RealTime honors Acura's 20th year

RealTime Honors Acura's 20th Year 20-year old Brandon Davis Changes Car Number Brandon Davis wore the ...

RealTime Honors Acura's 20th Year
20-year old Brandon Davis Changes Car Number

Brandon Davis wore the #44 on the side of his RealTime Racing Acura TSX in the 2005 SCCA SPEED World Challenge Touring Car series en route to his Rookie-of-the-Year title.

This year Davis switches to the #20 badge on his car to honor the 20th anniversary of Acura's United States operations as the first Japanese luxury performance car brand.

"Brandon did a stellar job in 2005, placing fourth in the championship points, so we are thrilled to have him back. When it occurred to us that he is the same age as our car brand of choice," said RealTime owner Peter Cunningham, "it made sense for him to wear the number 20 this year."

Davis, who is majoring in Business Management at the University of Denver, was born October 21, 1985, six months and six days before the North American launch of the Acura brand on March 27, 1986.

"From the perspective of someone my age, Acura cars have been around forever. Acura has been good to me and I'm looking forward to stepping up to the podium this year to help celebrate this important birthday," reported Davis.

Acura began building its professional racing legacy almost immediately, scoring its first win (with the Integra model) exactly four months after its showroom debut. Since then, an impressive 216 sports car races in North America have been won by Acura-based cars and racing engines.

Acura has won 19 North American pro series Manufacturers' Championships since 1987, and 20 drivers have raced them to Drivers' Championships.

RealTime Racing drivers have won 49 World Challenge races in Acura cars since 1996. They have helped the brand win five Manufacturers' titles, tying the series record.

"A manufacturer cannot build a racing heritage overnight. Now, after 20 years, Acura has a lot to be proud of," said Cunningham.

Last year was also a great one for Acura in the showroom, breaking the 200,000 unit sales mark for the first time.

Cunningham and Pierre Kleinubing have won seven of the team's individual driver championships and along with Davis will race Acura TSX models again this year. 2005 Denver race winner Eric Curran and third-year RTR pilot Nick Esayian will drive the team's Acura RSX cars. Each of the five cars will carry the 20th anniversary logos throughout the season to commemorate this important milestone.


Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series PWC
Drivers Pierre Kleinubing , Peter Cunningham , Eric Curran , Nick Esayian , Brandon Davis
Teams RealTime Racing