RACE: National Runoffs: Toyota Motorsports summary

TOYOTA-POWERED COMPETITIORS WIN FOUR NATIONAL CHAMPIONSHIPS, SWEEP ONE PODIUM AT THE "OLYMPICS" OF CLUB ROAD RACING LEXINGTON, Ohio (Sept.25, 2005) Duane Davis, Graham Rahal, Warren Montague and Arnie Loyning captured the title of "National ...


LEXINGTON, Ohio (Sept.25, 2005) Duane Davis, Graham Rahal, Warren Montague and Arnie Loyning captured the title of "National Champion" in each of their respective classes at the 2005 Sports Car Club of America (SCCA) Runoffs® presented by Kohler, Sept.23-25. Referred to as the "Olympics" of club road racing, the Runoffs is repeatedly named by Car and Driver magazine as one of the "10 Best Motorsports Events." This year marked the 42nd annual SCCA National Championship Runoffs and the 12th year hosted at the Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course. Over 730 competitors showed up to qualify and compete in 23 different classes of amateur road racing.

Davis, a construction contractor in Camas, Wash. earned his eighth GT-2 Championship in his No.11 Toyota Celica, while setting two new Runoffs records; the most individual (13) National Championships and fastest lap time of 1:28.832. In addition to starting the race as the pole winner, Davis led all 20 laps of the race, and recorded a margin of victory of 7.797 seconds, while averaging speeds of 88.539 mph.

"For me it was a great race...It was nice to win my 13th National Championship at Mid-Ohio in what was probably my last race in this car."

Rahal of New Albany, Ohio won his first Formula Atlantic (FA) National Championship in his No.3 Toyota-powered/Bobby Rahal Automotive Group Swift .014, by 43.01 seconds, in his first-ever race at the Runoffs. After losing several positions at the start of the race, Rahal regained and maintained the lead on laps 4-20 and went on to capture the checkered flag and earn his first Runoffs title. He had the fastest race lap of 1:16.890, which is better than the existing Runoffs record and averaged speeds of 100.21 mph on the 2.28 mile, 13 turn road course.

"I definitely had the fastest car out there and I knew that I could keep up...I had quite a bit of push, but it turned out alright. It was clear sailing."

Dan Selznick of Phoenix, Ariz. and David Wilcox of Lake Dallas, Texas completed the top-three, giving Toyota a podium sweep in the FA class. Selznick qualified and finished second, led the first three laps of the race in his No.49 Toyota-powered Swift .014 and recorded a fastest lap of 1:19.130. Wilcox qualified fourth, finished third and registered his fastest lap at 1:20.081. Initially Toyota-powered cars claimed the top six positions in the FA class, however one driver was disqualified after he missed the scheduled technical inspection.

Arnie Loyning of Portland, Oregon qualified second and finished first in the C Sports Racing (CSR) class to claim his first-career SCCA Runoffs National Championship Title. In his No.27 Toyota-powered Swift Viking, Loyning led the first lap of the race and soon lost a few positions. Persistence paid off for Loyning as he continued and eventually pulled away from the field to lead the entire second half of the race (laps 10-20). He won the race by a margin victory of 37.86 seconds, while averaging speeds of 89.975 mph.

Bill Goldkind of Holbrook, N.Y., another Toyota-powered racer, earned a 3 rd place podium finish, winning a bronze medal in the CSR class. (Note: Goldkind competed in both CSR and FA.)

Warren Montague of Manakin Sabot, Va. started on the pole in his No.32 Toyota Tercel and later captured the checkered flag and championship title in the inaugural GT-Lite Runoffs class. He led the race in a dominating fashion with a fastest lap of 1:36.770 and an average speed of 81.244 mph. This is Montague's first victory since winning the GT-4 championship in 1996.

Wolfgang Maike, one of the 29 Toyota-powered racers who earned the right to compete in the National Runoffs, claimed a podium finish, winning a silver medal (2nd place) in the GT-3 class.

Beginning next year through 2008, the SCCA National Championship Runoffs will be held at Heartland Park Topeka (Topeka, Kan.); the fifth venue in the Runoffs' history to host the signature event.

Each of the 23 races will broadcast again on a tape-delayed basis, in hour length segments, running weekends at 1 and 2 p.m. (Eastern), beginning Sunday, November 13. Each show will again be produced by Mullin Production Group and will include all the racing action, interviews and features. The complete broadcast schedule is available at: www.scca.com/Event/Event.asp?Ref=05-scca-runoffs|05-runoffs-tv


Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series SCCA
Drivers Bobby Rahal , Graham Rahal , Duane Davis , David Wilcox , Daniel Selznick