ProRally: D&N Bank Lake Superior Schedule

Event: D&N Bank Lake Superior PRO Rally - Round ...

Event: D&N Bank Lake Superior PRO Rally - Round #9 of the and the final round of the 1998 Michelin PRO Rally Championship. Race cars from around the world will compete at high speeds through Baraga, Houghton, Ontonagon and Iron Counties, mainly in the Ottawa National Forest as well as the Keewenaw Peninsula including the famed Brockway Mountain and Gratiot Lake stages.

When: Thursday - Saturday, October 22 - 24, 1998 Thursday, October 22 1:00pm - 4:00pm Press Stage Competitor Registration Dee Stadium 2nd floor 1:00pm - 4:30pm Press Stage Technical Inspections Dee Stadium ice rink 3:00pm - 9:00pm Worker Registration Dee Stadium 2nd floor 4:00pm - 9:00pm Non-Press Stage Competitor Registration Dee Stadium 2nd floor 5:00pm - 7:00pm Press Stage Michigan Tech/Airport Research Center 7:00pm - 8:00pm Worker Training Dee Stadium 8:00pm - 10:00pm Welcome Party Dee Stadium 2nd floor Friday, October 23 8:00am - 11:30am Competitor Registration Dee Stadium 2nd floor 8:00am - 12:00pm Technical Inspections Dee Stadium ice rink 3:00pm - 4:00pm Parade/Parc Expose - Downtown Houghton 4:00pm First Car Leaves Houghton Saturday, October 24 1:59am First Car due in Houghton to complete day 1

8:30am - 9:30am Parc Expose - Downtown Calumet 9:30am First Car Leaves Calumet 5:00pm First Car Back to Houghton 6:30pm - 8:00pm Social MTU Memorial Union Bldg 8:00pm - 9:00pm Buffet Dinner MTU Memorial Union Bldg 9:00pm Awards Ceremony MTU Memorial Union Bldg

Rally Headquarters: Best Western Franklin Square, 820 Shelden Street, Houghton, MI 49931 (906) 487-1700.

Duration: 163 stage miles, 436 total miles, 16 stages

Rank: Full National Rally, sanctioned by the Sports Car Club of America, administered by the SCCA PRO Rally Board, and sponsored nationally by Michelin Tire Company. Running in conjunction with the national rally are two divisional events: The Ottawa Divisional PRO Rally (co-efficient 3) on Friday night and The Keweenaw Challenge Divisional PRO Rally (co-efficient 2) on Saturday night. Presented by the Lake Superior Region of the Sports Car Club of America and sponsored locally by D&N Bank.

Expected Top National Entries: Paul Choiniere - defending six-time overall national champion - in his Hyundai Tiburon, second in points; Noel Lawler, won event earlier this month in Prescott, AZ, in Paul's '96 championship Hyundai Elantra; David Summerbell, from Kingston, Jamaica, in a Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution IV - could clinch fist non-Choiniere championship since '92 with a sixth-place finish or better; Henry Joy, winner of this event in '95, entering his Mitsubishi Lancer Evo II after taking most of the year off; Mike Whitman, top five finisher, in a Ford Sierra Cosworth; Group 5 national champion Ralph Kosmides from California in a new Toyota Twin-turbo Supra -325 hp; Lee Shadbolt, from Oregon, points leader in his Production GT Subaru Impreza; Steve Gingras (originally from Marquette and a NMU grad) '97 Production GT champion, in an Eagle Talon - only one point behind Shadbolt; Bryan Pepp, from Marquette, in a similar PGT Eagle Talon; Cal Landau, '96 PGT champion, in a Mitsubishi Eclipse; Bill Malik, Volvo 240, currently 2nd in Group 2; Trevor Donison, from Vancouver, Wash., points leader in his Production class Plymouth Neon ACR; Jay Kowalik, from Ohio, in a Production class Honda Civic - only class driver who can catch Donison.

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series SCCA
Drivers Paul Choiniere , Ralph Kosmides , Bill Malik