Pigot clinches 2014 Pro Mazda championship

Spencer Pigot is the 2014 Pro Mazda series champion.

The Pro Mazda Championship presented by Cooper Tires finished its 2014 season at Sonoma Raceway.

Spencer Pigot had a bad start to the weekend with a DNF in race one after a collision with Scott Hargrove and a subsequent spin.  However, he was able to come back in race two to score enough points to clinch the 2014 Pro Mazda Championship.

Pigot’s championship rival, Scott Hargrove, led the first 15 laps of the race.  However, a mechanical failure caused Hargrove to drop out with only three laps to go.  With the position Pigot was in at the time, Hargrove would have won the title.

Hargrove’s pain was Jose Gutierrez’s gain as Gutierrez earned his first win of the season.  Nicolas Costa finished second and Shelby Blackstock was third.  Pigot finished fifth while Hargrove finished 19th.

Hargrove had the fastest lap of the race and led the most laps, but ultimately it wasn’t enough as Pigot won the title by 11 points and the scholarship package to help him find a ride in the Indy Lights Presented by Cooper Tires.

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Pro Mazda
Drivers Spencer Pigot , Shelby Blackstock , Scott Hargrove , Nicolas Costa , Jose Gutierrez
Article type Race report