ProRally: Ojibwe Forests ProRally preview 25-26 August

SCCA ProRally Championship Round ...

SCCA ProRally Championship Round #6 - Ojibwe Forests

DENVER, CO: Sixth round (of nine) for the 2000 season. A record number SCCA and FIA Performance Rally cars are slated to start the Ojibwe Forests SCCA ProRally; competing on fast and smooth state Forestry roads in northwestern Minnesota. This performance rally event is sanctioned by the Sports Car Club of America.

When & Where:

25-26 August 2000; Bemidji, MN; approximately 180 miles (275 kilometers) northwest of Minneapolis, Minnesota.

Media & Fan Reception - Wednesday 23 August - Minnetonka, MN

Morrie's Subaru, an authorized reseller of Subaru automobiles, will be hosting a reception for the media and performance rally fans at their dealership on Wednesday evening, from 6:00 PM to 9:00 PM. This is an excellent opportunity to meet the lead drivers, co-drivers and view the top running Subaru automobiles in the SCCA ProRally Championship. Minnetonka is approximately 10 miles west of downtown Minneapolis.

Scheduled to be on-hand are Paul Eklund's custom built 1995 Impreza "USX" which features a 2.2 litre turbocharged and intercooled motor; Lee Shadbolt's turbocharged 2.0 Litre WRX FIA Group A 1998 Impreza, and Canadian and US Performance Rally star Patrick Richard's Production GT normally aspirated 1998 Impreza 2.5RS.

For additional details, visit this URL on the web:

Complete Event Schedule: (subject to change) Thursday, 24 August, 2000

7:00 PM - 11:00 PM Charity RallyCross - Bemidji Speedway - open to public, $25 participant donation - proceeds to Twin Cities Autism Society Friday, 28 July, 2000

8:00 AM - 4:00 PM Scrutineering - Chalet Center Car Wash - 703 Paul Bunyan Dr.

5:30 PM Start of Ojibwe Forests SCCA ProRally Leg One - Northern Inn

12:00 midnight Approximate first car arrival - Finish of Leg One - Northern Inn

Saturday, June 03, 2000

12:00 noon - 2:00 PM Parc Expose - Bemidji Speedway

2:00 PM Start of Ojibwe Forests SCC ProRally Leg Two - Bemidji Speedway

3:15 PM - 7:30 PM Service Area Open - location of SS4 & SS8 RallyCross spectator stages

9:00 PM Approximate first car arrival - Finish of Leg Two - Northern Inn

Selected entries (driver/co-driver):

o 2000 Sno*Drift, Oregon Trail and Maine Forest ProRally overall winners Paul Choiniere and Jeff Becker; SCCA Open Class 2000 Hyundai Tiburon

o 1999 Overall Manufacturer, Driver and Co-Driver Champions Noel Lawler & Charles Bradley; SCCA Open Class 2000 Hyundai Tiburon

o 1999 Rim of the World overall winner Garen Shrader with 1998 overall co-driver champion Michael Fennell; 1997 Mitsubishi Lancer Evo IV

o SCCA ProRacing's Speedvision World Challenge road racing star Peter Cunningham with James Gill, 1999 Mitsubishi Lancer Evo VI

o American Performance Rally legend John Buffum, with Mark Williams, SCCA Open Class 2000 Hyundai Elantra

o Overall winners of the 2000 Rim of the World and Susquehannock Trail events, Karl Scheible and Russ Hughes, FIA Gr N 1998 Mitsubishi Lancer Evo V.

o Canadian and US Production GT Performance Rally star Patrick Richard, with Nathalie Richard, 1998 Subaru Impreza 2.5RS

Additional interest:

o The Ojibwe Forests ProRally features three RallyCross stages on Saturday, the first immediately following the Parc Expose at the Bemidji Speedway, and the other two adjacent to the afternoon service area at a local area cattle ranch. All will offer excellent viewing opportunities, and spectator amenities including food service and comfort facilities.

o The Manufacturers' Championship continues to be an exceedingly close race, with the comeback victory of Paul Choiniere's Open Class 2000 Hyundai Tiburon at July's Maine Forest event maintaining the company's slight points edge over a hard-charging Mitsubishi effort. Subaru, by virtue of a huge independent field of entries at Maine posted gains in several classes, with a good showing here at Ojibwe essential for a year-end title bid.

Event Rank:

This rally is a full points SCCA ProRally Championship event. Drivers earn points towards the national championship, and supporting manufacturers (Hyundai, Toyota, Subaru and Mitsubishi) earn points towards overall and class Manufacturers' Championships.

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series SCCA
Drivers Paul Choiniere , Jeff Becker , Paul Eklund , Patrick Richard , Nathalie Richard , John Buffum , Mark Williams
Teams Williams