Teretonga TRS: Norris wins 20-lap final

Lando Norris took a relatively straightforward win to secure the Spirit of a Nation title at the second Toyota Racing Series round of the season.

Starting from pole position, the Briton led all 20 laps of the final race of the weekend.

The only speed bumps he was forced to deal with on the way to victory were two safety car periods, the first coming when Timothe Buret was left stranded at Turn 5 on Lap 2, the second when Nicolas Dapero beached himself at Turn 1 four laps from the end.

But Norris was able to comfortably see off reigning Spirit of a Nation winner Brendon Leitch, winning by nearly one second after a two-lap sprint to the finish from the final green flag.

Artem Markelov finished third ahead of Ferdinand Habsburg, with Devlin de Francesco rounding out the Top 5.

The win moves points leader Norris onto 380, with Markelov second on 346 points, and Habsburg third with 303.

Pos. Driver Team Gap
1  Lando Norris M2  
2  Brendon Leitch Victory 0.982
3  Artem Markelov M2 1.913
4  Ferdinand Habsburg Giles 2.478
5  Devlin DeFrancesco Giles 3.358
6  Bruno Baptista Victory 4.105
7  Kami Laliberte M2 5.130
8  Guan Yu Zhou M2 5.448
9  James Munro Giles 5.658
10  Pedro Piquet M2 5.830
11  Taylor Cockerton ETEC 6.254
12  Julian Hanses Victory 6.583
13  Will Owen Giles 7.087
14  Theo Bean ETEC 8.194
15  Antoni Ptak Giles 9.327
16  Rodrigo Baptista ETEC 9.362
17  Jehan Daruvala  ETEC 25.682
18  Nicolas Dapero Giles 2 laps
Ret  Timothe Buret ETEC
Write a comment
Show comments
About this article
Series Other open wheel
Event TRS: Teretonga
Track Teretonga Park
Drivers Lando Norris
Article type Breaking news