ProRally: Sunriser Forest Rally results

Courtesy of Andy Schupack, SCCA/Michelin PRO Rally Series: 1995 Sunriser 400 Forest Rally Round ...

Courtesy of Andy Schupack, SCCA/Michelin PRO Rally Series:

1995 Sunriser 400 Forest Rally Round #3 - SCCA/Michelin PRO Rally series National Results 4/9/95 Car Num. Driver/Home Town Navigator/Home Town Vehicle/Time/Tires Class ------------------------------------------------------------------------ 1 Paul Choiniere Jeff Becker Hyundai Elantra Open Shelburne, VT Great Neck, NY 1:44.23 Michelin 14 Doug Shepherd Pete Gladysz Eagle Talon Open Plymouth, MI Troy, MI 1:45.07 Michelin 6 Peter Moodie Michael Fennell Mazda 323GTR Open Kingston, Jamaica Kingston, Jamaica 1:45.57 Michelin 4 Henry Joy IV Christopher Griffin Mitsubishi Eclipse Open Atlanta, MI Tujunga, CA 1:48.50 Michelin 3 Carl Merrill John Bellefleur Ford Escort Cosworth Open Ogunquit, ME Toronto, ONT 1:49.53 Michelin 27 Bruno Kreibich Rod Hendricksen Audi Quattro Open Ridgewood, Queens, NY Clinton, NJ 1:49.12 Michelin 33 Tom Ottey Pam McGarvey Mazda 323GTX Open Columbus, OH Columbus, OH 1:50.19 Bridgestone 30 Cal Landau Eric Marcus Mitsubishi Eclipse GSX PGT Coraopolis, PA Dayton, OH 1:51:50 Michelin 34 Bob Elliott John Hart VW GTI Prod. Rutland, VT Hydeville, VT 1:56.15 Michelin/Pirelli 11 Sakis Hadjiminas Tom Burgess Audi 90 Sport Open Floral Park, NY Atlanta, GA 1:58.19 Michelin 39 Jim Anderson Ben Greisler Honda Prelude VTEC Prod. Carrboro, NC Philadelphia, PA 2:00.37 BFGoodrich 55 Kurt Thiel George Thompson Volkswagen GTI Group 2 Rochester, NY Rochester, NY 2:01.47 56 Carl Redner Nancy Redner Mazda RX-7 Open Walled Lake, MI Walled Lake, MI 2:02.36 Michelin 25 Greg Healey John Macleod Dodge Ram 50 Truck Hartsville, SC S. Easton, MA 2:02.50 B F Goodrich 18 Gail Truess Cindy Krolikowski Chevrolet Citation Open Brooklyn, MI Wyandotte, MI 2:05.20 Michelin 66 Tad Ohtake Bob Martin Ford Escort GT Prod. Dearborn, MI Goodrich, MI 2:06.52 Michelin 46 Lesley Suddard Anne Thomas Dodge Charger Open Wilmington, DE Nashua, NH 2:07.00 Michelin 23 Greg Trepetin Sonia Trepetin Honda Prelude V-Tech Prod. N. Pontiac, MD N. Pontiac, MD 2:07.40 Michelin 13 Wayne Prochaska Annette Prochaska Volkswagen Golf Group 2 Flushing, MI Flushing, MI 2:07.49 36 Jon Pizzagalli Lance Smith VW GTI Group 2 Shelburne, VT Colchester, VT 2:08.51 5 Selcuk Karamanoglu Constantine Mantopoulos Eagle Talon TSI PGT Bath, ME Staten Island, NY 2:14.26 Michelin 24 Dick Casey Martin Dapot Volkswagen GTI Prod. Fairfax Station, VA Reston, VA 2:17.59 Collway 60 Gerald Sweet Stuart Spark SAAB 99EMS Group 2 Oakridge, NJ Woodcliff Lake, NJ 2:18.36 Michelin 22 Chris Czyzio Tom Beltman Plymouth Arrow Open Flushing, MI Walker, MI 2:20.24 Pirelli 15 David Ralakis Jim Hurley Mazda 323GTX PGT Parker, TX Knoxville, TN 3:22.24 Michelin 52 Jacek Kotowski Bulai Marek Eagle Talon TSI PGT Lawrenceville, NJ Lawrenceville, NJ 3:38.53 Michelin # # # Did_Not_Finish 16 Mike Hurst Rob Bohn Nissan 200SX Group 2 Pendleton, IN Noblesville, IN Mike Hurst 31 David Peterson Gregory Chaloupka Volkswagen GTI Group 2 Aspen, CO Aspen, CO David Peterson Michelin 12 Jeffrey Panton Rudy Miekle Toyota Celica GT4 Open Kingston, Jamaica Kingston, Jamaica United Motors, Ltd. Pirelli 20 Steve Gingras Bill Westrick Mitsubishi Eclipse GSX PGT Duluth, MN Marion, MI Steve Gingras Michelin 10 Sam Bryan Robinson Walden SAAB 900 Group 2 Kent, WA Seattle, WA Sam Bryan Michelin 29 Ivan Orisek Olga Orisek Audi Quattro Open White Plains, NY White Plains, NY Euromerican Rally Racing Michelin 21 Jon Kemp Sanda Latreille Audi 4000 Quattro Open Attica, NY Williamstown, ONT Jon Kemp Michelin 44 John Golden Bella Lambek Datsun PL510 Group 2 Lakewood, CO Lakewood, CO John Golden Michelin 19 Peter Watt Barry Berg Suzuki Swift GT Prod. Peterborough, ONT Apple Valley, MN Peter Watt Bridgestone 45 Pat Ayer Diane Houseal Audi Quattro Open Burlington, VT Trenton, NJ Pat Ayer Michelin For Immediate Release Contact: Andy Schupack

DEFENDING CHAMP CHOINIERE BOPS STRONGEST FIELD IN YEARS AS HYUNDAI WINS FIRST-EVER SCCA/MICHELIN PRO RALLY NATIONAL EVENT CHILLICOTHE, Ohio -- April 9 -- Defending PRO Rally champion Paul Choiniere, from Shelburne, Vermont, with co-driver Jeff Becker, had his PRO Rally supremacy severely tested this weekend at the Sunriser 400 Forest Rally here, but Choiniere/Becker piloted their 350-horsepower Hyundai Elantra to a 44-second victory in the latest round of the SCCA/Michelin PRO Rally series. Choiniere, who had yet to drive his new race car to the maximum potential in dry conditions, was pleased that he could take the Hyundai to the limit when the rally got close. "There were seven cars within a couple of minutes of each other - and three on the same minute - late in the event, and we needed maximum boost and all the suspension travel we could use to hold off Shepherd and Moodie," said Choiniere, who also won this event in '94. Choiniere also won the divisional rally earlier this year in South Carolina, but this was his first national win with his new Korean mount. The Doug Shepherd/Pete Gladysz Eagle Talon was second early in the day when they went into a ditch and rolled their vehicle on stage #3, losing more than a minute to the Mazda 323GTR of Peter Moodie/Michael Fennell. Moodie, who had won the previous event in Washington State last month, had been in second place for much of the final day of the two-day event, but lost more than a minute on the last two stages with an ignition problem. Despite his crinkled roof line, Shepherd was the fastest car in the late stages of the rally, overcoming Moodie's Mazda and finishing second. Shepherd ended up 44 seconds behind Choiniere, with Moodie another 50 seconds back in third. Fourth was the the Henry Joy/Chris Griffin Mitsubishi Eclipse - a good finish for Henry, who crunched his car here last year only a half-mile into the event. The Carl Merrill/John Bellefleur Ford Escort Cosworth - America's fastest rally car with more than 400 horsepower - had various mechanical ills, including a blown turbo, which caused him to lose more than four minutes to the leaders. He finished fifth overall. The Tom Ottey/Pam McGarvey Mazda 323GTX, the fastest local team - from Columbus, Ohio - was sixth overall. Other class winners included the Cal Landau/Eric Marcus Mitsubishi Eclipse from Dayton, Ohio (Production GT class); the Bob Elliott/John Hart VW GTI from Rutland, Vermont (Production class); the Kurt Thiel/George Thompson VW GTI from Rochester, NY, (Group 2 class); and the Greg Healey/John MacLeod Dodge Ram 50 pickup from Hartsville, SC (Rally Truck Class). In a PRO Rally, each team consists of a driver and a co-driver (or navigator), and the exact course is kept secret until just before the event - different from World Rally, where practice is allowed. The cars start at one-minute intervals and race against the clock over 6 - 15 stages which range in length from four to 25 miles. Most of the rallies include night stages, making it necessary for competitors to adjust their driving style. Speeds of more than 120 miles-per-hour could be reached on long straight-aways, with the team achieving the fastest combined times winning the event. The SCCA/Michelin PRO Rally series is sanctioned by the Sports Car Club of American, and sponsored by Michelin Tire Company. The eleven-event series, which runs in a variety of venues from the rain forests of Washington State to the blazing Arizona desert and the frozen tundra of Maine, will have its next stop at the Wild West PRO Rally in Olympia, Washington, April 21-22.

-- Ben Bradley *There are only two types of rally drivers: Those who HAVE rolled and those who WILL 89 323 GTX, 85 Omni GLHt *Will co-drive for food... *E-mail for PGP 2.6 Public Key

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series SCCA
Drivers Paul Choiniere , Jeff Becker , Lance Smith , Peter Watt , Rod Hendricksen , Kurt Thiel , Greg Healey , Jim Anderson
Teams Williams