ProRally: Ojibwe rally report


Courtesy of Andy Schupack, SCCA/Michelin PRO Rally Media Liason:

MERRILL MASHES MINNESOTA PRO RALLY FIELD AS SCCA/MICHELIN POINTS CHASE NARROWS FOR FINAL TWO SEASON EVENTS BEMIDJI, Minn. -- Aug. 27 -- Carl Merrill, from Ogunquit, Maine, with Canadian co-driver John Bellefleur, piloted their 400 horsepower Ford Escort Cosworth to a one minute, 37-second victory at the Ojibwe Forests PRO Rally here. With nine of 11 events now completed on the SCCA/Michelin PRO Rally circuit, Merrill is the only competitor left who has a chance to catch points leaders Paul Choiniere/Jeff Becker, whose Hyundai Elantra finished 13th after stalling at the beginning of stage #4 on Friday night. Also, after winning the Maine Forest Rally last month, Merrill became the first driver besides Choiniere to win two events in a row since 1991. Merrill maintained a two-minute lead over the Toyota All-trac of Jamaicans Jeffrey Panton/Rudy Meikle for most of the event, and was able to cruise to the victory despite hitting a rut late in the event and jamming a strut into the shock tower. The right-hand-drive Mitsubishi Lancer of Henry Joy/Chris Griffin, from Atlanta, MI, was third, five minutes back. Class winners included Sam Bryan/Rob Walden, from Kent, WA, in a Saab 900 (Group 2); Cal Landau/Eric Marcus, from Coraopolis, PA, in a Mitsubishi Eclipse (Production GT); and Tad Ohtake/Bob Martin, from Dearborn, MI, in a Ford Escort GT (Production). Bryan and Ohtake already lead their classes and their victories enabled them to close in on the year-end titles. Janice Damitio, from Montesano, WA, who is trying to become the first woman ever to win a PRO Rally national championship, finished second to Landau in her Production GT Toyota All-trac, and leads Landau by 16 points with two events remaining. In a PRO Rally, each team consists of a driver and a co-driver (or navigator), and the exact course is kept secret until just before the event - different from World Rally, where practice is allowed. The cars start at one-minute intervals and race against the clock over 6 - 24 stages which range in length from four to 25 miles. Most of the rallies include night stages, making it necessary for competitors to adjust their driving style. Speeds of more than 120 miles-per-hour could be reached on long straight-aways, with the team achieving the fastest combined times winning the event. The next round of the SCCA/Michelin PRO Rally series will be the D&N Bank Lake Superior PRO Rally in Houghton, Michigan, October 20 - 22. 1995 Ojibwe Forests PRO Rally Round #9 - SCCA/Michelin PRO Rally series Final Results - National Event Car Class Num. Driver/Home Town Navigator/Home Town Vehicle/Tires Time ------------------------------------------------------------------------- 3 Carl Merrill John Bellefleur Ford Escort Cosworth Open Ogunquit, ME Thornhill, ONT Michelin 2:21:52 25 Jeffrey Panton Rudy Meikle Toyota Celica GT-4 Open Kingston, Jamaica Kingston, Jamaica Pirelli 2:23:29 4 Henry Joy IV Christopher Griffin Mitsubishi Lancer E-2 Open Atlanta, MI Burbank, CA Michelin 2:26:18 10 Sam Bryan Robinson Walden Saab 900 Group 2 Kent, WA Seattle, WA Michelin 2:38:09 16 Mike Hurst Rob Bohn Nissan 200-SX Group 2 Pendleton, IN Noblesville, IN Michelin 2:41:13 12 Cal Landau Eric Marcus Mitsubishi Eclipse GSX PGT Coraopolis, PA Dayton, OH Michelin 2:41:50 66 Tad Ohtake Bob Martin Ford Escort GT Prod. Dearborn, MI Goodrich, MI Michelin 2:45:08 20 Pete Lahm Jimmy Brandt Datsun 510 Group 2 Phoenix, AZ Lake Odessa, MI Michelin 2:46:00 18 Gerald Sweet Stuart Spark Saab 99EMS Group 2 Oakridge, NJ Woodcliff Lake, NJ Colway 2:47:45 21 John Golden Al Kintigh Datsun 510 Group 2 Lakewood, CO Minneapolis, MN Michelin 2:47:45 14 Janice Damitio Amity Trowbridge Toyota All-trac PGT Montesano, WA Seattle, WA Michelin 2:47:51 27 Jim Anderson Ben Greisler Honda Prelude VTEC Prod. Mebane, NC Philadelphia, PA Michelin 2:51:36 1 Paul Choiniere Jeff Becker Hyundai Elantra Open Shelburne, VT Great Neck, NY Michelin 3:08:48 23 Greg Trepetin Sonia Trepetin Honda Prelude VTEC Prod. N. Potomac, MD N. Potomac, MD Colway 3:10:24 15 Brian Pepp Dean Rushford Mazda RX-7 Group 2 Marquette, MI Ishpeming, MI Michelin 3:33:57 22 Lynn Anderson Barry Berg VW GTI Group 2 Minneapolis, MN Apple Valley, MN Michelin 4:04:28 26 David Ralakis Tom Gillespie Mazda 323GTX PGT Parker, TX Cedar Rapids, IA Michelin 4:11:54 Did_Not_Finish 13 Rene Villemure Mike Villemure VW Beetle Open Flatrock, MI Westland, MI Bridgestone 96 Bruce Newey Charles Bradley Toyota All-trac Group A Atlanta, GA Ardmore, PA Michelin 17 Bill Malik Carlos Tavares Volvo 240 Group 2 Burbank, CA San Jose, CA Michelin 19 Ed Maklenberg Bill Siess Dodge GLH Open Milford, MI Troy, MI 28 Dave Konetski Glenn Koelher Toyota Celica Group 2 Andover, MN Rush City, MN Colway 24 John Moore Kennon Rymer Mazda RX-7 Group 2 Jacksonville, AK Knoxville, TN Michelin

-- Ben Bradley *There are only two types of rally drivers: Those who HAVE rolled and those who WILL 89 323 GTX, 67 Cortina GT *Will co-drive for food... *E-mail for PGP 2.6 Public Key

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series SCCA
Drivers Paul Choiniere , Jeff Becker , Bill Malik , Amity Trowbridge , John Moore , Carlos Tavares , Jimmy Brandt , Jim Anderson