Teretonga TRS: Randle cruises to Race 1 win

Teretonga TRS: Randle cruises to Race 1 win
Jan 21, 2017, 3:22 AM

Thomas Randle took a comfortable lights-to-flag win to kick off the Toyota Racing Series action at Teretonga Park.

Thomas Randle
Thomas Randle
Richard Verschoor
Marcus Armstrong
Jehan Daruvala

The Aussie started from pole, and had little trouble converting it to a comfortable Race 1 win. He quickly gapped Richard Verschoor by a little over half a second in the first few laps, and then simply managed the gap for the remainder of the race.

Verschoor did mount one small challenge, pulling the gap down to back under a second with a handful of laps to go, but Randle was able to pull away again, winning by 1.1s.

Brendon Leitch was able to shadow Verschoor on his way to third place, the top three finishing well of clear of Pedro Piquet down in fourth.

Ferdinand Habsburg finished fifth, Enaam Ahmed sixth, and Jehan Daruvala seventh.

Race 1 results:

1 Australia Thomas Randle  
2 Netherlands Richard Verschoor 1.131s
3 New Zealand Brendon Leitch 1.590s
4 Brazil Pedro Piquet 4.355s
5 Austria Ferdinand Habsburg 5.054s
6 United Kingdom Enaam Ahmed 6.3172s
7 India Jehan Daruvala 8.925s
8 New Zealand Taylor Cockerton 9.787s
9 Brazil Christian Hahn 12.007s
10 Australia Harry Hayek 12.895s
11 Germany Keyvan Andres Soori 22.504s
12 New Zealand Marcus Armstrong 22.567s
13 Canada Kami Laliberte 22.889s
14 United States Shelby Blackstock 23.773s
15 India Ameya Vaidyanathan 27.677s
16 Australia Luis Leeds 27.927s
17 Russia Nikita Lastochkin 28.112s
18 United States Kory Enders 28.601s
19 France Jean Baptiste Simmenauer 28.717s 
20 France Thomas Neubauer 28.810s
Next article
Formula A pulls the pin on 2017 season

Previous article

Formula A pulls the pin on 2017 season

Next article

Randle stripped of Teretonga TRS win

Randle stripped of Teretonga TRS win
Load comments

About this article

Series Other open wheel
Event TRS: Teretonga
Location Teretonga Park
Author Andrew van Leeuwen
Be first to get
breaking news