RACE: Lexington Valvoline Runoffs Recap

24 CHAMPIONS CROWNED AT SCCA VALVOLINE RUNOFFS LEXINGTON, Ohio Twenty-four National Champions have been crowned at the 36th annual SCCA Club Racing Valvoline Runoffs Presented by NAPA at the Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course. Jeff ...

24 CHAMPIONS CROWNED AT SCCA VALVOLINE RUNOFFS LEXINGTON, Ohio Twenty-four National Champions have been crowned at the 36th annual SCCA Club Racing Valvoline Runoffs Presented by NAPA at the Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course. Jeff Altenburg, of Catonsville, Md., won the first of 24 races on a weekend which is revered as the "olympics" of motorsports, taking Touring One class driving a Chevrolet Corvette. Other winners on the Friday included Jeff Auberger, of Sturgis, Mich., in Formula 500; Joe Huffaker, of Petaluma, Calif., in F Production; Neal Sapp, of Ellicott City, Md., in Showroom Stick C; Bruce Sunseri, of Santa Clara, Calif., in D Sports Racer; and Brian French, of Sheboygan, Wis., in Formula Atlantic. Tom Patton, of Hamilton, Ohio, drove his venerable Sunbeam Tiger to his first National Championship in the GT-2 class after 20 years of trying. Keith Nunes, of Modesto, Calif., became only the third driver in SCCA history to win the Formula Ford Championship back-to-back, joining Skip Barber and Bruce May. Saturday crowned eight more Champions on a rainy Mid-Ohio day, with Mazda Miata driver David Daughtery, of Noblesville, Ind., taking his sixth-career National Championship in a Showroom Stock B title race shortened after a lengthy clean-up period for an accident. Drivers Shauna Marinus, of Folsom, Calif., and Phil Croyle, of Boca Raton, Fla., were transported to Mansfield General Hospital for precautionary X-Rays following the incident, and later released. Other winners on the day included Rob Hines, of Arlington, Va., driving a Camaro in Touring Two; Steve Sargis, of Frankfort, Ill., driving a Triumph Spitfire in G Production; Daniel Minkler, of N. Canton, Ohio, driving a Nissan 200 SX in GT-5; Roger Siebenaler, of North Hero, Vt., in a Mysterian Formula Vee; Bob Endicott, of San Pedro, Calif., in an E Production Honda Prelude; Eric Curran, of S. Deerfield, Mass., in a American Sedan Chevrolet Camaro; and Keith Roberts, of LaGrange, Ga., in Formula Mazda. The final eight SCCA Club Racing National Champions were crowned on Sunday, a day which saw mist and fog grease the track for most of the races. Warren Stilwell, of Hartville, Ohio, captured his sixth-straight Spec Racer Ford title and sits second all-time on the career-consecutive Championships list behind Jerry Hansen's 10 in the 1970s and 1980s in A Sports Racer. Stilwell battled back from three spins in wet conditions to take the win. Adam Malley, of Conyers, Ga., won his third-straight H Production title, also coming back from a spin. Other Champions on the final day of racing include Ben Beasley, of Mentor, Ohio, in C Sports Racer; John Fergus, of Powell, Ohio, in Sports 2000; Pete Peterson, of Lumberton, N.C., in GT-3; Mike Andersen, of Green Pond, N.J., in Formula Continental; Wilson Wright Jr., of Stockbridge, Mass., in GT-4; and Juan Leroux, of the Dominican Republic, in GT-1.

1999 Valvoline Runoffs Presented by NAPA Auto Parts National Champions

Class: Driver, Hometwon, Car Touring One: Jeff Altenburg, Catonsville, Md., Chevy Corvette Formula 500: Jeff Auberger, Sturgis, Mich., KBS MK8.5 F Production: Joe Huffaker, Petaluma, Calif., MG Midget Showroom Stock C: Neal Sapp, Ellicott City, Md., Honda Civic Si D Sports Racer: Bruce Sunseri, Santa Clara, Calif., Cheetah SR1 Formula Atlantic: Brian French, Sheboygan, Wis., Ralt RT-41 GT-2: Tom Patton, Hamilton, Ohio, Sunbeam Tiger Formula Ford: Keith Nunes, Modesto, Calif., Swift DB-6 Touring Two: Rob Hines, Arlington, Va., Chevy Camaro G Production: Steve Sargis, Frankfort, Ill., Triumph Spitfire GT-5: Daniel Minkler, N Canton, Ohio, Nissan 200SX Showroom Stock B: David Daughtery, Noblesville, Ind., Mazda Miata Formula Vee: Roger Siebenaler, North Hero, Vt., Mysterian M2 E Production: Bob Endicott, San Pedro, Calif., Honda Prelude American Sedan: Eric Curran, S. Deerfield, Mass., Chevy Camaro Formula Mazda: Keith Roberts, LaGrange, Ga., Formula Mazda C Sports Racer: Ben Beasley, Mentor, Ohio, Beasley B-2 H Production: Adam Malley, Conyers, Ga., Honda Civic Sports 2000: John Fergus, Powell, Ohio, Carbir GT-3: Pete Peterson, Lumberton, N.C., Toyota Paseo Formula Continental: Mike Andersen, Green Pond, N.J., Van Diemen Ford GT-4: Wilson Wright Jr., Stockbridge, Mass., Nissan 200 SX Spec Racer Ford: Warren Stilwell, Hartville, Ohio, Spec Racer Ford GT-1: Juan Leroux, Miami, Fla., Ford Mustang Cobra

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series SCCA
Drivers Ben Beasley , Keith Nunes , Roger Siebenaler , Keith Roberts , Joe Huffaker , John Fergus , Eric Curran , Skip Barber , Jeff Altenburg , Tom Patton , David Daughtery , Bruce Sunseri , Pete Peterson , Steve Sargis , Wilson Wright , Bob Endicott , Juan Leroux , Brian French