Takale returns for full-time APRC campaign in 2016

Sanjay Takale will compete with the Cusco Racing team in the 2016 Asia-Pacific Rally Championship, the team has announced.

The Indian missed the 2015 season due to illness but will make a return to the APRC fold this season with the Japanese team.

Malaysian Sean Gregory will be Takale's co-driver for all the six rounds and they will drive the Subaru GRB-WRX Imprezas.

The Cusco team will also have the services of New Zealand's Mike Young - the team going against the title winning Team MRF's Skoda.

The Kiwi finished runners-up to champion Pontus Tidemand in 2015 and will look to clinch the title this year.

Takale, meanwhile, made his APRC debut in 2013 when he won the Production Cup with MRU Motorsport driving the Subaru.

For 2014, the Indian switched to Cusco finishing  sixth in the overall standings, second in Production Cup and fourth in Asia Cup before a year off and now returning this season.

The 2016 season will kick off with the Rally of Whangarei, New Zeland during the weekend of April 29 - May 1 and will feature six rounds including the Rally of India.

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Other rally
Article type Breaking news