Caledon 400 final summary

6th Round of the ATV Powersport ITP National Off-road Championship for Motorcycles and 7th for Quads . 3rd overall bike victory for Louwrens Mahoney . 3rd overall quad victory for Cornel de Villiers MAHONEY AND DE VILLIERS VICTORIOUS AT ...

6th Round of the ATV Powersport ITP National Off-road Championship for Motorcycles and 7th for Quads

. 3rd overall bike victory for Louwrens Mahoney

. 3rd overall quad victory for Cornel de Villiers


Louwrens Mahoney (KTM SA Racing) scored his third national off-road victory of the season when he won the motorbike category of a hot, dusty and very windy Caledon 400, the sixth round of the ATV Powersport ITP national off- road championship for bikes and the seventh for quads this past weekend at Tweespruit in the Free State.

The national quad category was won by Cornel de Villiers (Bombardier Speed Quad), who won this race in 2002 and has now also won three races this season. It was the fourth consecutive victory for Bombardier Speed Quad in the Free State.

Local rider, Leander Pienaar (Jet Sport Bombardier) from Bloemfontein, started the race as the leading quad and led the race until halfway when flat tyres slowed his pace. He had to settle for second place overall and was followed by Brendan Badenhorst (ATV Powersport Lonestar Honda) who started the race in 41st place and 15 minutes behind the leader.

Badenhorst, who has won four races so far this season, had to fight his way through the field and through thick dust from slower competitors and was the first quad rider at the finish. Unfortunately he lost too much time during the 59km time-trail the previous day due to a mechanical problem on his new quad.

In the overall bike category, the young Mahoney started the race in the first position and kept his lead to the finish. He won the 250cc Class and was followed home by the current championship leader, Clayton Enslin (EPH Shimwells Yamaha) who also started the race in second place and picked up the second place trophy in the 250cc Class.

The first six riders finished in the positions they started the race. The winner of the Caledon 400 in 2003, Gray Dick (Shimwells Yamaha/Panasonic Car Audio), was third and won the Open Class while Spencer Kriel (Alfie Cox Adventures KTM) was the fourth rider home. Kriel had an altercation with a quad competitor and crashed quite hard while the front wheel of the quad broke off, but fortunately he managed to finish the race.

The defending champion, Darryl Curtis (KTM SA Racing) finished fifth overall and second in the Open Class and was followed home by Geoffrey Wolhuter (Russell Campbell Sadiba Kawasaki) who had an incident-free race. Local rider, Wade Blaauw (Salley's Yamaha 250cc) kept the Free State flag flying high when he finished seventh overall while the consistent Riaan van Niekerk (KTM SA Racing) added another 200cc Class victory to his name when he came home in the eighth place overall.

The Top Ten was rounded off by Hylton Smith (Ramco Suzuki) and Gavin Louw (Shimwells Yamaha) who crashed during time-trail and tackled the main race with aching limbs and lots of bruises. He was second in the 200cc Class.

The 125cc Class was won by Bollie van Rooyen (Russell Cambell Sadiba Kawasaki) who beat the class leader, Kenneth Gilbert (EPH Shimwells Yamaha) by 1 min 22 sec. Gilbert was 13th overall.

The Senior Pro championship was won by Brian Bontekoning (KTM SA Racing) who has won this class at all the races so far this season.

In the national quad category, the defending Senior champion, Hennie Michau (Bombardier), had a trouble-free race and finished in an excellent fourth place overall. He was followed by Stefan Coetzee (Quadworx VLS) who showed why he finished second in the 2004 championship when he finished in an excellent fifth place after problems with the rear shock on his VLS quad.

Rick Bosman (Honda 510cc) was sixth and Chris Jarvis (Wilrogate Yamaha YFZ450) seventh. The exhaust pipe on his quad got damaged on the last of the four loops consisting of almost 100km each and he lost some power towards the end of the race.

Local rider, Chavonne Cooper (ATV Powersport Honda 510cc) was eighth overall followed by the two Ermelo brothers, Vincent and Glen Loubser (Loerie Yamaha George YFZ450) who rounded off the Top Ten.

The rest of the riders who scored points towards the national overall championship, were Dale Stock (Honda TRX 450) who was 11th; the owner of Salley's Yamaha in Bloemfontein, Alec Salley (700 Raptor) who finished 12th overall and second in the Senior Class; Izak Mans (M&M Racing Kawasaki) who won the Sportsmans Class and was 13th overall; Jacques "Boesman" Struwig (Southern ATV Laeger 350) who started 44th overall and finished 14th after rear shock problems and Carl Benecke (Polaris SA Racing Predator) who scored one point towards the overall championship.

Between those who did not make it to the finish, was the defending champion and the winner of this race last year, Hendrik Potgieter (Bombardier Speed Quad). The engine on his DS650 lasted only 10km into the main race. The swing-arm on the quad of his team-mate, Carl Wichmann, broke during the third loop while the quad of Kiri Oberholzer (Polaris SA Racing Predator) stopped mysteriously on the same loop.


Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Other rally
Drivers Alfie Cox , Darryl Curtis , Riaan van Niekerk