Agip Rally Preview



Six time South African champions Serge Damseaux and Vito Bonafede, in the Castrol Toyota Conquest, have drawn the first on the road slot for the Agip Rally - penultimate round of the Stannic National Rally Championship - in the Western Cape on September 18 and 19.

With all crews having to drop one result at the end of the season, Damseaux and Bonafede currently trail championship leaders Jan Habig and Douglas Judd, in the works VW Golf, by six points. Drawing the number one spot is an early psychological boost for Damseaux and Bonafede and adds to their home ground advantage.

Habig and Judd, who are also the reigning South African champions, will be disappointed with drawing third on the road. They will be behind the Castrol Toyota Conquest and the Daewoo Motorsport Lanos pair of 11 times champion Sarel van der Merwe and Martin Botha - with dust a potential problem for both crews.

Recent Stannic Fleet Management Rally winners Paolo Piazza-Musso and Nic Hadden, in the Sasol Ford Escort, have been drawn fourth on the road. They will start ahead of Enzo Kuun and Guy Hodgson, in the second factory Daewoo Lanos, and Natal crew Etienne Lourens and Robert Paisley in the Team Total Toyota Conquest.

Tjaart van der Walt and Cindi Harding (7 Eleven VW Golf) have already wrapped up the Class A7 championship and will start seventh. The pair are also still in the running in the overall championship, and will start ahead of Class A6 championship leaders Hergen Fekken and Dave Lewkowicz in the Dunair Toyota Conquest.

Local crew Jean-Pierre Damseaux and Pierre Arries, also running in Class A6 in a Team Total Toyota Conquest, will start ninth with Group N championship leaders Hannes Grobler and Dave McGregor (Bridgestone Nissan Sentra) rounding out the top 10. Grobler and McGregor lead the Group N championship by just one point from Cliff Blackman and Johan Klaasen (Team Total Nissan Sentra) who will start in 15th place.

Be part of something big

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Other rally
Drivers Sarel van der Merwe
Teams DAMS