Bathurst 24: Final hour notes

Holden Monaro 05 ...

Holden Monaro 05# won the second Bathurst 24-Hour race at Mount Panorama, giving King of the Mountain Peter Brock an historic 10th Bathurst endurance victory.

Greg Murphy was at the wheel when the car crossed the line just 0.3 seconds ahead of their fellow Garry Rogers Motorsport car 427# driven by Garth Tander.

The 427# lost the lead it had held for many hours around 1 pm, during an extended pit stop to top up the differential oil.

Tander then mounted an inspired challenge to take the win and the two cars fought all the way to the finish. Tander set the fastest lap of the race on lap 524.

The 54# Porsche team of Fitzgerald/Teulan/Morris/Shearman made it a clean sweep for Australia.

The first international team home was the German 6# Porsche GT3 of Alzen/Alzen/Bartels and Klasen, in fourth spot and with 514 laps completed.

Of the 45 cars that started, 33 were still running at the finish, although had had extended stays in pit lane for repairs.


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Road racing
Drivers Garth Tander , Greg Murphy , Garry Rogers , Peter Brock
Teams Garry Rogers Motorsport