Series news 2010-10-26

FOURSTAR MAZDA DRIVERS AMONG TOP-10 IN eEORMULACARNEWS.COM 2010 YEAR END DRIVER RANKINGS With the pro junior formula car seasons now complete in North America, top open-wheel racing web site has issued its final Driver...


With the pro junior formula car seasons now complete in North America, top open-wheel racing web site has issued its final Driver Rankings of 2010... and four Star Mazda Championship drivers are in the top-10 among a list of 206 drivers competing in various open-wheel driver development series in North America.

Conor Daly, winner of the 2010 Star Mazda Championship presented by Goodyear, is ranked #1 on the list, followed by Anders 'The Viking' Krohn in 4th, MAZDASPEED Motorsports Driver Development Ladder driver Connor De Phillippiin 7th and Jorge Goncalvez in 9th. Additionally, expanding the list to the top-15 includes four more Star Mazda drivers; Tristan Vautier in 11th, Caio Lara in 12th, Mikael Grenier in 13th and Joao Victor Horto in 14th.Indianapolis native Daly, having enjoyed a stellar season in the Star Mazda Championship ranks -- winning two titles, tying the series record for wins in a season, and setting new season marks for podiums and pole positions -- ends 2010 as the No. 1 racer in the EFCN Driver Rankings via 10363 points. Racing the #22 Juncos Racing / INDECK / The College Network / Merchant Services Ltd. Mazda, Daly completed his double championship-winning campaign much like he started it back in March, challenging for top honors at Road Atlanta, before eventually taking the checkered flag in third place (1020 pts). The podium finish not only gave Daly yet another 1000+ score -- a perfect 13 for 13 in 2010 -- but secured his place at the top of the EFCN Driver Rankings come season's end.

Daly just completed testing with three top GP3 teams in Europe and is set to join fellow Star Mazda racers Tristan Vautier and Nick Andries at a comprehensive Firestone Indy Lights test at Sebring Oct. 27-28.Norewgian racer Krohn finished second in the Star Mazda Championship, with a record of one pole, six podiums and 13 top-5 finishes driving the #47 Andersen Racing / Norse Cutting & Abandonment / Trallfa / Colosseum Mazda. Californian De Phillippi finished 3rd in the championship, and won 'Rookie of the Year,' with a record of one pole, one win, three podiums and eight top-5s driving the #11 JDC Motorsports / MAZDASPEED Motorsports / Skip Barber Mazda. Venezuelan racer Goncalvez finished 4th in the Star Mazda championship, driving the #9 Team Apex / Wabash Capital Investments Mazda to five podium finishes and ten top-10s.

French racer Vautier won two races during the season driving the #38 Andersen Racing / Moulin TP / Cecibon / Circuit du Laquais / Fontanel Mazdaand finished 5th in the championship. Brazilian driver Caio Lara scored his first Star Mazda victory in 2010 and finished 6th in the championship racing the #19 JDC Motorsports / MLD / ATW / Sunbol Mazda.J17 year-old Quebec racer Grenier also scored on e win and finished 8th in the championship driving the #17 Andersen Racing / Slow Cow / April Super Flow / NAPA Auto Parts / HS Telecom / Desharnais Mazda. Brazilian rookie Horto drive the #18 Team Apex / Wabash Capital Investments / BomBril-Programa LeiLoes Mazda to four podiums and nine top-10s to finish 7th in the championship.

The EFCN Driver Rankings are calculated using a driver's best finishes in the pro junior formula car series raced in North America (Indy Lights, Star Mazda Championship, F2000 Championship Series, Pacific F2000 Championship, USF2000 National Championship, Formula Enterprises Pro Series and Skip Barber National). Assembled using events from the last 12 months, we use a driver's best 10 finishes in order to determine their overall current point total. With each new month, results from the previous year are discarded to deliver the current ranking list.

Each series was initially weighted based on its prestige and history, the events and tracks at which it races, and of course the depth of talent, with a score of 10 being the highest attainable base ranking. For 2010, Indy Lights were given a base ranking of 9.4, Star Mazda was placed with a 9.2 score, F2000 Championship, USF2000 National Champion have a base ranking of 9, while Pacific F2000 Championship, FE Pro Series and Skip Barber National have a ranking of 8.9.

Added to the initial base ranking is the variable of field size, which helps confirm the importance, strength and competitiveness of the series. A percentage of one weighting point is added for the size of the field, with a full field of 30 cars or more providing one full point. Another full point or fraction of a point will be added based on the field strength of each event. The percentage of the top-50 ranked drivers in the race will also be factored into the final event ranking. The sum of these numbers becomes the overall ranking for any race.

Following a race, drivers receive points based on their finishing positions with 100 points earned for a win. Each subsequent position drops by one point with 99 points given to the second place driver and so on throughout the field. These points are then multiplied by the overall ranking to produce a driver's final point total from each event. Using a driver's best 10 races, we calculate each driver's overall score and subsequent ranking.

-source: star mazda

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Pro Mazda
Drivers Skip Barber , Mikael Grenier , Jorge Goncalvez , Caio Lara , Tristan Vautier , Conor Daly , Nick Andries , Joao Victor Horto
Teams Juncos Racing