OPCS: Sunset Speedway summary

Thomson back on top! Dennis Thomson starts new win streak at Sunset Speedway STROUD, ONTARIO - The ...

Thomson back on top!
Dennis Thomson starts new win streak at Sunset Speedway

STROUD, ONTARIO - The #02 DriveFit, Young Drivers of Canada Ford Taurus of Dennis Thomson was once again back in the winner's circle on Saturday night as Thomson took his sixth win of the year in the Ontario Pro Challenge Series.

"I am pretty happy with the DriveFit, Young Drivers of Canada Ford Taurus," Thomson said after the win. "It was better in the early going, and not quite as good in the late going." Thomson also took the first heat win, and then benefited from an inversion pill of one. "It [the inversion] definitely helped, but it would have been fun to see if we could have worked our way up -- it would have been tight for sure."

Thomson holds the points lead over 'Mr. Second place', Thane Woodside. Woodside, in his Melitta Canada Monte Carlo won heat two and finished second in heat one. He was also second in the feature, which, you guessed it, moved him up to second in the points championship. "I am very happy," Woodside said. "It was a little tight to begin with, and it is good to move up to second in the points."

Third, and arguably the happiest driver in the pits was www.aprenticesearch.com Dodge Driver Tim Norris. "It was a handful at the end," Norris said. "I am really pumped that we moved up to fourth -- it will be a good battle the rest of the year with Ken [Nicholson]."

Fourth in the feature was Ken Nicholson in his International Truck and Engine Pontiac Grand Prix. Nicholson took fourth from fifth place finisher, O'Connor's Transportation Dodge driver Kevin Crowhurst with just a few laps to go. Sixth went to CARSTAR Monte Carlo driver Russ Bond.

Robert Wickens, in his Shift/Cameron Motorsports Taurus, Josh Nicholson in his NU-GRO Wipe-Out Dodge and Danielle Wilson in her Da-Lite Monte Carlo rounded out the order.

Round nine of the Ontario Pro Challenge Series is scheduled for this Saturday night, August 14, at Peterborough Speedway.

Ontario Pro Challenge Points after eight rounds.
1. Dennis Thomson 495. 2. Thane Woodside 421. 3. Kevin Crowhurst 416. 4. Tim Norris 401. 5. Ken Nicholson 399. 6. Russ Bond 349. 7. Danielle Wilson 323. 8. Josh Nicholson 304. 9. Robert Wickens 263. 10. Mike Bell 128. 11. Brad LeLiever 45. 12. Paul Eggleton 0.

Ontario Pro Challenge Series Fast Facts;
The Ontario Pro Challenge Series (www.prochallengeracing.com) is in its third season in Canada. The Pro Challenge Cars are spec ¾ scale, tube framed Nextel Cup styled cars powered by sealed Kawasaki Ninja 1100cc engines. The 12 race series travels throughout Ontario's oval racetracks during the summer.


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Road racing
Drivers Mike Bell , Robert Wickens