2007 National Convention summary

For the Sport; SCCA Honors Its Own As Annual Convention Closes TOPEKA, Kan. (Feb. 6, 2007) -- Sports Car Club of America members gathered last weekend in San Antonio, Texas for the first time in the Club's 63-year history for its annual ...

For the Sport; SCCA Honors Its Own As Annual Convention Closes

TOPEKA, Kan. (Feb. 6, 2007) -- Sports Car Club of America members gathered last weekend in San Antonio, Texas for the first time in the Club's 63-year history for its annual meeting, Convention, awards and Hall of Fame induction ceremony.

In Saturday night's gala awards ceremony concluding the three-day event, emcee Peter Hylton (Indianapolis Region) was presented the Woolf Barnato Award--the Club's highest honor for long-time service to the Club. A surprised Hylton, who spent the previous three days entertaining the masses, was nearly caught speechless. He recovered, however, remembering the words of the late John McGee, who would close all correspondence with "Yours, for the sport." Hylton served on SCCA's Board of Directors (and remains the youngest-ever member elected) and has been its volunteer archivist since 1996.

Also presented Saturday were the highest honors in Club Racing, Solo and Rally.

Spec Racer Ford National Champion Mike Miserendino (Cal Club Region) accepted the President's Cup for outstanding Club Racing driver at the National Championship Runoffs, giving a moving acceptance speech, crediting a notion introduced to him at a young age by his parents that effort brings success for his accomplishments.

Paula Baker (Utah Region) was the emotional recipient of the Solo Cup, admitting to a group of nearly 400 that "microphones make me cry."

Jeanne English (Cal Club Region) was presented with the Robert Ridges Award (top RoadRally honor) and Jim Rogaski (San Francisco Region) was presented the John McGill Award (top Club Racing non competition honor).

In addition to the annual awards, the third class of the SCCA Hall of Fame was inducted, including living legends Marge Binks (Cal Club and San Diego Regions), Marc Gerstein (Philadelphia Region) and Carl Haas (Chicago Region), as well as the posthumous inductions of Theodore "Ted" Robertson and General Curtis LeMay.

The Convention was not simply about honors though, as the Club held its annual meeting Thursday, including the popular Town Hall open discussion with the Club's Board of Directors. More than 425 members attended the Convention, which ran from Thursday through Saturday and included dozens of seminars on Club-related activities.

"The amount of energy and enthusiasm for the Club by those attending the Convention was astounding," SCCA President and CEO Jim Julow said. "While it was only my second SCCA Convention experience, the consensus from the attendees was that it was excellent on all accounts--from the accommodations, to the Club Business and, of course, the social functions."


2006 Awards Presented at the SCCA National Convention, Feb. 1-3, 2007


Woolf Barnato Award -- Peter Hylton

Hall of Fame Inductees -- Marge Binks, Mark Gerstein, Carl Haas, Curtis LeMay, Ted Robertson

Board of Directors Special Recognition Award -- JoAnne Jensen for GCR redesign

Club Racing

President's Cup -- Mike Miserendino

John McGill Award -- Jim Rogaski

David Morrell Award -- Mike West

Martin Tanner Award -- Arizona Emergency Services Team

Kimberly Cup -- Bryan Golay

Mark Donohue Award -- Jesse Prather

Jim Fitzgerald Rookie of the Year Award -- Andrew Caddell


Regional Achievement -- Oregon Region

Divisional Achievement -- Southeast Division


Robert Ridges Award -- Jeanne English

Arthur Gervais Award -- Old Dominion Region, Old Dominion Rally 1

Norm Hill Award -- Arizona Border Region, Great Canyon Rally

Regional Achievement -- Arctic Alaska Region

Divisional Achievement -- Northeast Division

Manufacturer of the Year -- Subaru


Solo Cup -- Paula Baker

ProSolo JCJ Cup -- Andy Hollis

Johnson Spirit of the Sport -- Team Underdog (Heyward Wagner accepting)

Rookie of the Year -- Bryan Heitkotter

Driver of the Year -- Kevin Wentzel

Driver of Eminence -- Tommy Saunders

Divisional of the Year -- Finger Lakes Region/Western New York Region

Region Communications

Honorable mention -- Florida and Reno

3rd - Oregon Region

2nd -- Indianapolis Region

1st -- Wichita

Tom Burke (for Outstanding Membership Recruiting)

Small Regions -- River Cities

Medium - Utah

Medium Large -- Glen

Large -- St. Louis

Jumbo -- Central Florida

Region Achievement

Small Regions -- Big Island of Hawaii

Medium -- Blue Mountain

Medium Large -- Kansas City

Large -- Philadelphia

Jumbo -- Washington DC

-credit: scca

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series SCCA
Drivers Carl Haas , Jesse Prather , Andrew Caddell , Mark Donohue , Bryan Heitkotter , Mike Miserendino