Honda Civic Si; 2, Kevin McCormick, Lincoln, Calif., Honda Civic Si, -0.171-second

Street Touring S L: Katie Elder, Folsom, Calif., Honda Civic Si; 2, Julie J Avard, Topeka, Kan., Honda Civic Si, -0.896-second

Street Touring Ultra: James Eric Paulson, Portland, Ore., Subaru WRX STi; 2, Jerry Irvine, Lenexa, Kan., Mitsubishi Evo IX, -0.260-second

Street Touring Ultra L: Mary E Bahr, West Salem, Wis., Subaru STi; 2, Meredith Najewicz, Mableton, Ga., Subaru STi, -0.054-second

Street Touring Xtreme: Chris Fenter, Appleton, Wis., Subaru Impreza WRX; 2, Neal Tovsen, Saint Paul, Minn., BMW 325is, -0.556-second

Street Touring Xztreme L: Amy Coleman, Renton, Wash., Subaru WRX; 2, Shauna Rios, Corona, Calif., Subaru Impreza WRX, -1.241 seconds

X Prepared: Bob Tunnell, Superior, Colo., BMW M3; 2, Richard Beecher, Davie, Fla., Porsche RSR, -0.861-second

X Prepared L: Patty Tunnell, Superior, Colo., BMW M3; 2, Barbara Beecher, Davie, Fla., Porsche RSR, 0.477-second

-credit: scca

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series SCCA
Drivers Michael Johnson , Brianne Corn , Jeff Kiesel
Teams Williams