ProRally: Maine report

Courtesy of Andy Schupack, SCCA/Micheline PRO Rally Series: ONLY MAINE ENTRANT WINS SCCA/MICHELIN PRO RALLY EVENT IN RUMFORD RUMFORD, Maine -- July 30 -- Ogunquit's Carl Merrill, who has won SCCA/Michelin PRO Rally events all over the...

Courtesy of Andy Schupack, SCCA/Micheline PRO Rally Series:

ONLY MAINE ENTRANT WINS SCCA/MICHELIN PRO RALLY EVENT IN RUMFORD RUMFORD, Maine -- July 30 -- Ogunquit's Carl Merrill, who has won SCCA/Michelin PRO Rally events all over the U.S. and Canada, scored his first victory ever in his native state as his 400 horsepower Ford Escort Cosworth won the Maine Forest Summer Rally here by more than four minutes. "Last year I went off the road at 100 mph and hit a ditch; the year before I broke a differential; and the year before that I was second, but it was frustrating to always finish poorly at a race so close to home," said Merrill, who owns several hotels and restaurants in Ogunquit. Pre-race favorite Paul Choiniere, from Shelburne, Vermont, could have clinched the season championship with a win here, but a broken belt lead to water pump failure and the end of the rally for Paul. Earlier in the event, Henry Joy, from Atlanta, Michigan, second behind Choiniere in the point standings, hit a rock and punctured the oil cooler on his new Mitsubishi Lancer on stage #1 after the car made its national debut here. Merrill was nursing a 25-second lead over the Mazda 323GTR driven by Jamaican rally champion Peter Moodie when Carl put together his best stage of the rally, putting an additional 40 seconds between him and Moodie on the next to last stage. Moodie tried to make up the difference on the last stage, ran off the road, and was unable to continue. Bruno Kreibich, from Queens, NY, was second in an Audi Quattro, and Tom Ottey, from Columbus, OH, finished third in a Mazda 323GTX. In the other classes, Eric Marcus, from Coraopolis, Penn, won the Production GT class in a Mitsubishi Eclipse; Bruce Newey, from Atlanta, GA was first in the Group A class in a Toyota All-trac; John Vanlandingham, from Cambridge, MA, won Group 2 in a Saab 96; and Vinnie Frontinan, from Somerville, MA, was victorious in the Production class in a Toyota Corolla. In a PRO Rally, each team consists of a driver and a co-driver (or navigator), and the exact course is kept secret until just before the event - different from World Rally, where practice is allowed. The cars start at one-minute intervals and race against the clock over 6 - 24 stages which range in length from four to 25 miles. Most of the rallies include night stages, making it necessary for competitors to adjust their driving style. Speeds of more than 120 miles-per-hour could be reached on long straight-aways, with the team achieving the fastest combined times winning the event. The Maine Forest Summer Rally, round #8 of the SCCA/Michelin PRO Rally series, had a total of 112 stage (or racing) miles through the Boise Cascade Paper forest and International Paper forest near Rumford. The next event will be August 25 - 26 in Bemidji, Minnesota. The series finished back in Rumford, Maine, on December 1 - 2, for the Maine Forest Winter Rally.

1995 Maine Forest Summer Rally Round #8 - SCCA/Michelin PRO Rally series National PRO Rally - Final Results *notes ran Divisional as well Car Class/ Num. Driver/Home Town Navigator/Home Town Vehicle/Tires Time --------------------------------------------------------------------------- 3 Carl Merrill John Bellefleur Ford Escort Cosworth Open Ogunquit, ME Thornhill, ONT Michelin 1:57:41 12 Bruno Kreibich Rod Hendricksen Audi Quattro Open Ridgewood, Queens, NY Clinton, NJ Michelin 2:02:12 33 Tom Ottey Pam McGarvey Mazda 323GTX Open Columbus, OH Columbus, OH Bridgestone 2:03:18 17 Cal Landau Eric Marcus Mitsubishi Eclipse GSX PGT Coraopolis, PA Dayton, OH Michelin 2:09:15 96 Bruce Newey Kennon Rymer Toyota All-trac Group A Atlanta, GA Knoxville, TN Michelin 2:10:41 20 Jon Kemp Brian Maxwell Audi 4000 Quattro Open Attica, NY Port Hope, ONT Michelin 2:11:07 9 Vinnie Frontinan Frank Cunningham Toyota Corolla Prod. Somerville, MA Boston, MA Michelin 2:11:44 22* Rick Davis Ben Greisler BMW M-3 Group A West Chester, PA Philadelphia, PA Michelin 2:13:49 37 John Vanlandingham Debbie Sweet Saab 96 Group 2 Cambridge, MA Oakridge, NJ Michelin 2:16:21 24 Janice Damitio Amity Trowbridge Toyota All-trac P-GT Montesano, WA Seattle, WA Michelin 2:17:35 31 Gerald Sweet Stuart Spark Saab 99EMS Group 2 Oakridge, NJ Woodcliff Lake, NJ Colway 2:17:57 39 Carl Redner Nancy Redner Mazda RX-7 Open Walled Lake, MI Walled Lake, MI Michelin 2:18:10 26 Jim Anderson Martin Dapot Honda Prelude VTEC Prod. Mebane, NC Reston, VA Michelin 2:18:48 34* Dean Fry Donald Kennedy Subaru Legacy Open Mohnton, PA Shillington, PA Colway 2:24:35 23 Greg Trepetin Sonia Trepetin Honda Prelude VTEC Prod. N. Potomac, MD N. Potomac, MD Michelin 2:24:40 35 Jeff Bothee Tom Beltman Mitsubishi Celeste Open Grand Rapids, MI Walker, MI Bridgestone 2:28:33 41 Peter Watt Dick Casey Suzuki Swift Prod. Peterborough, ONT Fairfax Station, VA Bridgestone 2:31:12 36 Keith Kreisler Greg Usavage Mazda 323GTX Open West Chester, PA Perkiomenville, PA Michelin 2:47:10 Did_Not_Finish 4 Henry Joy IV Christopher Griffin Mitsubishi Lancer E-2 Open Atlanta, MI Burbank, CA Michelin 38 Dave Konetski Glenn Koehler Toyota Celica Group 2 Andover, MN Ruch City, MN 1 Paul Choiniere Jeff Becker Hyundai Elantra Open Shelburne, VT Great Neck, NY Michelin 8 Frank Sprongl Barry Latreille Eagle Talon Open Mississauga, ONT Williamstown, ONT Michelin 6 Peter Moodie Michael Fennell Mazda 323GTR Open Kingston, Jamaica Kingston, Jamaica Michelin 10 Sam Bryan Robinson Walden Saab 900 Group 2 Kent, WA Seattle, WA Michelin 15 Pat Ayer Ray Cadieux Audi Quattro Open Burlington, VT St. Lazare , QUE Michelin 18 Bob Elliott John Hart VW GTI Prod. Rutland, VT Rutland, VT Bridgestone 25 Jon Pizzagalli Lance Smith VW GTI Group 2 Shelburne, VT Colchester, VT Michelin 40 Kurt Thiel George Anderson VW GTI Group 2 Rochester, NY Rochester, NY Michelin 21 Carl Fisher Ted Mendham Dodge Omni Open Greenville, NH Lyndeboro, NH Michelin 28* Lesley Suddard Anne Thomas Dodge Charger Open Wilmington, DE Nashua, NH Michelin

-- Ben Bradley *There are only two types of rally drivers: Those who HAVE rolled and those who WILL 89 323 GTX, 67 Cortina GT *Will co-drive for food... *E-mail for PGP 2.6 Public Key

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series SCCA
Drivers Paul Choiniere , Jeff Becker , Amity Trowbridge , Frank Cunningham , Ted Mendham , Lance Smith , Frank Sprongl , Peter Watt , Donald Kennedy , Rod Hendricksen , Keith Kreisler , Kurt Thiel , Brian Maxwell , Jim Anderson
Teams Williams