APRC releases 2016 calendar, India to host season finale

The Asia-Pacific Rally Championship has officially released the 2016 calendar comprising six rounds with India hosting the finale.

The championship will kick off with International Rally of Whangarei [New Zealand] on April 30 - May 1 ending with Rally of India on December 10 - 11.

The big news is the confirmation of India hosting a full round in 2016 unlike last year, where it staged only the Asia Cup.

The sub-continent country replaces the European Rally de Nouvelle-Caledonie [France] which hosted the second round in the 2015 season.

Apart from this change, the calendar has been shuffled with Australia staging the second round followed by China, Japan and Malaysia.

It was also announced that Australia and New Zealand will form the Pacific Cup with China, Japan, Malaysia and India forming the Asia Cup (best of three).

While the Production Cup and Wurth Cup will be based on all the six rallies, the Junior Cup will be New Zealand, Australia, Japan and Malaysia.

Last year, Team MRF [Skoda] and Pontus Tidemand took the honours with India's Gaurav Gill ending third.

2016 APRC Calendar:

Round Event Date
1 International Rally of Whangarei, New Zealand April 30 - May 1
2 International Rally of Queensland, Australia June 18 - 19
3 China Rally, China August 6 - 7
4 Rally Hokkaido, Japan September 24 - 25
5 Malaysian Rally, Malaysia October 29 - 30
6 Rally of India December 10 - 11

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Other rally
Article type Breaking news
Tags aprc