TARMAC: Targa Tasmania schedule changed

TARGA TEMCO PROLOGUE WILL MAKE WAY FOR ANZAC DAY This year coinciding with one of Australia's most treasured celebrations, Targa Tasmania Event Management has been working with the Tasmanian branch of the Returned and Services League of...


This year coinciding with one of Australia's most treasured celebrations, Targa Tasmania Event Management has been working with the Tasmanian branch of the Returned and Services League of Australia (RSL) to facilitate the running of the tarmac rally's Temco Prologue at George Town on Anzac Day.

This year's 15th Anniversary Targa Tasmania, which is presented by Pure Tasmania, Temco Prologue has undergone a significant time and structure change and has been re-themed in order to accommodate Anzac Day proceedings. As a result the Temco Prologue will run one hour later than in previous years.

To accommodate Anzac Day parades held in both George Town and Launceston before midday, alterations have been made to both the Touring stage from Launceston to George Town and to the 4.22km Temco Prologue competition stage which determines vehicle seeding for the competition proper.

Although not directly conflicting with Anzac Day proceedings, special permission has also been granted by the Tasmanian RSL to allow the staging of the Targa Tasmania Official Start at the Country Club before midday.

General Manager Tasmania for Octagon Rob McGuire says that, despite the significance and recognition of the intercepting celebrations, the cooperation received from the Tasmanian RSL in the planning and operation of the 2006 Temco Prologue has been fantastic.

"We are grateful for the cooperation received by the Tasmanian RSL," said McGuire. "Our intention will be to fully recognise the day on which it falls."

Anzac Day services in Launceston will be held at the Royal Park Cenotaph at 6.00am. The March of Remembrance starts from Prince's Square at 10.15am with a second service starting at 11.00am. For further information on Anzac Day activities in Launceston please contact the Launceston RSL on (03) 6344 9584.

An expected field of 250 Targa Tasmania vehicles will cross the Country Club Official Start Line on Tuesday April 25th with the first car due to start at 9.30am. Spectators in George Town can expect to see the first Tour vehicle start the Temco George Town Prologue from 1.00pm.

High profile entries received for the 15th Anniversary Targa Tasmania includes ten-time Bathurst Enduro champion Peter Brock in a Daytona Coupe, V8 Supercar driver Tony Longhurst and ARC frontrunner Dean Herridge both driving a Subaru Impreza WRX.

Entries have also been received from Network Ten commentator Daryl Beattie who will be driving a Mitsubishi Evo IX and seven-time Bathurst and Targa Tasmania champion Jim Richards who recently announced he will now be contesting this year's Targa Tasmania in a two-wheel-drive Porsche GT2.


Leg 0 - Temco Prologue at George Town (4.22km) Tuesday, April 25 (Anzac Day)

TS0     Prologue (4.22km)
Tour to commence Prologue                       1.00pm
First competition vehicle starts Prologue       1.15pm
Presentation of Trophies start                  3.45pm

Leg 1 - The Matthew Flinders Northern Loop (Launceston to Launceston - 59.49km) Wednesday, April 26

TS1     Entally (5.62km)                First car due 9.12am
TS2     High Plains (4.40km)            First car due 10.06am
TS3     Moriarty (5.12km)               First car due 10.23am
TS4     Devonport (16.04km)             First car due 11.53am
TS5     Nook (5.50km)                   First car due 12.24pm
TS6     Sheffield (13.20km)             First car due 12.41pm
TS7     Quamby Brook (6.60km)           First car due 13.14pm
TS8     Longford (2.86km)               First car due 13.56pm

Leg 2 - The Captain Nicolas Baudin North Eastern Trundle (Launceston to Hobart - 73.89km) Thursday, April 27

TS9     The Sideling (13.97km)          First car due 8.12am
TS10    Ledgerwood (5.29km)             First car due 9.10am
TS11    Winnaleah (6.33km)              First car due 9.20am
TS12    Weldborough Pass (13.20km)      First car due 9.29am
TS13    St Mary's Pass (5.45km)         First car due 10.37am
TS14    Elephant Pass (10.95km)         First car due 10.49am
TS15    Cranbrook (7.70km)              First car due 12.13pm
TS16    Triabunna (3.30km)              First car due 13.11pm
TS17    Grasstree Hill (7.70km)         First car due 14.21pm

Leg 3 - The Bruny D'Entrecasteaux Southern Loop (Hobart to Hobart - 59.40km) Friday, April 28

TS18    Bonnet Hill (3.45km)            First car due 10.13am
TS19    Howden (7.20km)                 First car due 10.25am
TS20    Oyster Cove (12.02km)           First car due 10.47am
TS21    Woodbridge Reverse (6.60km)     First car due 11.05am
TS22    Flowerpot Reverse (4.40km)      First car due 11.15am
TS23    Cygnet Short (9.90km)           First car due 12.36pm
TS24    Longley (11.90km)               First car due 13.09pm
TS25    Ridgeway Park (3.93km)          First car due 13.32pm

Leg 4 - The George Bass North West Challenge (Hobart to Burnie - 110.09km) Saturday, April 29

TS26    Hobart (3.24km)                 First car due 7.30am
TS27    Colebrook (5.34km)              First car due 8.09am
TS28    Ross Reverse (2.58km)           First car due 9.06am
TS29    Symmons Plains (2.37km)         First car due 10.03am
TS30    Mole Creek Long (4.40km)        First car due 11.01am
TS31    Cethana (37.48km)               First car due 12.02pm
TS32    Wilmot (5.75km)                 First car due 12.52pm
TS33    Gunns Plains (14.68km)          First car due 13.48pm
TS34    South Riana (24.48km)           First car due 14.08pm
TS35    Natone (9.77km)                 First car due 14.20pm

Leg 5 - The Abel Tasman West Coast Enduro (Burnie to Hobart - 145.27km) Sunday, April 30

TS36    Hellyer Gorge (15.42km)         First car due 8.03am
TS37    Mount Black (8.62km)            First car due 8.45am
TS38    Rosebery (17.42km)              First car due 9.05am
TS39    Strahan (33.24km)               First car due 10.02am
TS40    Queenstown (6.39km)             First car due 11.16am
TS41    Mt Arrowsmith (47.24km)         First car due 11.34am
TS42    Tarraleah (6.60km)              First car due 12.43pm
TS43    Ellendale (8.80km)              First car due 13.41pm
TS44    New Norfolk (1.54km)            First car due 14.08pm


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Other rally
Drivers Jim Richards , Tony Longhurst , Peter Brock , Dean Herridge