Ireland Rally day two Forest Rally summary

Moore/ McCrea win Cork 2 Day Northern Ireland Championship front-runners Trevor Moore and Philip McCrea (Escort WRC) claimed victory on "The Windscreen Company" Cork 2 Day Forest Rally, Round 5 of the KBB Doors National Forest Rally ...

Moore/ McCrea win Cork 2 Day

Northern Ireland Championship front-runners Trevor Moore and Philip McCrea (Escort WRC) claimed victory on "The Windscreen Company" Cork 2 Day Forest Rally, Round 5 of the KBB Doors National Forest Rally Championship. The Newtownabbey crew led from stage 1, but battled with stiff opposition all the way to take a 30 second win after a tough and testing 80 stage miles. With record 116 starters the competition was intense, although top seed Dermot Kelly failed to make the start due to last minute transmission troubles.

Eddie Kinirons/ Greg Shinnors (Celica GT4) were first on the road; this was to be short lived as they rolled out a mile into stage 2. At first service Saturday afternoon Moore led by only 0.9 secs from Dominic McNeill/ Francis Kenny (Escort WRC), Glen Allen/ Damien Connolly (Escort WRC) held 3rd, 4.5 secs adrift. John McCarthy/ Dan Maguire (Impreza 555) held 4th and were keeping their championship rivals at bay. After a repeat of the loop of short flowing stages Trevor Moore held an overnight lead of 6.3 secs from a charging John McCarthy. Glen Allen held 3rd, Kevin O'Kane/ Francis Regan (Impreza 555) 4th, Kevin Lynch/ Martin McNicholl (Impreza WRC) 5th, James Murphy/ Con Mulcahy (Escort WRC) 6th and Dominic McNeill 7th.

Sunday saw lots of casualties. Glen Allen was the first, forced to retire with a broken steering arm. John McCarthy looked set to bring home maximum points, but kept charging, clipping a bank on ss8 and losing time on ss11 with a faulty intercom arriving at service after ss11 still holding 2nd, 40 secs adrift of Moore. McNeill held 3rd, Lynch 4th, fastest on ss10, O 'Kane 5th and James Murphy 6th. With 4 stages left Moore looked set for a win, but damaged a compression strut on ss12, this 10-mile test again taking its toll on the leader board as John McCarthy rolled out half way through virtually ending his KBB Doors title hopes. Others to retire on ss12 were class 2 leaders Barry McKenna/ Derek Brannigan (Escort) and Emily O'Mahoney/ Christina Shanahan (Ka) both crews rolled.

Moore kept it together winning by a 30 sec margin after ss14. Kevin Lynch kept attacking; setting more FTD's to take 2nd overall for the second event in a row, also taking maximum points. Dominic McNeill finished 3rd, returning to his true form on Sunday with a string of FTD's, 17 secs ahead of Moore on ss11. Kevin O' Kane was 4th and now leads the KBB Doors series. John Donnelly/ Greg McCarthy (Escort WRC) finished 5th,despite losing time with a flat battery. John Shanahan/ Liam McLaughlin (Impreza) took 6th overall and Gp N honours, clinching the Gp N championship with one round to go. Paul Barrett/ Dermot Colgan (Escort G3) were 7th and fastest 2WD, winning class 4. Steven Moore/ Tony McHugh (Impreza) finished 8th and 2nd in Gp N. Brian Lawlor/ Peter Kavanagh (Escort 2.0) had a fine drive to 9th overall, taking a convincing win in class 3. Bob Scanlon/ Peter Keohane (Evo 6) rounded off the top ten.

Shane McCarthy/ Tony Mulcahy (206) won class 6; Gus Kearney (206) was 2nd and looks like he has the championship. Lyod Hutchinson/ Lester Hutchinson (Mini) took class 1; John Carroll came 2nd and leads the class going into the final round. Billy O Connell/ Derek Power (Escort) won class 2; they two lead the class going into the final round. Eoin Fogarty/ Pat Nolan won the Ka series from Gordon Coleman/ Martin Brady followed by Kenneth Mulvaney/ Damien Henry. Some retirements include James Murphy, off on the last stage. Noel Driver -- gearbox, Mike o' Sullivan - engine. Aidan Jackson, Trevor Harding, Joe Shinnors, Pat Shanahan, Donie Keating and Derek Treacy all with broken drive shafts.

John Quill and his team ran a very successful event, the 2 day format was broadly welcomed, good weather most of the time was a big help as the stages didn't cut up much. The new timing gear proved effective and with a little more development has to be the way forward. A special thanks to all who supported the event John and Sandy Corrigan of "The windscreen Company", all the stage sponsors and all of the business' at Quartertown Industrial Estate for the use of the complex. The championship title is set to go down to the wire between Kevin O'Kane and Eddie Kinirons, so too are most of the class battles at the last round Killarney Forest Rally September 7th, based in Castle island regs are to be sent out to all registered competitors this week.

Event results will be available @
Championship results after round 5 will be sent out this week and will be available @

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Other rally
Drivers James Murphy , Francis Regan , John McCarthy