A new winner in Pro Mazda as the championship lead changes hands

Kyle Kaiser earns his maiden victory.

As much as the Cooper Tires USF2000 Championship Powered by Mazda series had a massive change in the standings, so did the Pro Mazda Championship Presented by Cooper Tires.

Kyle Kaiser managed to score his first win in a chaotic 16 lap race that saw Spencer Pigot and Scott Hargrove collide, damaging Pigot’s radiator and taking Pigot out of the race.

Pigot’s misfortune was Kaiser and Hargrove’s good fortune as Hargrove finished third behind Neil Alberico.  Nicolas Costa came fourth while Shelby Blackstock rounded out the top five.

The points lead swapped hands as Hargrove now leads the championship by two points over Pigot.  Alberico is now almost a firm third in the standings with a 17 point lead over Blackstock in fourth and 19 points over Kaiser in fifth.  Costa is sixth in the standings and Grist is seventh.

Pigot’s only saving grace was that he had fastest lap of the race, so despite finishing last and earning only one point for his position, he did earn a bonus point.

The last Pro Mazda race of the season will be on Saturday at 4:20 in the afternoon Pacific time.

Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Pro Mazda
Drivers Spencer Pigot , Shelby Blackstock , Neil Alberico , Scott Hargrove , Kyle Kaiser , Nicolas Costa
Article type Race report