Wrexham: Peugeot final report

PBRC - Round 2: The Rally of Wales - Dale Wins Super 1600 Class Chris Moore stopped Garry Jennings impressive run of back to back wins with victory after a fraught and close battle in the TOTAL supported 206 Super Cup. Marko Ramanen and Paul ...

PBRC - Round 2: The Rally of Wales - Dale Wins Super 1600 Class

Chris Moore stopped Garry Jennings impressive run of back to back wins with victory after a fraught and close battle in the TOTAL supported 206 Super Cup. Marko Ramanen and Paul Alexander also figured strongly in the battle today.

Jennings still leads the Championship race on 55 points with Ramanen 2nd on 44.5 points and Moore moving up to 3rd on 42.5 points.

Leg 2 / Day 2 of the Wrexham Rally saw the twenty-two remaining 206 Super Cup crews face 6 stages totalling 88.14 miles around the Sweet Lamb complex, west of Newtown.

Chris Moore set out his intentions immediately on the opening 14.86 mile Hafren stage with a time 22.6 seconds ahead of overnight leader Garry Jennings, which moved Moore into the top spot. Jennings was disappointed with his run but Moore was clearly enjoying himself despite two near overshoots. Paul Alexander was second quickest and promoted himself from sixth place up to third. Marko Ramanen pronounced himself "Medium Happy" and moved from fourth into second place, 12.6 seconds down on the leader.

Stage four saw the crews enter the Sweet Lamb bowl with another 14 plus miler. Ramanen posted his intentions with a time of 17 minutes 18.9 seconds, which was two tenths of a second quicker than Moore with Alexander a further 2.1 seconds back. Jack Ingleby was delighted with his fourth fastest stage time 9.4 seconds down on Moore. Over the 14.40 mile stage the top three crews were split by only 2.3 seconds. Overall Moore led Ramanen by 12.4 seconds with Alexander 16.8 seconds down and Jennings slipping into fourth place 27.3 seconds down on the leader Moore. Faulkner rounded off the top five but Dunbabin was pushing him very hard.

Jennings posted the fastest time through SS5 Myherin 1. The 14.81 miles saw him spending a lot of time sideways through the stage but he had upped the pace and was happy to finish 0.9 seconds ahead of Moore who was closely followed by Alexander, who in turn was relieved to see the end of the stage, having carried a rear puncture for three miles and lost the pace notes for half a mile. Ramanen suffered a similar fate also losing his notes. Dunbabin's fine run ended with an off which left the car on its side in a ditch 2 miles from the end of the stage. Moore extended his lead over Ramanen and Alexander who were now both tied for second 20.3 seconds behind.

The rerun of Hafren saw Jennings post his third fastest time clearing the field by 10.4 seconds, next up was Faulkner with Ramanan a tenth behind. Alexander and Moore rounded off the top five times through the stage. Overall Moore's lead was reduced to 11.7 seconds from Jennings who had moved into second place, Ramanen slipped to third but had moved closer to Moore, 16.1 seconds down on the leader. Alexander was only half a second behind with Faulkner fifth.

SS7 - Sweet Lamb 2 fell to Jennings who was now pushing Moore very hard, Moore slid off on a hairpin. He commented that it was like going round a roundabout slowly but he didn't want a repeat of his Pirelli retirement at a similar hairpin. Jennings was now only 7.3 seconds behind. Ramanen slipped back slightly, still unhappy but he was comfortable in third place, 20.8 seconds behind the lead car. Faulkner lay in fourth 55.8 seconds down, he was flat out through the stage and trying to deal with a fair bit of understeer. Ingleby moved up into fifth spot 1 min 22.5 seconds down. Paul Alexander's impressive run unfortunately came to an end when he rolled out. George Philippedes and Graham McClintock also retired on the penultimate stage, ironically both with steering arm failure.

The final stage saw a titanic battle between Moore and Jennings, Jennings however was unable to close the gap, despite not carrying a spare wheel to save weight and Moore finished 6.7 seconds clear. Ramanen was third 23.6 seconds down, Faulkner fourth and Ingleby a fine fifth.

BTCC series director Richard West in the Celebrity car was well placed in thirteenth spot and was extremely impressed with the pace of the young Peugeot lions. He won the Celebrity Car class by a considerable margin.

Of the sponsor awards, Mike Bird and John Burke take the Motorsport News for best improvement on seeding, while Alan Doncaster's first ever rally ended in retirement on the first stage, but for his smile saying how much he had enjoyed the event and looking forward to the next, he takes the TOTAL Spirit of the Rally Award. The service crews are not forgotten, and Graham McLintock's crew are rewarded with the Hella Cool Box, after repairing his car in a testing accident before his first event.


Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Other rally
Drivers John Burke , Jack Ingleby