Ten Sports to broadcast APRC in India

The FIA Asia-Pacific Rally Championship, today, announced that Ten Sports Network has bagged the rights to broadcast the APRC in Indian sub-continent.

The 2015 season of APRC is in its final stages with the last rally taking place from October 30th to November 1st in China. The championship was decided in Japan, two weeks ago, where Swede Pontus Tidemand was crowned the champion while Team MRF won the manufacturers' title.

The APRC Asia Cup will see one more round after China, to be held in India in Chikkamagaluru, Karnataka from December 11-13, where Indian ace rally driver Gaurav Gill will duly participate with Team MRF.

Along with Gill, the production category will have Sanjay Takale from Pune, who is a regular competitor and Production Car champion in 2013.

In a good news for Indian rally fans, APRC announced Ten Sports Network will have the exclusive rights to broadcast the APRC's official television series in India.

"The broadcast agreement with Ten Sports Network is excellent timing with the APRC returning to India for the first time in ten years. With all the events in different countries and continents, there's a cultural and geographic element to the TV programmes as well as the action and excitement", said Brian Young director of APRC Television and Media.

Tean Sports, Global CEO, Rajesh Sethi said: "We are happy to come on board as broadcasters of the FIA Asia Pacific Rally Championship in the Indian sub-continent."

"Viewership for Motorsport in our region is increasing. We believe we can help enhance the reach and with the Indian race and Indian racers, there is a huge incentive for Indian fans to tune it in and enjoy watching these rallies on our channels," he added.

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Other rally
Article type Breaking news
Tags mrf, ten sports