ProRally: Wild West ProRally - 15-16 September

SCCA ProRally Championship Round ...

SCCA ProRally Championship Round #7 - Wild West

DENVER, CO: Seventh round (of nine) for the 2000 season. A record number SCCA and FIA Performance Rally cars are slated to start the Wild West SCCA ProRally; competing on fast and smooth gravel Lumber roads in southwestern Washington State. This performance rally event is sanctioned by the Sports Car Club of America.

When & Where:

15-16 September 2000; Olympia, WA; approximately 60 miles (80 kilometers) southwest of Seattle, Washington

Complete Event Schedule: (subject to change)

Thursday, 14 September, 2000
3:00 PM - 7:00 PM Entrant registration at the Phoenix Inn - Olympia
3:00 AM - 7:00 PM Scrutineering - Corvette & High Performance Shop - 2840 Black Lake Blvd., Olympia Friday, 15 September, 2000
11:00 AM - 3:00 PM Scrutineering - Corvette & High Performance Shop - 2840 Black Lake Blvd., Olympia
4:30 PM - 6:00 PM Parc Expose - Downtown Shelton, WA
6:00 PM Start of Wild West SCCA ProRally Leg One - Downtown Shelton
11:00 PM (approximate) First car arrival - Finish of Leg One - Phoenix Inn - Olympia Saturday, June 03, 2000
8:00 AM Parc Expose - Downtown Shelton
8:30 AM Start of Wild West SCCA ProRally Leg Two - Downtown Shelton
6:30 PM (approximate) First car arrival - Finish of Leg Two - Shelton Moose Lodge
9:00 PM Prize Giving - Moose Lodge

Selected entries (driver/co-driver):

* Paul Choiniere and Jeff Becker; SCCA Open Class 2000 Hyundai Tiburon - Multi-time overall SCCA ProRally National Champions Choiniere and Becker come to Wild West with four overall wins in the 2000 season under their belts, but are tied with Karl Scheible and Russ Hughes for Overall Drivers and Co-Drivers points. The results of this event could determine the fate of the championship.

* 1999 Overall Manufacturer, Driver and Co-Driver Champions Noel Lawler & Charles Bradley; SCCA Open Class 2000 Hyundai Tiburon. With their new-car teething problems seemingly behind them, Lawler and Bradley will be charging hard for a win.

* 1999 Rim of the World overall winner Garen Shrader with 1998 overall co-driver champion Michael Fennell; SCCA Open Class 1997 Mitsubishi Lancer Evo IV. Shrader's new match-up with Fennell has yielded impressive top 5 finishes in the last two events.

* 2000 Rim of the World and Susquehannock Trail event overall winners, and leading FIA Group N category points holders, Karl Scheible and Russ Hughes, 1998 Mitsubishi Lancer Evo V. With the Group N Driver's Championship mathematically in the bag, Scheible's Evo has been converted to the SCCA's Open Class specification, giving the Mitsubishi a considerable horsepower boost.

* Canadian and US Production GT Performance Rally star Patrick Richard, with Ben Bradley, 1998 Subaru Impreza 2.5RS. After a rough weekend in Maine, Richard was back in form 2 weeks ago in Minnesota, finishing an impressive 2nd place at the turbo-friendly Ojibwe Forests event. Back on his near-home turf in Washington, Richard will be the one to beat in Production GT.

Additional news interest:

* Hyundai pulled significantly ahead last month in the Manufacturers Overall Championship race with a convincing 1-2-3 overall podium sweep at Ojibwe Forests, the first such open competition finish in the company's history. Mitsubishi is still very much in the hunt, with the top independent Open class entries of Scheible and Shrader keeping Hyundai's mirrors filled. Subaru, with record entry numbers at the previous two events has made some impressive gains, but will need an overall win at this event to have a shot at the year-end title. Toyota, with its 2000 season Group 5 (2WD) championship secure, has withdrawn from the remaining 3 events in the Championship season.

Event Rank:

This rally is a full points SCCA ProRally Championship event. Drivers earn points towards the national championship, and supporting manufacturers (Hyundai, Toyota, Subaru and Mitsubishi) earn points towards overall and class Manufacturers' Championships.

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series SCCA
Drivers Paul Choiniere , Jeff Becker , Patrick Richard