ProRally: Rim of the World ProRally Results

Shraders Get Overall Win in Rim of the World ProRally PALMDALE, California -- In the continuation of a streak that began with the first event of the year, the Michelin SCCA ProRally Championship has its third surprise overall winner in as many...

Shraders Get Overall Win in Rim of the World ProRally

PALMDALE, California -- In the continuation of a streak that began with the first event of the year, the Michelin SCCA ProRally Championship has its third surprise overall winner in as many events. On top of that, it was the first-ever ProRally victory for the winning driver.

The honors went to Garen and Floyd "Doc" Shrader, in a Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution IV. The son-and-father team has been a strong contender in the past, but this was the first time that everything fell into place with Garen at the wheel. They finished the grueling two-day event two minutes ahead of the second-place team. That was the other Lancer Evo IV-mounted duo, Pete Lahm and Matt Chester, who ran strongly throughout the event.

The rally took place on the demanding desert and mountain roads in and around Palmdale, Calif. Most of the action took place in the mountainous Angeles National Forest, south of Palmdale and north of Los Angels; and there was a challenging mix of pavement and gravel surfaces that kept drivers very alert and on the fine edge.

The twin Hyundai Tiburons of Paul Choiniere and Noel Lawler finished third and fourth after trading places in the overall lead throughout the entire event. A penalty for a rules infraction moved them down two places each at the finish.

Lee Shadbolt and Claire Chizma drove their Subaru Impreza to victory in the Production GT class, following an event-long battle with the Mazda 323 GTX of Gail Truess and Pattie Hughes. The two teams jockeyed throughout the event, but the issue was settled when the ladies experienced a puncture and lost time changing the tire.

Group 5 winners Ralph Kosmides and Joe Noyes had to deal with a number of mechanical problems along the way, including a blown head gasket toward the end of the event. However, they were able to bring their Toyota Supra to the finish and claim the win.

The Production Class winners wound up having a comparatively easy time of it once their chief rivals suffered mechanical ills Friday evening. Mark Brown and John Allen brought their Volkswagen GTi home comfortably ahead of the second-place finisher. However, that car attracted a lot of attention, since it was the first new-style Volkswagen Beetle to compete in the United States. Karl Scheible and Gail McGuire were running well until the right-front strut broke Friday evening. They lost time before repairs could be made, but ran well afterward to claim second.

The event was a strong showing for the companies participating in the series' Manufacturers' Championship. Subaru got the Production GT class win, with the Shadbolt/Cizma Impreza, as well as a strong showing from the new Open Class Impreza of Paul Eklund and Dave Jameson. Toyota got the Group 5 win with the Kosmides/Noyes Supra; and Hyundai got third and fourth overall with the Choiniere/Decker and Noel Lawler/Charlie Bradley Tiburons.

The next round of the Michelin SCCA ProRally Championship will be the Susquehannock Trail ProRally, which will take place in the scenic town of Wellsboro, Pennsylvania, over the weekend of June 5-6.

Final Results Rim of the World ProRally Palmdale, California April 30-May 1, 1999


# Driver/Co-Driver Car Seed Score Place Class

14 Garen Shrader/Floyd Shrader Lancer Evo IV 3 2:46:05 1 Open 34 Pete Lahm/Matt Chester Lancer Evo IV 2 2:48:03 2 Open 3 Paul Choiniere/Jeff Becker Hyundai FIA 2:48:18 3 Open 2 Noel Lawler/Charles Bradley Hyundai 1 2:50:43 4 Open 95 Tony Chavez/Ken Cassidy Galant VR-4 2 2:53:26 5 Open 32 Paul Eklund/Dave Jameson Subaru Impreza 4 2:55:27 6 Open 35 Lee Shadbolt/Claire Chizma Subaru Impreza 3 2:57:54 1 GT 7 Ralph Kosmides/Joe Noyes Toyota Supra 1 2:58:27 1 Group 5 68 Doug Robinson/Susan Robinson Mazda 323 5 2:58:32 7 Open 16 Gail Truess/Pattie Hughes Mazda 323 2 3:02:17 2 GT 25 Gerry Valentini/Lee Sorenson Mazda RX-7 4 3:02:57 2 Group 5 20 George Plsek/Renn Phillips Audi quattro 3 3:04:07 8 Open 101 Mark Brown/John Allen VW GTI 4 3:04:08 1 Prod. 61 Karl Scheible/Gail McGuire VW New Beetle 3 3:08:15 2 Prod. 21 Trevor Donison/Catherine Roso Plymouth Neon 6 3:13:18 3 Prod. 70 Kendall Russell/John Dillon Dodge Shadow 5 3:18:59 3 GT 90 L O'Sullivan/F O'Sullivan Audi quattro 2 DNF Open 127 Chad Dykes/Deborah Fuller Toyota P.U. 3 DNF Group 2 92 Rui Brasil/Ola Lysenstoen Audi quattro 2 DNF Open 17 Robert Garcia/Tony Khoa Vu Plymouth Laser 6 DNF Group 5 10 Bill Malik/Christian Edstrom Volvo 240 1 DNF Group 2 39 Carl Jardevall/Amity Trowbridge Volvo 740 3 DNF Group 5 114 Frank Cunningham/N Pessoa VW Golf Kit Car 4 DNF Group 5

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series SCCA
Drivers Paul Choiniere , Jeff Becker , George Plsek , Ralph Kosmides , Joe Noyes , Bill Malik , Paul Eklund , Carl Jardevall , Amity Trowbridge , Christian Edstrom , Frank Cunningham , John Allen , Ken Cassidy